Results 1 to 3 of 3

Thread: Power Button Issues (BT5 KDE)

  1. #1
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Posts
    236

    Default Power Button Issues (BT5 KDE)

    I have installed BT5 KDE to my laptop (Toshiba NB255).

    When I boot into it, and am at the login screen, I am unable to power off the machine without logging in and issuing the shutdown command. Whereas with every version of BT I've ever used (all the way back to BT3)....One push of the power button at the login screen, or while it was booting even, would make the machine shutdown.

    I am curious if this is a local problem, or if anyone else has experienced anything like this? It's not a very big concern, just something I noticed and was curious if it was just my laptop, or a broader issue....If it isn't just my laptop, then I have found a bug =)!


    V/r,
    Snafu
    Pffbt..
    I made a discovery today. I found a computer. Wait a second, this is cool. It does what I want it to. If it makes a mistake, it's because I screwed it up. Not because it doesn't like me... Or feels threatened by me.. Or thinks I'm a smart ass..

  2. #2
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Posts
    1

    Default Re : Power Button Issues (BT5 KDE)

    Hi,

    I'm experiencing the same issue on my laptop Samsung NC10 with BT5 R1 (KDE) installed on a live USB. My kernel version is 2.6.39.4

    For the record : on BT4 I was able to power off my laptop by pressing the power button as soon as I logoff from KDE.

    So I first try to modify the system settings like the following :
    1. Open System Settings.
    2. Go to Advanced>>Power Management.
    3. Select "Edit Profiles" and choose the current profile. (In KDE 4.4, the default profile is "Powersave.")
    4. Select "Shutdown" as the action for "When power button is pressed."
    5. Press Apply.

    but it was inefficient, the tip works only when KDE is started from KDM (and not from the startx command and the power button works only when KDE is running.

    Then I used the output of lsmod command to check if the button module is loaded or not :
    Code:
    lsmod | grep button
    In my case the button module is not loaded ( ->the previous command didn't return any output), so I tried to load it manually with modprobe :
    Code:
    modprobe button
    Code:
    lsmod | grep button
    Still nothing.

    At last, I used the following
    Code:
    dmesg | grep '^ACPI:'
    And unfortunately this command returns no line. It seems the ACPI is not compiled on my kernel.

    To be honest, I'm a bit lazy about kernel recompile, and I will try to get and install the ACPI package instead.
    (as soon as I get an access to my home access point with WPA wireless encryption. I still have a lot of work to set up Backtrack )

    Kind Regards,
    Pascal

    Some Internet resources resulting from my piece of investigation :
    https://wiki.archlinux.org/index.php...g_Power_Button
    https://wiki.archlinux.org/index.php...odules#Loading
    http://www.gentoo-wiki.info/HOWTO_Sh...button_pressed

  3. #3
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Location
    Netherlands
    Posts
    1

    Default Re: Power Button Issues (BT5 KDE)

    Hi,

    Just install the package 'acpid' and it works!

Similar Threads

  1. problem in Button exploit for adobe , any help ?
    By himaz in forum Beginners Forum
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 11-21-2010, 07:54 AM
  2. Fix shutdown button
    By ErebusDeo in forum Beginners Forum
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 04-08-2010, 02:28 PM
  3. How to add a "power off" button to the task bar
    By Goldhedge in forum OLD BackTrack 4 Howto
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 11-22-2009, 02:27 AM
  4. Alfa AWUS036H Acting Strange Power Issues
    By elus1v in forum OLD BT3beta General
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 02-12-2008, 06:07 AM
  5. Do you use your Browser's Home button?
    By thorin in forum OLD General IT Discussion
    Replies: 22
    Last Post: 11-29-2007, 12:03 AM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •