Results 1 to 4 of 4

Thread: Password: toor is wrong?

Hybrid View

  1. #1
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Posts
    1

    Default Password: toor is wrong?

    Hi all,
    I'm using BT5-KDE-64 and I have 2 problems
    -First: After booting, I can't choose any mode in mode screen. After 30s, it log-in automatically but I can't log-in to BT. I use laptop Dell Inspiron 5010.
    -Second: I boot BT on my desktop and I can choose mode by pressing <Tab> (not working on my laptop). Then I type "startx" but loading screen appear but it can't start GUI environment. Then I type "login" and type "root" password: "toor" but it announce "Login incorrect" not announce "wrong password".

    Anyone can help me solve 2 problems above (especial the first because my desktop have no wi-fi card)
    Thank in advance and sorry for my English.

  2. #2
    Good friend of the forums gunrunr's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    shining my spoon
    Posts
    265

    Default Re: Password: toor is wrong?

    You should have to enter your username and password before it prompts you for startx. Usually after a successful boot first thing that comes up is the login prompt. Also be careful sometime you get a lag and there is a second or two after typing root, wait for the prompt for password before starting to type.
    Wielder of the spoon of doom
    Summercon, Toorcon, Defcon, Bsides, Derbycon, Shmoocon oh my
    Come hang out with hackers on twitter @gunrunr556

  3. #3
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Posts
    5

    Default Re: Password: toor is wrong?

    If this is what I'm thinking it's the result of a corrupted download/image. Try redownloading the img/iso file and reburning it to a disc. Make sure you have the burn speed the lowest it will go (generally 2x).

  4. #4
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    Aussie
    Posts
    25

    Default Re: Password: toor is wrong?

    On my laptop and desktop BT5 KDE didn't work while BT4-R2 did, downloaded BT5 Gnome and both worked.

    Can't tell you why it's different and one is 64 bit the other 32, both with nvidia video cards. Suck it and see if different versions work.

Similar Threads

  1. Default password for root user is not "toor"
    By stayfr0sty in forum BackTrack 5 Bugs
    Replies: 19
    Last Post: 01-11-2013, 11:15 PM
  2. Replies: 2
    Last Post: 07-28-2010, 12:30 AM
  3. Backtrack4 password "toor" doesn't work!
    By roockie in forum Beginners Forum
    Replies: 13
    Last Post: 03-07-2010, 07:00 PM
  4. login: root password: toor won't work on clean install
    By cybersmurf in forum Beginners Forum
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 02-08-2010, 03:04 PM
  5. aircrack-ng wrong password
    By TheWood in forum OLD BackTrack 3 Final
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 01-31-2009, 03:49 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •