Results 1 to 8 of 8

Thread: BT-KDE 64 startX problem

  1. #1
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    45

    Default BT-KDE 64 startX problem

    hello all,

    HP pavilion dv6 dv6-3100sa with dual-core processor fot Notebook PCs
    p340 (2.2GHz, 1MB L2 Cache)
    ATI Mobility Radeon HD 5470 Graphics
    and so on,

    been looking last 2 days on bt forums and fixs and bugs and and and my head going to expoloed
    i loved bt4 and was realy looking forward to bt5 but the problem is i can't even start it when first got it, i have download bt5 KDE64 AND KDE32 and GNOM64 AND 32 non of them working for me, when i startX the window kick me back to the startX aigain, i tried the fix http://www.backtrack-linux.org/forum...x-problem.html but is not perment fix, i tried it on VMware and live CD and same problem!
    can anyone please help me out to get my bt5 running ? as you can see am new to backtrack and very keen to learn,

    your help will be very appreciated, thank you in advance,

  2. #2
    Administrator sickness's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Behind the screen.
    Posts
    2,921

    Default Re: BT-KDE 64 startX problem

    The solution in the other thread you mentioned works perfect and it is permanent, you can even make your own custom liveCD with the fix included.
    Back|track giving machine guns to monkeys since 2007 !

    Do not read the Wiki, most your questions will not be answered there !
    Do not take a look at the: Forum Rules !

  3. #3
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    45

    Default Re: BT-KDE 64 startX problem

    Thank you Sickness for your quick Replay, I have decided to download BT5-KDE-64 again to make sure it’s clean download and retry the fix mentioned again and see how it goes, as you can see am like a monkey with broken Gun so it will be even more harder for me to get my Gun up and running lol,

    Thank you so much for your quick replay again, I will let you know if it’s working, thanks

  4. #4
    Just burned their ISO
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Posts
    11

    Default Re: BT-KDE 64 startX problem

    wewe73, let us know if sickness's suggestion works, but in the future, it is easier to trouble shoot an issue if you provide all the information. Next time, if startx fails, provide a dump of the output you get when it fails, this narrows down things and allows us to more accurately troubleshoot your issue.

  5. #5
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Posts
    10

    Default Re: BT-KDE 64 startX problem

    i have 8gb USB stick with bt5 and on after "startx" it gives me :

    waiting for x server to shut down .error setting MTRR (base = 0xd0000000, size = 0x01000000, type 1)
    propriate ioctl for device (25)
    ddxSigGiveUp: Closing log

  6. #6
    Junior Member BoogY's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Location
    In your dreams
    Posts
    25

    Default Re: BT-KDE 64 startX problem

    try this :

    Code:
    # cd /root/.kde/
    # find . -type f -iname "*.kcache" -delete
    After try the startx again.
    WHERE THERE IS A SHELL, THERE IS A WAY
    Success is to be measured not so much by the position that one has reached in life as by the obstacles which he has overcome.
    www.tuxgeek.org

  7. #7
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    45

    Default Re: BT-KDE 64 startX problem

    Quote Originally Posted by BoogY View Post
    try this :

    Code:
    # cd /root/.kde/
    # find . -type f -iname "*.kcache" -delete
    After try the startx again.
    hello, thank you so much for your help my new KDE-64 is up and running in live CD and VMWare, however in the VM the effects can't be activated for some how but i will look around if there's a fix for that,

    but thank you guys for kindness and help,

    thank you sickness and thank you Boogy for you help

  8. #8
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Location
    Jakarta
    Posts
    5

    Default Re: BT-KDE 64 startX problem

    Quote Originally Posted by wewe73 View Post
    hello, thank you so much for your help my new KDE-64 is up and running in live CD and VMWare, however in the VM the effects can't be activated for some how but i will look around if there's a fix for that,

    but thank you guys for kindness and help,

    thank you sickness and thank you Boogy for you help
    Code:
    apt-get install linux-source-$(uname -r)
    then

    Code:
    prepare-kernel-sources
    then reinstall your VM-Ware

Similar Threads

  1. BT5 startx problem
    By k0ntagious in forum BackTrack 5 Beginners Section
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 06-19-2011, 05:55 PM
  2. problem with startx
    By zerohour in forum Beginners Forum
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 04-12-2010, 01:34 PM
  3. Startx problem. Sudo startx works
    By chris_heyward in forum Beginners Forum
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 02-22-2010, 02:41 AM
  4. startx problem
    By WuQ_pl in forum OLD BackTrack 4 General Support
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 01-27-2010, 04:54 PM
  5. Startx problem
    By digiuk in forum OLD BT3final Support
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 10-09-2008, 01:40 AM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •