Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: Connected to AP but can't surf

  1. #1
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Location
    Milano, Italy
    Posts
    6

    Default Connected to AP but can't surf

    Hi all, I'm new to this forum and to BT5, so sorry if I make mistakes.. I'm italian so excuse me for possible language mistakes

    I booted BT5 x86 on my HP Pavilion dm-1 from USB and everything is fine: it boots correctly, no problems.

    When I try to connect to my AP with WPA2 key i enter the key and it regularly connects without any problems(Signal power at about 90%), but when I try to surf the internet with Firefox it says "Can't connect to the server".

    What could be my problem?
    By typing 'iwconfig' it shows me my wlan0 interface (the one I use) pluse mon0, mon1 and mon2 (I tried to activate monitor mode and everything worked fine..) do I have to delete them? Does monitor mode have to be activated to be able to surf?
    Thank you for your time

  2. #2
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Posts
    236

    Default Re: Connected to AP but can't surf

    Why did you activate Monitor Mode?? That serves no purpose at all for "Surfing"


    Snafu
    Pffbt..
    I made a discovery today. I found a computer. Wait a second, this is cool. It does what I want it to. If it makes a mistake, it's because I screwed it up. Not because it doesn't like me... Or feels threatened by me.. Or thinks I'm a smart ass..

  3. #3
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Location
    Milano, Italy
    Posts
    6

    Default Re: Connected to AP but can't surf

    Just wanted to make some experiments, but then I deactivated it.
    Do I have to delete mon0,1 and 2? If yes.. how do I do?

    But then.. what is my problem for surfing?

  4. #4
    Member shadowzero's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Location
    ${HOME}
    Posts
    94

    Default Re: Connected to AP but can't surf

    Turn off monitor mode like snafu777 said. If that still doesn't work, try going to ubuntu.com using IP 91.189.94.156 and see if it works. If it does, then your DNS setup is incorrect. Check /etc/resolv.conf and make sure you have the right entries in there.

  5. #5
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Location
    Milano, Italy
    Posts
    6

    Default Re: Connected to AP but can't surf

    When connecting it with wired connection it works, otherwise it doesn't.
    Is there a way to make it get IPs automatically without having to select them manually?

  6. #6
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Posts
    1

    Default Re: Connected to AP but can't surf

    Just wondering if there was any resolution to this post.

    I can connect but It says its unable to get IPs?

Similar Threads

  1. Airmon-ng problem with Belkin F7D2101 v1 USB Wireless Surf & Share Adapter
    By UnRevoked360 in forum BackTrack 5 Beginners Section
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 01-14-2012, 10:38 AM
  2. Asus Eee PC 2G Surf
    By acio1 in forum OLD BackTrack 4 Working Hardware
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 07-03-2009, 06:50 PM
  3. Slow Loading BT3 USB on EEEpc 2G Surf
    By BAGMAN in forum OLD BT3final Support
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 09-17-2008, 05:39 AM
  4. eeepc surf :(
    By fido13uk in forum OLD Newbie Area
    Replies: 21
    Last Post: 05-13-2008, 10:47 PM
  5. Surf anonymously?
    By n00b_h4xx0r in forum OLD General IT Discussion
    Replies: 25
    Last Post: 10-29-2007, 01:45 AM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •