Results 1 to 9 of 9

Thread: Install and Run VMware player on BT5 R1

  1. #1
    Senior Member cgelici's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    /root
    Posts
    121

    Default Install and Run VMware player on BT5 R1

    For the people who have difficulties installing or running VMware player on Backtrack 5 R1, I hope this post will offer a solution for you.

    First of all download the application from the official website.

    Before installing make sure to:

    Code:
    prepare-kernel-sources
    Then do:

    Code:
    chmod +x VMware-Player-3.1.4-385536.i386.bundle
    
    
    ./VMware-Player-3.1.4-385536.i386.bundle
    (This is the current version when writing this post)

    When you run it for the first time you may notice an error saying something about a module unable to install and refers you to an error log. My log said vmmod was failing to install.

    The solution is to download this patch

    Then do:

    Code:
    tar -xvf vmware2.6.39patchv3.tar.bz2
    
    chmod +x patch-modules_2.6.39.sh
    
    ./patch-modules_2.6.39.sh
    And then run VMware player again. If everything went well it should work now. It did for me.
    Last edited by cgelici; 08-26-2011 at 04:19 PM.

  2. #2
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    Aug 2011
    Posts
    3

    Default Re: Install and Run VMware player on BT5 R1

    Thanks very much, this worked for me!

  3. #3
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    Aug 2011
    Posts
    4

    Default AW: Re: Install and Run VMware player on BT5 R1

    the patch worked great with workstation 7.1.4 too
    thx

  4. #4
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Location
    Brasil
    Posts
    1

    Default Re: Install and Run VMware player on BT5 R1

    Great!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  5. #5
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Posts
    126

    Default Re: Install and Run VMware player on BT5 R1

    perfect. thank you

  6. #6
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Posts
    4

    Default Riferimento: Install and Run VMware player on BT5 R1

    worked for me too.
    thanks a lot

  7. #7
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    Oct 2011
    Posts
    1

    Default Re: Install and Run VMware player on BT5 R1

    @cgelici
    I registered this account just to say I love you.

  8. #8
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    Oct 2011
    Location
    San Francisco, CA
    Posts
    1

    Default Re: Install and Run VMware player on BT5 R1

    Hey there. This post was extremely helpful. Today I updated from 3.1.4 to 3.1.5 and the original errors came back (unable to install modules, etc, etc). Unfortunately, the patch (2.6.39) won't install for player version 3.1.5. However, VMware player 4.0 also came out today and I installed that over the non working installation of 3.1.5 and all is working again without issues.

    Hope that helps for anyone trying the new versions of VM player.

    M9J

  9. #9
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    Oct 2011
    Posts
    1

    Default Re: Install and Run VMware player on BT5 R1

    The patch (vmware2.6.39patchv3.tar.bz2) did the trick!

    My VMplayer is up and running now

    Thanks for taking the time to post and share the helpful solution

Similar Threads

  1. BT4 on VMWare Player
    By Archangel-Amael in forum OLD BT4beta HowTo's
    Replies: 10
    Last Post: 02-13-2009, 05:25 AM
  2. VMware player with bt2, I/O overlap
    By newtothegame in forum OLD Newbie Area
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 05-04-2008, 11:18 PM
  3. Replies: 9
    Last Post: 08-08-2007, 05:59 PM
  4. VMware Player v2 vs WorkStation v6
    By some1 in forum OLD Newbie Area
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 06-11-2007, 06:05 AM
  5. Trying to install VMware Player on Backtrack 2(kernel source)
    By yeehaw in forum OLD BackTrack v2.0 Final
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 03-18-2007, 10:14 AM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •