Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 14

Thread: Wow.. i cant seem to burn this

  1. #1
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Posts
    7

    Default Wow.. i cant seem to burn this

    I am not terribly new to linux, although i was away for a year. i miss it and want to get back with it.

    I have the BT2final iso. Ifi mount the iso in a virtual drive on windows i get this:

    well i cant post urls... so theres 2 folders /boot and /BT

    so, it would seem that its ok

    i burn with with the image burning wizard in alcohol 120%, but the disk is blank when done...

    thats the method i have always used to burn my distros. Is there something different about backtrack, in the method of creating the disk?

    thanks

  2. #2
    Developer balding_parrot's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Posts
    3,399

    Default

    nothing different about it, it should burn whatever you use.

    I use http://www.imgburn.com/ and have never had a problem

    And the advice from the wiki is to burn slowly

  3. #3
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Posts
    7

    Default

    thanks for the reply, i will try using this program on a slow setting, and post the results.

  4. #4
    Developer balding_parrot's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Posts
    3,399

    Default

    Your welcome. it has never failed me.

    It always helps if people do post the results of advice given here, but sadly rarely happens.

    Good Luck

  5. #5
    Developer
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Posts
    6,124

    Default

    just to echo. I used image burn at 2x in windows. one thing is alot of people have had problems using a down load manager so check your md5

  6. #6
    Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Posts
    242

    Default

    one thing is alot of people have had problems using a down load manager so check your md5
    Good advice. I can't recall ever downloading a bad iso with wget. The same cannot be said for multi-threaded download managers.

    If your md5sum checks out and a slow burn doesn't solve your problem, get some better media. I've never had any problems with verbatim. Memorex, on the other hand....

    Good Luck

  7. #7
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Posts
    7

    Default

    Update:
    I have tried several burners, the md5 is good, and when i load it in the cd emulator ( the digital image) and open it with isobuster, i can see the data and the boot catalog.
    After i burn it, the disk shows itself as having 0 space, and 0 data... odd
    .
    i am lost here

  8. #8
    Developer balding_parrot's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Posts
    3,399

    Default

    I cannot see what you could be doing wrong here as if I mount the iso I get the two folders showing. If I put the burnt cd in the drive I can see the two folders the cd shows as 689MB 0 Free.

    just a quick thought from what you said earlier your not mounting the iso using some kind of virtual drive and then doing a disk copy from there are you ?
    If so don't, just burn the iso slowly using imgburn.

  9. #9
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Posts
    7

    Default

    Update:

    I moved the data image to a desktop PC, burned, rebooted... and went into Backtrack. /cheer!

    I put that same disk into the laptop. (the original machine) And i get the same problem, its like the disk doesnt exist, however, on the same exact make and model, it does.

    This seems to scream at me "your dvd drive is toast" >< but i have no problem with say, an audio cd. The error i seem to be getting is "device is not ready." this error is only occurring with the BT disk in.

    someone please tell me i havent seen my dvdrom die.

    The laptop is a toshiba satellite a105-s2101, default hardware.


    Again thanks for all the replies.

  10. #10
    Developer balding_parrot's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Posts
    3,399

    Default

    It may be the worst but....

    does the same thing happen on another cdr you have burned ?

    try cleaning the laser with a cleaning disk, failing that a cotton bud very very carefully

    make sure the mechanism is able to move freely, try giving it a gentle push half way or so along the track.

    It is quite easy to replace if you are the least bit competent.
    you may just decide to use a USB drive or enclosure for an ordinary 5 1/4" drive if you only want it just for a install.


    Good luck and here's hoping it just needs a clean

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •