Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 123 LastLast
Results 11 to 20 of 30

Thread: boot error - can anyone help

  1. #11
    Just burned his ISO ButtFuzz's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Posts
    20

    Default Flip-Flop

    There's probably a bit or two flipped in your "image".

    Check the image and download again.

    I have also encountered problems with certain "ISO builder" programs when I try to add, for instance, the aircrack-ng"9".lzm to the image, and then save it. Sometimes these things just fail.

    You're definitely tried something right, though, when you burned it in "SSP".
    (Slowest Speed Possible.)

    Good luck,

    'Fuzz

  2. #12
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Posts
    47

    Default

    how do i check if the checksum is correct on the download
    p.s i have just downloaded it again
    (3rd time)

    thanks
    Yoma

  3. #13
    Developer balding_parrot's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Posts
    3,399

    Default

    I will assume you are doing this in windows so

    download hashcalc from

    http://www.slavasoft.com/hashcalc/index.htm

    Its a free tool

    Install it if it needs it

    open hashcalc
    uncheck all the checkboxes except md5
    change data format to file
    in the data box at the right hand side is a button with 3 dots in click it now navigate to where you downloaded bt2final.iso and select it and click open

    now press calculate
    after a few seconds (or more depending on your computer speed) there will be a string next to the md5

    now compare that to the md5 hash on the download page

    if they are the same then your iso is ok if not the you need to download it again

    the hash should be 990940d975f13d8418b0daa175560ae0

  4. #14
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Posts
    47

    Default

    everything done as requested and i am completely out of ideas
    i had 2 copies of b2 final
    both written at low speed both with the correct checksums both failed on firstly my desktop then my laptop then 2 other desktops!
    is it possible its server side?

  5. #15
    Moderator theprez98's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Maryland
    Posts
    2,533

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by yoma819 View Post
    everything done as requested and i am completely out of ideas
    i had 2 copies of b2 final
    both written at low speed both with the correct checksums both failed on firstly my desktop then my laptop then 2 other desktops!
    is it possible its server side?
    Since ~10,000 people have downloaded BT2 and gotten it working, I doubt it's a server-side problem.
    "\x74\x68\x65\x70\x72\x65\x7a\x39\x38";

  6. #16
    Developer balding_parrot's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Posts
    3,399

    Default

    Questions of this type are always better answered in a public forum rather than by PM, that way the knowledge is spread so everyone can learn from it.

    If the md5 of the iso is correct then the problem must either lie with the media you are using, the drive you are writing it with, the way you are writing it or the hardware you are using it on.

    To eliminate the first three of those take a look here and follow the process that I used for the test.

    Finally if you can eliminate the first three as being the problem then go here and check if there are any reported problems.

    But my bet would be one or more of: the media you are using, the drive you are writing it with or the way you are writing it.

  7. #17
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Posts
    47

    Default

    right ok
    here is my plan then
    my download of b2final (again) is at 88% i am downloading it using firefox with no download manager and i shall burn it using imgburn at 1x
    i checked to see if my laptop was on the list and it was and it was compatible
    i am using a different computer and cd writer to write it
    the cds are the same 700meg ones yiou can buy anywhere so i will keep those the same
    will see what happens and keep everyone posted!
    if there is anything i have missed out above can someone mention it?
    thanks
    Yoma

  8. #18
    Moderator theprez98's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Maryland
    Posts
    2,533

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by yoma819 View Post
    if there is anything i have missed out
    A shift key?
    "\x74\x68\x65\x70\x72\x65\x7a\x39\x38";

  9. #19
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Posts
    47

    Question

    right ok
    i have tried
    A) downloading b2 final about 5-6 times
    the first image was written to 3 different cds neither worked all with the checksum error
    i checked the md5 on the iso of every download and guess what it is perfect!
    i have tried all in total on 4 different desktops and 1 laptop that was on your compatability list as ok!
    i have burnt it at 4x with the advised software!
    i cannot see how it can be my end!
    any ideas
    Yoma

  10. #20
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Posts
    47

    Default

    is there any way to install b2 to a partition from windows?
    i.e not using a boot cd?
    and what parameters are there for booting backtrack that might proove usefull?
    thanks "again"
    Yoma

Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 123 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •