Results 1 to 3 of 3

Thread: fix-vesa VMware Display Resolution BT5

  1. #1
    Just burned his ISO metacom's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Posts
    14

    Default fix-vesa VMware Display Resolution BT5

    apt-get install gdm
    ----------------------
    cd /etc/X11/
    -------------
    nano xorg.conf
    ----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
    # xorg.conf (X.Org X Window System server configuration file)
    #
    # This file was generated by dexconf, the Debian X Configuration tool, using
    # values from the debconf database.
    #
    # Edit this file with caution, and see the xorg.conf manual page.
    # (Type "man xorg.conf" at the shell prompt.)
    #
    # This file is automatically updated on xserver-xorg package upgrades *only*
    # if it has not been modified since the last upgrade of the xserver-xorg
    # package.
    #
    # Note that some configuration settings that could be done previously
    # in this file, now are automatically configured by the server and settings
    # here are ignored.
    #
    # If you have edited this file but would like it to be automatically updated
    # again, run the following command:
    # sudo dpkg-reconfigure -phigh xserver-xorg

    Section "Device"
    Identifier "VMware SVGA"
    Driver "vmware"
    EndSection


    Section "Screen"
    Identifier "Default Screen"
    Device "VMware SVGA"
    Monitor "vmware"
    # Don't specify DefaultColorDepth unless you know what you're
    # doing. It will override the driver's preferences which can
    # cause the X server not to run if the host doesn't support the
    # depth.
    Subsection "Display"
    # VGA mode: better left untouched
    Depth 4
    Modes "640x480"
    ViewPort 0 0
    EndSubsection
    Subsection "Display"
    Depth 8
    Modes "800x600"
    ViewPort 0 0
    EndSubsection
    Subsection "Display"
    Depth 15
    Modes "800x600"
    ViewPort 0 0
    EndSubsection
    Subsection "Display"
    Depth 16
    Modes "800x600"
    ViewPort 0 0
    EndSubsection
    Subsection "Display"
    Depth 24
    Modes "1024x768"
    ViewPort 0 0
    EndSubsection
    EndSection
    Section "InputDevice"
    Driver "vmmouse"
    Identifier "VMware Mouse"
    Option "Buttons" "5"
    Option "Device" "/dev/input/mice"
    Option "Protocol" "IMPS/2"
    Option "ZAxisMapping" "4 5"
    Option "Emulate3Buttons" "true"
    EndSection
    Section "Monitor"
    Identifier "vmware"
    VendorName "VMware, Inc"
    HorizSync 1-10000
    VertRefresh 1-10000
    EndSection

    ----------------------------------------
    and save
    reboot

  2. #2
    Administrator sickness's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Behind the screen.
    Posts
    2,921

    Default Re: fix-vesa VMware Display Resolution BT5

    Usually this is supposed to be followed by instructions on what exactly you did.
    Back|track giving machine guns to monkeys since 2007 !

    Do not read the Wiki, most your questions will not be answered there !
    Do not take a look at the: Forum Rules !

  3. #3
    Just burned his ISO metacom's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Posts
    14

    Default AW: fix-vesa VMware Display Resolution BT5

    How To Change Screen Resolution in Backtrack kde virual

    Finally I finished downloading this O.S :-) as usual I run this Backtrack 5 inside my VirtualBox from Oracle or vmware
    The first thing I check for the new Linux O.S run virtually is the Screen Resolution.
    The most common thing you do when you want to change screen resolution is go to /etc/X11/xorg.conf.
    But in this Backtrack 5 you will find nothing.
    FYI : see my previous tutorial to change previous version of backtrack screen resolution So…how to change the Backtrack 5 screen resolution?
    Below is the step by step you should do :
    1. Open your terminal (CTRL + ALT + T)
    2. Choose your favorite text editor (I prefer to use pico) and then open /usr/share/xresprobe/xorg.conf




    1. Open your terminal

    pico /usr/share/xresprobe/xorg.conf

    paste this
    -------------------------

    Section "Device"
    Identifier "VMware SVGA"
    Driver "vmware"
    EndSection


    Section "Screen"
    Identifier "Default Screen"
    Device "VMware SVGA"
    Monitor "vmware"
    # Don't specify DefaultColorDepth unless you know what you're
    # doing. It will override the driver's preferences which can
    # cause the X server not to run if the host doesn't support the
    # depth.
    Subsection "Display"
    # VGA mode: better left untouched
    Depth 4
    Modes "640x480"
    ViewPort 0 0
    EndSubsection
    Subsection "Display"
    Depth 8
    Modes "800x600"
    ViewPort 0 0
    EndSubsection
    Subsection "Display"
    Depth 15
    Modes "800x600"
    ViewPort 0 0
    EndSubsection
    Subsection "Display"
    Depth 16
    Modes "800x600"
    ViewPort 0 0
    EndSubsection
    Subsection "Display"
    Depth 24
    Modes "1024x768"
    ViewPort 0 0
    EndSubsection
    EndSection
    Section "InputDevice"
    Driver "vmmouse"
    Identifier "VMware Mouse"
    Option "Buttons" "5"
    Option "Device" "/dev/input/mice"
    Option "Protocol" "IMPS/2"
    Option "ZAxisMapping" "4 5"
    Option "Emulate3Buttons" "true"
    EndSection
    Section "Monitor"
    Identifier "vmware"
    VendorName "VMware, Inc"
    HorizSync 1-10000
    VertRefresh 1-10000
    EndSection

    When you finish, press CTRL+O (to save) and then CTRL+X (to exit pico).



    3. in the picture above, there's line says Modes "1024×768" , just change the 1024×768 to your desired screen resolution.
    You should remember that if you change the value, you should change all of the entire Mode value to your desired screen resolution.

Similar Threads

  1. Replies: 0
    Last Post: 09-08-2010, 12:03 PM
  2. Changing the Display Resolution when booting via LiveMode
    By refuse2lose in forum Beginners Forum
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 08-14-2010, 08:23 PM
  3. Display Configuration (resolution)
    By pandrey in forum OLD BT4beta Bugs and Fixes
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 04-20-2009, 12:41 AM
  4. BT2 display on vmware
    By neos2k1 in forum OLD BackTrack v2.0 Final
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 12-12-2007, 01:36 AM
  5. BTFinal | VMware Fusion display help
    By ScoRnoS in forum OLD Newbie Area
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 06-11-2007, 01:50 AM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •