Results 1 to 9 of 9

Thread: help installing

Hybrid View

  1. #1
    Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Posts
    87

    Default help installing

    I have given up trying to get the latest backtrack to boot up. I have downgraded to the nov beta release. following the how to install using gui I have a problem.
    everything went good till I got to the command mke2fs /dev/hda1
    it reads mke2fs 1.38 (30-Jun-2005)
    /dev/hda1 is mounted; will not make filesystem here!

    I tried continuing on but got some more problems so I figure I will start back where my fist problem was.

    h**p://backtrack.offensive-security.com/index.php?title=Howto#Installing_BackTrack_using_t he_GUI_Installer

  2. #2
    Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Posts
    335

    Default

    unmount it first.
    umount /mnt/hda1
    then try it again.

  3. #3
    Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Posts
    130

    Default

    OH THE HORRIBLE MEMMORIES!

    Yha, you gotta do what Baxtor says.

  4. #4
    Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Posts
    87

    Default

    well I got it to go almost exactly as the guide said. The problem is now that when I reboot (with cd out) I get a invalid partition table.

  5. #5
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Posts
    3,385

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by intertan View Post
    well I got it to go almost exactly as the guide said. The problem is now that when I reboot (with cd out) I get a invalid partition table.
    This one CAN BE FIXED!! remebr to not do what the .pdf had in the source field..DO NOT PUT /boot IN THAT FIELD!! LEAVE IT BLANK!! This should take care of that nasty problem of the partition tables being invalid.

    ***EDIT*** this is the best guide to me for a GUI install of BT2....remember the above about leaving the field blank when following this guide!
    Heres the link I uploaded to mediafire just for you and the members here.

    [CENTER][FONT=Book Antiqua][SIZE=5][B][COLOR=blue][FONT=Courier New][COLOR=red]--=[/COLOR][/FONT]Xploitz[FONT=Courier New][COLOR=red]=--[/COLOR][/FONT][/COLOR][/B][/SIZE][/FONT][FONT=Courier New][COLOR=Black][SIZE=6][B] ®[/B][/SIZE][/COLOR][/FONT][/CENTER]
    [CENTER][SIZE=4][B]Remote-Exploit.orgs Master Tutorialist.[/B][/SIZE][SIZE=6][B]™
    [/B][/SIZE]
    [URL="http://forums.remote-exploit.org/showthread.php?t=9063"][B]VIDEO: Volume #1 "E-Z No Client WEP Cracking Tutorial"[/B]
    [/URL]
    [URL="http://forums.remote-exploit.org/showthread.php?t=7872"][B]VIDEO: Volume #2 "E-Z No Client Korek Chopchop Attack Tutorial"[/B]
    [/URL]
    [URL="http://forums.remote-exploit.org/showthread.php?t=8230"][B]VIDEO: Volume #3 "E-Z WPA/WPA2 Cracking Tutorial"[/B][/URL]

    [URL="http://forums.remote-exploit.org/showthread.php?t=8041"][B]VIDEO: Volume #4 "E-Z Cracking WPA/WPA2 With Airolib-ng Databases"[/B][/URL]
    [/CENTER]

  6. #6
    Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Posts
    87

    Default

    ok I got it installed (thank you) now the problem is kismet. I cant seem to find the kismet.config file to get my card to work. senao NL-2511CD PLUS EXT2

    But at least I got it to boot up with out the cd.

    remember I am using bt2 beta nov 19/06

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •