Results 1 to 8 of 8

Thread: cant start live cd

  1. #1
    Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Posts
    87

    Default cant start live cd

    I can't seem to start the bt2final cd. I have used other live cds and have had it work but not this one.

    Maby I am doing something wrong
    when I get the boot prompt I type /boot/vmlinuz
    it works then stalls at the NET: Registered protocol family 2


    compaq presario r4000 series
    tryed 2 other machines my fathers thinkpad and my desktop both hang but farther in.

  2. #2
    Moderator theprez98's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Maryland
    Posts
    2,533

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by intertan View Post
    I can't seem to start the bt2final cd. I have used other live cds and have had it work but not this one.

    Maby I am doing something wrong
    when I get the boot prompt I type /boot/vmlinuz
    it works then stalls at the NET: Registered protocol family 2


    compaq presario r4000 series
    tryed 2 other machines my fathers thinkpad and my desktop both hang but farther in.
    Have you verified the MD5 checksum?
    "\x74\x68\x65\x70\x72\x65\x7a\x39\x38";

  3. #3
    Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Posts
    87

    Default

    yes I have md5 is exactly the same I am downloading it from a difrent server and will try that.

  4. #4
    Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Posts
    87

    Default

    still no go I am going to try one more thing. I have been using imgburn and am going to try nero now if that doen't work I am out of options.

    I tryed burning at 4.0x but now I get a console cant load warning. Funny thing is every other live cd I start has been working grat except this one.

  5. #5
    Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Posts
    87

    Default

    update:

    I downgraded to the bt2 beta-Nov 19 2006.iso and it booted fine. So I don't know what is going on.


    I installed it and now it hangs at the switching to host config: when running off of harddrive.

  6. #6
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Posts
    9

    Default

    Same problem:

    Try to type "bt" NOT "/boot/vmlinuz"

  7. #7
    Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Posts
    87

    Default

    ok I will try that one I finish re installing windows.

    I was planning on using this laptop for linux but until I can boot up Backtrack I will have to have windows on.

  8. #8
    Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Posts
    87

    Default

    I type in bt and get nothing at all just a blank screen.


    I will have to try my sisters laptop on tuesday.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •