Results 1 to 5 of 5

Thread: How to connect using ADSL2 (broadband) in BT 5 gnome? plz help me guys.

  1. #1
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Posts
    1

    Unhappy How to connect using ADSL2 (broadband) in BT 5 gnome? plz help me guys.

    I just downloaded BT 5 gnome version. I have a broadband connection. But i am not able to see any thing like network manager applet or any gui to connect to it.Any one plz tell me how can i use internet on BT 5. I repeat that i dont have wireless connection. My network adapter is Atheros A8131.

  2. #2
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Posts
    2

    Default Re : How to connect using ADSL2 (broadband) in BT 5 gnome? plz help me guys.

    did you find any thing ?

    i have the same problem : ( my Modem is Sagem f@st 800 and i'm tired of searching a way to make ADSL conection work on backtrack so contact me if you have any solution .

  3. #3
    Member shadowzero's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Location
    ${HOME}
    Posts
    94

    Default Re: How to connect using ADSL2 (broadband) in BT 5 gnome? plz help me guys.

    BT5 should automatically run dhclient to get an IP address. Is your router configured to use DHCP or are you doing static IPs? What does ifconfig show?

  4. #4
    Senior Member cgelici's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    /root
    Posts
    121

    Default Re: How to connect using ADSL2 (broadband) in BT 5 gnome? plz help me guys.

    You don't need GUI to connect wired. The GUI for wireless is "wicd-gtk".

    Try running "dhclient".

    Also make sure you interface is up (ifconfig, ifconfig eth0 up)

  5. #5
    Senior Member iproute's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Midwest, USA
    Posts
    192

    Default Re: How to connect using ADSL2 (broadband) in BT 5 gnome? plz help me guys.

    If your modem is a bridge and if your ISP requires it you may need to configure PPPoE

Similar Threads

  1. BT and mobile broadband
    By esrever in forum Beginners Forum
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 11-01-2010, 10:16 AM
  2. Hi, question about a Dynalink Wireless ADSL2+ Router...
    By radexito in forum Beginners Forum
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 08-04-2010, 03:37 PM
  3. mobile broadband
    By parrotface in forum Beginners Forum
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 06-04-2010, 12:58 PM
  4. connect mobile broadband, how do i?
    By alank in forum Beginners Forum
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 03-29-2010, 04:25 PM
  5. 3G broadband
    By Ne_nE_Ne in forum OLD Newbie Area
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 07-04-2007, 12:59 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •