Results 1 to 3 of 3

Thread: Startx works fine from USB, fails when Installed to HDD

  1. #1
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Posts
    1

    Default Startx works fine from USB, fails when Installed to HDD

    Hello Everyone,

    I have been using BT 5 off my USB on my desktop for a while. It has always ran fine. It even supports video modes up to 2048x1024 and has no issue.

    I finally decided to install it because it runs better off HDD.

    So i ran the official Install script on the desktop. I reboot, it launches BT5 off the desktop. I log in with default root PW and then proceed to type startx. Startx fails to my surprise.

    So I run a cat of the LOG and find out it can't find a valid video mode. It tries everyone and says that the "hysnc" is not valid, etc etc etc. It runs every video mode and fails.

    The thing is, I don't understand.... it works fine off USB yet it fails off HDD.

    Does anyone have any ideas?

  2. #2
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Posts
    1

    Default Re: Startx works fine from USB, fails when Installed to HDD

    Hi there,

    I have the same problem like you.

    I'm running Backtrack 5 KDE 64bit. It works fine in live DVD mode (support 1920x1080) but when i installed on HDD, it goes only to 800x600.

    I've tried to some ways to change screen resolution but still not working.

    I use laptop AlienWare M15x with NVIDIA GeForce GTX 460m.

    Any ideas will be appreciated.

  3. #3
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Posts
    2

    Default Respuesta: I guess someone has the answer

    I was reading posts to solve my problem, and if found out this http://www.backtrack-linux.org/forum...ont-start.html it seems that cains knows the solution, but i installed gnome and not kde so i dont know if it'll work

Similar Threads

  1. Replies: 0
    Last Post: 05-10-2011, 12:24 AM
  2. Ettercap works fine but ...
    By nearhead in forum OLD Newbie Area
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 08-06-2009, 07:36 PM
  3. EEE Pc, works fine with BT3?
    By alfred1234 in forum OLD BT3final Support
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 12-05-2008, 03:05 AM
  4. everything works fine but
    By pr0xibus in forum OLD Newbie Area
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 11-03-2008, 06:16 PM
  5. Why my card can't works fine?
    By AmphybiouS in forum OLD Newbie Area
    Replies: 24
    Last Post: 02-05-2008, 03:50 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •