Results 1 to 9 of 9

Thread: Unable to ping to domains like google,bing

Hybrid View

  1. #1
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    Aug 2011
    Posts
    4

    Default Unable to ping to domains like google,bing

    Hi folks,

    Recently installed the Vmware image of backtrack 5 R1.I have configured the network settings as per instructions,set the VM N/w setting to bridged,have configured a static IP address in the wcid,have added the ip,netmask and gateway in /etc/network/interfaces.In the resolve.conf i have entered the default gateway address as name server(or should it be the preferred dns server addr- i have tried this too)

    Iam able to connect to the internet and browse webpages through Firefox,but not able to ping the IP addresses,i receive no reply.I'm able to ping the local host and the default gateway.The BTVmware image is hosted on windows 7 64bit ed and iam unable to ping from the windows 7 to the Backtrack.

    Iam really at my wits end and really need some help.My internet connection is a wired broadband connection,which is connected directly to the NIC.

    Thank you and regards,
    Lucky.

  2. #2
    Member shadowzero's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Location
    ${HOME}
    Posts
    94

    Default Re: Unable to ping to domains like google,bing

    Is your router dropping outgoing ICMP? Can you ping out when using a different operating system?

  3. #3
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    Aug 2011
    Posts
    4

    Default Re: Unable to ping to domains like google,bing

    @shadowzero
    Thanks for the reply,when i ping out to outside domains,i don't receive replies from them.iam able to ping local host and with loss of packet,i can also ping and receive replies from another VMware windows 2003 server and i can ping from the same win 2003 server to the backtrack 5.

    Iam able to ping to internet domains from the VMware windows 2003 server,but not from the BT5.

    P.S:Please note iam able to access the internet from any internet Browser on the BT5.Its the ICMP that's got me in the fix.

    Thank you and regards

    Lucky

  4. #4
    Senior Member voidnecron's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Posts
    132

    Default Re: Unable to ping to domains like google,bing

    Can you ping those hosts on IP?
    www.bing.com =
    Addresses: 82.94.229.16
    82.94.229.8

    Google =
    74.125.77.99
    74.125.77.104
    74.125.77.147
    "The difference between RAID1 and RAID0 is that the zero stands for how many files you're gonna have after a harddisk failure."

  5. #5
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    Aug 2011
    Posts
    4

    Default Re: Unable to ping to domains like google,bing

    Quote Originally Posted by voidnecron View Post
    Can you ping those hosts on IP?
    www.bing.com =
    Addresses: 82.94.229.16
    82.94.229.8

    Google =
    74.125.77.99
    74.125.77.104
    74.125.77.147
    Doesn't matter whether i ping their domain name or their IP addresses,i receive no reply for the packets transmitted from my system.I have another guest OS set on the VM,a windows server 2003,iam able to successfully ping to any internet domains from the win2003.

    reg,
    Lucky

  6. #6
    Member shadowzero's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Location
    ${HOME}
    Posts
    94

    Default Re: Unable to ping to domains like google,bing

    Maybe you've got some ip filtering rules setup? What is the output of iptables -L

  7. #7
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    Aug 2011
    Posts
    4

    Default Re: Unable to ping to domains like google,bing

    Quote Originally Posted by shadowzero View Post
    Maybe you've got some ip filtering rules setup? What is the output of iptables -L
    The IP Table reads like this:
    Chain INPUT (policy ACCEPT)
    target prot opt source destination

    Chain FORWARD (policy ACCEPT)
    target prot opt source destination

    Chain OUTPUT (policy ACCEPT)
    target prot opt source destination
    No rules have been set,by default or by me.

    reg,
    Lucky

  8. #8
    Good friend of the forums gunrunr's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    shining my spoon
    Posts
    265

    Default Re: Unable to ping to domains like google,bing

    and alot of systems have icmp like ping blocked by default, such as machines running vista and xp. some servers and firewalls block it as well due to the old ping of death attacks.
    personally instead of pinging victims i rather just run simple nmap scans, especially with the -PN operator to exclude pinging. -sS works well also and is a tcp syn scan
    Last edited by gunrunr; 08-25-2011 at 05:29 AM.
    Wielder of the spoon of doom
    Summercon, Toorcon, Defcon, Bsides, Derbycon, Shmoocon oh my
    Come hang out with hackers on twitter @gunrunr556

  9. #9
    Senior Member voidnecron's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Posts
    132

    Default Re: Unable to ping to domains like google,bing

    do you have a routing table which contains 'the internet' ?
    paste the output of
    Code:
     netstat -nr
    "The difference between RAID1 and RAID0 is that the zero stands for how many files you're gonna have after a harddisk failure."

Similar Threads

  1. airbase-ng on intel 3945 - unable to ping
    By mistm in forum Beginners Forum
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 06-02-2010, 07:47 PM
  2. Replies: 2
    Last Post: 04-09-2010, 07:20 PM
  3. metasploit and Domains
    By Squibbles in forum OLD Pentesting
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 04-01-2010, 07:52 PM
  4. bing command
    By Upsman in forum OLD BackTrack 4 General Support
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 11-07-2009, 02:36 PM
  5. Unable to ping other wireless device!!!
    By Armagedeon in forum OLD BT3beta Bugs and Fixes
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 06-05-2008, 05:46 AM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •