Results 1 to 5 of 5

Thread: Problem with VMWARE WorkStation

  1. #1
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Posts
    2

    Default Problem with VMWARE WorkStation

    Hi

    I got a Realtek 8187 WLAN adapter and I also have backtrack 5 installed on a virtual machine. The problem is the interface isn't recognized in backtrack which is on the virtual machine, only in windows. I connected it through the virtual machine but nothing happens. It's drivers I'm definitely sure. It's a Realtek chipset interface

    Device 002: ID 0bda:8189 Realtek Semiconductor Corp. RTL8187B Wireless 802.11g 54Mbps Network Adapter

    it's recognized as a USB device now, so it only need some drivers

    Thanks
    Last edited by ConspX; 09-07-2011 at 11:18 PM. Reason: More information available

  2. #2
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Posts
    2

    Default Re: Problem with VMWARE WorkStation

    The problem is the driver, any ideas on how to install a driver for this interface

    ID 0bda:8189 Realtek Semiconductor Corp. RTL8187B Wireless 802.11g 54Mbps Network Adapter

  3. #3
    Just burned their ISO
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Posts
    23

    Default Re: Problem with VMWARE WorkStation

    If you mean, that you have an USB wireless card that you connect to your machine when you are running BT5 on VMWare (Realtek 8187), there is a tutorial in the following link:

    http://www.backtrack-linux.org/wiki/...l8187_vs_r8187

    You must be running an USB wireless card when running BT5 or BT5R1 on VMWare.

    You will have to follow the directions “every time” you connect the USB wireless card to BT5 or BT5R1 running on VMWare – You will get use to the routine.

    Plug in the USB wireless card, after booting BT5 or BT5R1 and the run:

    dmesg| tail -20

    Follow instructions on the link above

    Hope this help

  4. #4
    Good friend of the forums gunrunr's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    shining my spoon
    Posts
    265

    Default Re: Problem with VMWARE WorkStation

    do you know the model name of it? Only because the chipset you mentioned has full patched drivers already installed into bt5. As long as you have your vm instructed to connect to it instead of the host you should be set to go. search these forums there should be a wealth of answered questions pertaining to vmware and wireless adapters, several are my own.
    Wielder of the spoon of doom
    Summercon, Toorcon, Defcon, Bsides, Derbycon, Shmoocon oh my
    Come hang out with hackers on twitter @gunrunr556

  5. #5
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Posts
    2

    Default Re: Problem with VMWARE WorkStation

    how can i connect to internet using visontech Dongle in vmware. i am not albe to connect it. i have used eth0 up but i am not able to use net in by virtual machine. help me.!

Similar Threads

  1. BT3 Install - Vmware Workstation 5.5
    By imported_cybrsnpr in forum OLD BT3final Support
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 12-03-2008, 07:07 PM
  2. Installing VMware workstation 6.5
    By jllerk in forum OLD Newbie Area
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 10-13-2008, 09:28 AM
  3. Vmware Workstation Lab:
    By nokuku4u in forum OLD Newbie Area
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 10-04-2008, 08:33 AM
  4. VMware Player v2 vs WorkStation v6
    By some1 in forum OLD Newbie Area
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 06-11-2007, 06:05 AM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •