Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: Autostart KDM at boot - problems

  1. #1
    Senior Member Shatter's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Posts
    192

    Default Autostart KDM at boot - problems

    It's been a while since I used Backtrack. Anyway, I've recently moved to BT5 KDE on my laptop to give it a go. After installing it with my standard full HDD encryption using luks/lvm and adding a new normal user I decided to customize the installation a bit. Now I've been trying to get KDM to autostart at boot. Basically I've followed this HOW-TO, but I just can't get it to work.

    "apt-get install kdm" said that kdm is already installed/newest version, and the file "/etc/init/kdm.conf" already has the "exec kdm" line at the bottom.

    All I get is the standard console login prompt. I must be missing something.
    I have the card in me head, but you have the memory problems?

  2. #2
    Member shadowzero's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Location
    ${HOME}
    Posts
    94

    Default Re: Autostart KDM at boot - problems

    What does your /etc/init/kdm.conf look like?

  3. #3
    Senior Member Shatter's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Posts
    192

    Default Re: Autostart KDM at boot - problems

    Code:
    # kdm - KDE Display Manager
    #
    # The display manager service manages the X servers running on the
    # system, providing login and auto-login services
    
    description     "K Display Manager"
    author          "Richard Johnson"  
    
    start on (filesystem
              and started dbus
              and (drm-device-added card0 PRIMARY_DEVICE_FOR_DISPLAY=1
                   or stopped udevtrigger))
    stop on runlevel [016]
    
    emits starting-dm
    
    env XORGCONFIG=/etc/X11/xorg.conf
    
    script
        if [ -n "$UPSTART_EVENTS" ]
        then
    	[ ! -f /etc/X11/default-display-manager -o "$(cat /etc/X11/default-display-manager 2>/dev/null)" = "/usr/bin/kdm" ] || { stop; exit 0; }
    
    	# Check kernel command-line for inhibitors
    	for ARG in $(cat /proc/cmdline)
    	do
    	    case "${ARG}" in
    		text|-s|s|S|single)
                        plymouth quit || :  # We have the ball here
    		    exit 0
    		    ;;
    	    esac
    	done
        fi
    
        if [ -r /etc/default/locale ]; then
    	. /etc/default/locale
    	export LANG LANGUAGE
        elif [ -r /etc/environment ]; then
    	. /etc/environment
    	export LANG LANGUAGE
        fi
        export XORGCONFIG
    
        exec kdm
    end script
    I have the card in me head, but you have the memory problems?

  4. #4
    Member shadowzero's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Location
    ${HOME}
    Posts
    94

    Default Re: Autostart KDM at boot - problems

    Comment out or delete this section:

    Code:
        if [ -n "$UPSTART_EVENTS" ]
        then
    	[ ! -f /etc/X11/default-display-manager -o "$(cat /etc/X11/default-display-manager 2>/dev/null)" = "/usr/bin/kdm" ] || { stop; exit 0; }
    
    	# Check kernel command-line for inhibitors
    	for ARG in $(cat /proc/cmdline)
    	do
    	    case "${ARG}" in
    		text|-s|s|S|single)
                        plymouth quit || :  # We have the ball here
    		    exit 0
    		    ;;
    	    esac
    	done

  5. #5
    Senior Member Shatter's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Posts
    192

    Default Re: Autostart KDM at boot - problems

    That solved it, thanks.
    I have the card in me head, but you have the memory problems?

  6. #6
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    Aug 2011
    Posts
    1

    Default Re: Autostart KDM at boot - problems

    You should avoid messing with system scripts and also an easier approach would be to edit the /etc/default/grub file and at the line that says
    Code:
    GRUB_CMDLINE_LINUX_DEFAULT="text splash nomodeset vga=791"
    change to
    Code:
    GRUB_CMDLINE_LINUX_DEFAULT="splash nomodeset vga=791"
    that is remove the text argument.

    Then you simply run at the command line as root.
    Code:
    # update-grub
    *** If for some reason you want to keep the existing ( custom? ) /boot/grub/grub.cfg configuration then simply edit it directly
    and for each menuentry that loads the linux kernel at the params section remove the text argument as mentioned before. ***
    have fun

Similar Threads

  1. Autostart Directory
    By kiowa50161 in forum Beginners Forum
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 04-03-2011, 07:20 PM
  2. autostart eth0 in dhcp
    By dakky21 in forum OLD BackTrack 4 General Support
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 12-31-2009, 12:39 AM
  3. Autostart KDE at boot
    By msaltz in forum OLD Newbie Area
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 09-01-2007, 04:42 AM
  4. KDE autostart on hdd install
    By dan_gt in forum OLD Newbie Area
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 05-07-2007, 09:59 AM
  5. Autostart KDE to get rid of the Macbook-Keyproblem
    By aramies in forum OLD Newbie Area
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 03-30-2007, 06:03 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •