Results 1 to 5 of 5

Thread: Installing bt5 on a 4GB hard drive

  1. #1
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    Fr
    Posts
    1

    Question Installing bt5 on a 4GB hard drive

    Hi all !

    I own a eeePC 701 (4G) netbook and I find it great with Backtrack since it can be taken everywhere easily.
    So I use a live USB version of bt5 (Gnome) that I put on a 2GB USB stick.

    After a while I thought that it would be much easier to have it installed directly on the 4GB SSD of the eeePC.

    But the install fails, saying that there must be at least 10GB free on the hard drive.

    So here are my questions :
    • How is it possible not being able to install Backtrack on a 4GB SSD since it works perfectly well on a 2GB USB stick ?
    • Is there any way to make bt5 run on a 4GB SSD ?


    Thanks for your answers, I would really appreciate to understand =)

  2. #2
    Administrator sickness's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Behind the screen.
    Posts
    2,921

    Default Re: Installing bt5 on a 4GB hard drive

    There's a difference between Live Installation and Persistent Installation, I'm sure if you Google you will understand.
    Back|track giving machine guns to monkeys since 2007 !

    Do not read the Wiki, most your questions will not be answered there !
    Do not take a look at the: Forum Rules !

  3. #3
    My life is this forum Barry's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Posts
    3,817

    Default Re: Installing bt5 on a 4GB hard drive

    Quote Originally Posted by ekingr View Post
    Hi all !

    I own a eeePC 701 (4G) netbook and I find it great with Backtrack since it can be taken everywhere easily.
    So I use a live USB version of bt5 (Gnome) that I put on a 2GB USB stick.

    After a while I thought that it would be much easier to have it installed directly on the 4GB SSD of the eeePC.

    But the install fails, saying that there must be at least 10GB free on the hard drive.

    So here are my questions :
    • How is it possible not being able to install Backtrack on a 4GB SSD since it works perfectly well on a 2GB USB stick ?
    • Is there any way to make bt5 run on a 4GB SSD ?

    Thanks for your answers, I would really appreciate to understand =)
    The way I did it on mine was to put a larger sd card in and do a little custom partitioning. Put /boot on the internal drive, and /root on the sd card. Skip the swap partition, it will just eat the flash memory faster. I hacked my eee to have an internal sd card reader, but the external reader will work as well, you just won't be able to swap it out while the laptop is running.
    Of course, if you really wanted to have some fun, go to Wal-Mart late at night and ask the greeter if they could help you find trashbags, roll of carpet, rope, quicklime, clorox and a shovel. See if they give you any strange looks. --Streaker69

  4. #4
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Location
    Internet
    Posts
    7

    Default Re: Installing bt5 on a 4GB hard drive

    I bought a 16Gb mini-pci-e SSD years ago and installed it in my eeePC 701. I think you can get one cheaply in Ebay these days, plenty of space to install BT5...

  5. #5
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Posts
    1

    Default

    Hi all. I have such a question. Can I install BT5 on the 64GB SD card?
    I would do it this way:
    First BT5 run by a DVD
    Second Install using the SD card as a hard drive ( program seems to see SD
    card as a one of hard drives)

    Until now, I can not cope with the installation disk of my laptop (BT5 bad
    reads partitions? don t ask why;/).
    Will I be able to choose operating system ( BT or win7) while starting up
    my laptop?
    If I remove the sd card the computer will boot up normally(win7)? or may be
    errors?
    I read that when installing on a laptop with win7. Often there are errors on the disk, and then there is a need to repair win7.

Similar Threads

  1. Replies: 0
    Last Post: 03-14-2011, 01:27 AM
  2. Replies: 0
    Last Post: 03-26-2010, 08:49 AM
  3. Help Installing BT4 to hard drive on Acer AOD250
    By PlasticNinja in forum OLD BackTrack 4 General Support
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 01-07-2010, 08:57 PM
  4. Help !Prob installing BT2 to hard drive
    By elabey in forum OLD Newbie Area
    Replies: 10
    Last Post: 07-14-2007, 02:21 AM

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •