Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: Backtrack5 (gnome or kde)64-bit won't start

  1. #1
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Posts
    7

    Default Backtrack5 (gnome or kde)64-bit won't start

    I am running windows 7 64-bit so that's not the issue.
    Both .iso files were checked to verify that their md5sums were correct, and sure enough they weren't corrupted.
    Here is what is happening:
    I am using a 16gb usb to try to get this working (fat32), and have used 4 different tools to try to accomplish this (5 With lili, but that's not what i'm looking for) (they do produce slightly different results):
    live-usb-install 2.2.9
    universal-usb-installer 1.8.5.7
    unetbootin ?
    FUSBi 0.3.1

    Basically it gives me the option of what mode I want to boot in, then i select (default, text etc.)
    After I select something it starts loading normally. Then I get to the splash screen just before the chinese characters (i haven't given it any input yet)

    I sit there waiting for 5 minutes, with nothing happening. Every time. the esc button or arrow keys will immediately make it swap to a text based thing where it asks me to name the drive(or something very similar, the example is debian5.0.2 drive (definitely something to do with debian 5.0.2)). I'm pretty sure that that's not what i'm looking for. Do you reckon I should just give it longer to load?
    Any comments would be higly appreciated

  2. #2
    Just burned their ISO
    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Posts
    3

    Default Re: Backtrack5 (gnome or kde)64-bit won't start

    I have the exact same problem! I'm running Backtrack 5 64 bit KDE it not letting me get past that screen! Also, It won't let me see he backtrack logo until I plug in another monitor into my laptop. I used Unetbootin to put the .iso on my flash drive. I use an intel core i7 2630 QM, and a Nvidia geforce gt 540m.

  3. #3
    Just burned their ISO
    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Posts
    3

    Cool Re: Backtrack5 (gnome or kde)64-bit won't start

    I've figured out what's wrong! It's a konsole window, its just that it doesn't show. Type in root, press enter, type in toor, press enter, and type in startx and enter

  4. #4
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Posts
    3

    Default Re: Backtrack5 (gnome or kde)64-bit won't start

    Hi,
    I finally installed BT5 64-bit and it is installed correctly,i got it in grub and when i click it it boots.
    but after login (root/toor) and writing startx screen goes blank (lcd light is on but all black),what should i do?

  5. #5
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Posts
    29

    Default Re: Backtrack5 (gnome or kde)64-bit won't start

    Quote Originally Posted by Drago507 View Post
    Hi,
    I finally installed BT5 64-bit and it is installed correctly,i got it in grub and when i click it it boots.
    but after login (root/toor) and writing startx screen goes blank (lcd light is on but all black),what should i do?
    Run this, I had difficulties myself, Should fix boot up, if you are search the forum you will find sevral post regarding this fix on the 64bit version.
    Hope it will work

    rm /root/.kde/cache-root/icon-cache.kcache
    rm /root/.kde/cache-root/plasma_theme_Volatile.kcache
    rm /root/.kde/cache-bt/icon-cache.kcache
    rm /root/.kde/cache-bt/plasma_theme_Volatile.kcache
    startx

  6. #6
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Posts
    3

    Default Re: Backtrack5 (gnome or kde)64-bit won't start

    tnx to you but mine is Gnome , not KDE ...any help?

  7. #7
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Posts
    2

    Smile Respuesta: Re: Backtrack5 (gnome or kde)64-bit won't start

    Quote Originally Posted by Cains View Post
    Run this, I had difficulties myself, Should fix boot up, if you are search the forum you will find sevral post regarding this fix on the 64bit version.
    Hope it will work

    rm /root/.kde/cache-root/icon-cache.kcache
    rm /root/.kde/cache-root/plasma_theme_Volatile.kcache
    rm /root/.kde/cache-bt/icon-cache.kcache
    rm /root/.kde/cache-bt/plasma_theme_Volatile.kcache
    startx
    Is it the same for both gnome and kde?, i got gnome

Similar Threads

  1. Non-root user can not start GUI/x-server (gnome)
    By DJ771 in forum BackTrack 5 Beginners Section
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 06-21-2011, 08:20 AM
  2. backtrack5 auto start kdm
    By bogdanc in forum BackTrack 5 Beginners Section
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 06-14-2011, 12:56 PM
  3. Mantra won't start (BT5 Gnome 64bit)
    By c4ncelled in forum BackTrack 5 Beginners Section
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 05-23-2011, 10:44 AM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •