Results 1 to 3 of 3

Thread: BT5 Gnome 64bit

  1. #1
    Just burned his ISO Soultaker666's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010

    Angry BT5 Gnome 64bit

    Hey all,

    I recently downloaded BT5-GNOME-64.iso and installed it as a vm. I am able to install it via the install script on the desktop. I then configure everything the way that I want it (I reboot several times during the configuration) but if I do an apt-get update, when I reboot the vm, upon boot up I I get a purple screen that pops up and it say "Ubuntu 10.04" with scrolling dots below it and then it gives an ALERT! error and drops into a command prompt. I did some research and everything I have read says I need to mount the proper File system to boot up. When I do an "fdisk -l" I get the error "command not found. I am not able to do anything other commands either. I am wondering if anyone else has seen this? And if so, what they have been able to do to fix it. Thank you in advance for the views and replies.
    If I win, you will be my slave

  2. #2
    Junior Member furt1maggr3d10r's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2010

    Default Re: BT5 Gnome 64bit

    Maybe the same issue. . There are a couple methods of recovery. It is the grub loader that gets jacked when the kernel update happens

    I found this that may help in this situation.


  3. #3
    Just burned his ISO Soultaker666's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010

    Default Re: BT5 Gnome 64bit

    Thank you for the response, unfortunately this one did not work for me but it definately pointed me in the right direction. This is what I found that worked for me.

    Boot your computer and when the grub loader appears, select the linux version you use (to the rescue mode) and press 'e' to edit it.
    Then remove the the UUID= part of the line from root=UUID=
    Replace it with your current partition, so in my case it looks like
    press +x to boot up with the changed settings
    -Thanks to Chathura MaZZ for this write up

    I then went into
    nano /boot/grub/grub.cfg
    and applied the settings permanantly. Rebooted and it booted up fine.
    If I win, you will be my slave

Similar Threads

  1. BT5 Gnome 64bit startx issues
    By Pyroflea in forum BackTrack 5 Beginners Section
    Replies: 11
    Last Post: 11-20-2012, 10:57 PM
  2. BT5 Gnome 64Bit Startx Errors
    By rnr11 in forum BackTrack 5 General Topics
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 06-01-2011, 06:43 PM
  3. Mantra won't start (BT5 Gnome 64bit)
    By c4ncelled in forum BackTrack 5 Beginners Section
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 05-23-2011, 10:44 AM
  4. BT5 gnome 64bit reboots when conecting to wifi
    By Lowformat in forum BackTrack 5 Bugs
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 05-14-2011, 12:12 PM
  5. 64bit and Gnome - any chance in BT4 ??
    By dogscahonas in forum OLD BT4 Feature Requests
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 08-25-2009, 04:14 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts