Results 1 to 5 of 5

Thread: Another Startx Question

  1. #1
    Junior Member furt1maggr3d10r's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Posts
    39

    Default Another Startx Question

    I am looking to start the GDM so I get to the login GUI screen and not the default BT5 setup.
    I followed the steps in this thread http://www.backtrack-linux.org/forum...x-gdm-kdm.html (Cant reply to it for some reason), and nothing has changed.

    Has anyone some advice on how to correct this so that when I turn on BT5 it goes to the GDM logon screen ?
    Is this not possible running s root >??


    Cheers

  2. #2
    Member shadowzero's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Location
    ${HOME}
    Posts
    94

    Default Re: Another Startx Question

    I followed those instructions and it worked for me. Did you edit /etc/init/gdm.conf correctly? It should look like this:


    Code:
    # gdm - GNOME Display Manager
    #
    # The display manager service manages the X servers running on the
    # system, providing login and auto-login services
    
    description     "GNOME Display Manager"
    author          "William Jon McCann <mccann@jhu.edu>"
    
    start on (filesystem
              and started dbus
              and (drm-device-added card0 PRIMARY_DEVICE_FOR_DISPLAY=1
                   or stopped udevtrigger))
    stop on runlevel [016]
    
    emits starting-dm
    
    env XORGCONFIG=/etc/X11/xorg.conf
    
    script
    #    if [ -n "$UPSTART_EVENTS" ]
    #    then
    #       [ ! -f /etc/X11/default-display-manager -o "$(cat /etc/X11/default-display-manager 2>/dev/null)" = "/usr/sbin/gdm" ] || { stop; exit 0; }
    
            # Check kernel command-line for inhibitors
    #       for ARG in $(cat /proc/cmdline)
    #       do
    #           case "${ARG}" in
    #               text|-s|s|S|single)
    #                   plymouth quit || :  # We have the ball here
    #                   exit 0
    #                   ;;
    #           esac
    #       done
    #    fi
    #
        if [ -r /etc/default/locale ]; then
            . /etc/default/locale
            export LANG LANGUAGE
        elif [ -r /etc/environment ]; then
            . /etc/environment
    
            export LANG LANGUAGE
        fi
        export XORGCONFIG
    
        exec gdm-binary $CONFIG_FILE
    end script

  3. #3
    Junior Member furt1maggr3d10r's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Posts
    39

    Default Re: Another Startx Question

    Word for word, beginning to end. Ran it from the console and this was the result
    Not sure where custom.conf is coming from.. It did come up and I did log in, then it went away..

    root@contego:~# exec gdm-binary /etc/init/gdm.conf
    gdm-binary[4446]: WARNING: Unable to load file '/etc/gdm/custom.conf': No such file or directory
    gdm-binary[4446]: WARNING: GdmDisplay: display lasted 0.121364 seconds


    # gdm - GNOME Display Manager
    #
    # The display manager service manages the X servers running on the
    # system, providing login and auto-login services

    description "GNOME Display Manager"
    author "William Jon McCann <mccann@jhu.edu>"

    start on (filesystem
    and started dbus
    and (drm-device-added card0 PRIMARY_DEVICE_FOR_DISPLAY=1
    or stopped udevtrigger))
    stop on runlevel [016]

    emits starting-dm

    env XORGCONFIG=/etc/X11/xorg.conf

    script
    if [ -n "$UPSTART_EVENTS" ]
    then
    [ ! -f /etc/X11/default-display-manager -o "$(cat /etc/X11/default-display-manager 2>/dev/null)" = "/usr/sbin/gdm" ] || { stop; exit 0; }

    # Check kernel command-line for inhibitors
    for ARG in $(cat /proc/cmdline)
    do
    case "${ARG}" in
    text|-s|s|S|single)
    plymouth quit || : # We have the ball here
    exit 0
    ;;
    esac
    done
    fi

    if [ -r /etc/default/locale ]; then
    . /etc/default/locale
    export LANG LANGUAGE
    elif [ -r /etc/environment ]; then
    . /etc/environment
    export LANG LANGUAGE
    fi
    export XORGCONFIG

    exec gdm-binary $CONFIG_FILE
    end script

  4. #4
    Member shadowzero's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Location
    ${HOME}
    Posts
    94

    Default Re: Another Startx Question

    Copy/paste the config file I posted there. If you compare mine and the one you posted, you'll see that a few lines at the start of the script block are commented out.

  5. #5
    Junior Member furt1maggr3d10r's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Posts
    39

    Default Re: Another Startx Question

    That did the trick - Good Catch.

    cheers

Similar Threads

  1. Startx problem. Sudo startx works
    By chris_heyward in forum Beginners Forum
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 02-22-2010, 02:41 AM
  2. startx error: Another fluxbox after typing startx!
    By Israel213 in forum OLD BackTrack 3 Final
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 01-23-2009, 09:32 PM
  3. Startx
    By styles in forum OLD Newbie Area
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 12-06-2008, 02:40 PM
  4. startx
    By calypso in forum OLD Newbie Area
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 07-23-2008, 03:04 AM
  5. startx fix!
    By darkip in forum OLD BT3beta General
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 12-15-2007, 11:48 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •