Results 1 to 4 of 4

Thread: HOW TO: Set "WIN" key to open gnome-terminal on BT5

  1. #1
    Senior Member cgelici's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    /root
    Posts
    121

    Default HOW TO: Set "WIN" key to open gnome-terminal on BT5

    A couple of months ago I made a tutorial on how to use the WIN key to open up a terminal on Backtrack 4 R2.

    Because the same technique will not work on BT5 Gnome (don't know about KDE) I decided to make a working how-to.

    Old post is located here.

    Let's begin.

    The way to do this is setting some stuff up via "gconf-editor". If you don't have it, download and install it.

    Code:
    apt-get install gconf-editor
    Open it up

    (ALT+F2 > "gconf-editor" (without quotations) > Run. (Just making it a little n00b friendly )

    Navigate to "apps/metacity/keybinding_commands"

    Then you set the value of e.g. "command_1" to the command you want to run which is "gnome-terminal" (without quotations).

    Now we need to find out the hardware name of our WIN key. Mine is "Super_L". I don't know if it's the same on every pc/laptop. To find out run "xev" from terminal and hit the WIN key. If you don't know what to look for hit the left ctrl key. If you look at the prompt that will appear you will see "CTRL_L" somewhere in there. When you press the WIN key look at that exact place to find out the hardware name of your WIN key.

    Remember this name.

    Now in gconf-editor navigate to "apps/metacity/global_keybindings" and select "run_command_1" edit the value and enter the name of the key (in my case "Super_L" ).

    Now just exit and you're done !

  2. #2
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Posts
    7

    Default Re: HOW TO: Set "WIN" key to open gnome-terminal on BT5

    Very Helpful. Thanks

  3. #3
    Very good friend of the forum Virchanza's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Posts
    863

    Default Re: HOW TO: Set "WIN" key to open gnome-terminal on BT5

    Just as an aside, I really like Guake.

    You hit F12 and a terminal drops down (just like in the game Quake).

    You hit F12 again and it pops back up.
    Ask questions on the open forums, that way everybody benefits from the solution, and everybody can be corrected when they make mistakes. Don't send me private messages asking questions that should be asked on the open forums, I won't respond. I decline all "Friend Requests".

  4. #4
    Senior Member cgelici's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    /root
    Posts
    121

    Default Re: HOW TO: Set "WIN" key to open gnome-terminal on BT5

    Quote Originally Posted by Virchanza View Post
    Just as an aside, I really like Guake.

    You hit F12 and a terminal drops down (just like in the game Quake).

    You hit F12 again and it pops back up.
    lol, maybe you can set F12 to open terminal and F11 to close it. Closest thing I guess...

Similar Threads

  1. BT5 Gnome 32bit - "Starting File Manager" Spamming
    By linou in forum BackTrack 5 Bugs
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 05-14-2011, 06:25 PM
  2. Replies: 4
    Last Post: 02-24-2011, 04:52 PM
  3. Replies: 0
    Last Post: 11-24-2010, 12:19 PM
  4. Replies: 4
    Last Post: 01-30-2009, 08:52 PM
  5. proplems connecting manually to my "open" AP
    By john99 in forum OLD Newbie Area
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 09-14-2007, 05:27 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •