Thread: Noob Internet connection problem :) - logging into a public network

Hybrid View

Just burned his ISO

Question Noob Internet connection problem :) - logging into a public network

Hello all,

I am brand new to the world of Backtrack and am in need of a an answer to a seemingly easy problem! I installed the Gnome 64bit version of BT5 on my laptop and everything seems to be working.

I am trying to log in to my school's public wireless network. Typically I would try to connect and windows 7 would then say limited connection etc.. And I would accept some terms and then login with a username and pw. With BT5 I try to connect to a network and it tries to get an IP, but don't know how to log in to the network to receive that address.

Any hints?? Thanks in advance!

D

Just burned his ISO

Default Re: Noob Internet connection problem :) - logging into a public network

ok here's how i did it in my college...not all colleges are the same so if this doesn't work you should just talk to the network admin in your school to find out...i had the same issue in my school running Ubuntu or Backtrack or any linux distro for that matter..the school was running a script and Linux didn't know how to read it without a package..so download in synaptic LSB 3.0 or higher and see if that works..you will need wine but backtrack has wine already so you're good..but it's best to ask your schools help desk to solve this issue...and make sure you have a virus protection installed..i know linux doesn't really need one but some schools won't let you in knowing your are unprotected...good luck..

Very good friend of the forum Virchanza's Avatar

I've never heard of "logging into" a network to get an IP address. Once you're connected to the network you just send a DHCP request. So what's happening? Is there no DHCP request? Is there no DHCP reply?