Page 3 of 3 FirstFirst 123
Results 21 to 26 of 26

Thread: Wicd fails to get IP from wifi router - Unable to connect to Wifi

  1. #21
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    Jun 2012
    Posts
    1

    Default Re: Wicd fails to get IP from wifi router - Unable to connect to Wifi

    I had this problem as well. I fixed it by changing my router encryption from WEP to WPA 2 and it worked. I did this on my windows machine. Hope this helped

  2. #22
    Just burned their ISO
    Join Date
    Feb 2013
    Posts
    2

    Default Re: Wicd fails to get IP from wifi router - Unable to connect to Wifi

    I was getting the same behavior in WEP, WPA... etc. Seldom i can got an ip address from DCHP.

    I stopped using wicd, i get associated with the AP using wpa_supplicant and run dhclient, dhclient3, udhcpc and almost every dhcp client and the problems remains the same. "Unable to get an IP add...".

    The problem was no wicd, associations occurs well using WEP, WAP or OPEN. I set manually my IP address and default route and my DNS at resolv.conf, using the following commands and it works.

    ip address add <ip_address>/<netmask> dev <wireless_iface>
    ip route add default via <gateway_ip_address> dev <wireless_iface>

    echo <dns_server_address> > /etc/resolv.conf

    Next i decided to browse the content of the file /etc/dhcp3/dhclient.conf. The following line kept my attention (the line states this, literally, including angle brackets)
    send host-name "<hostname>"

    ...and it was uncommented!!

    I replaced the value <hostname> with my current hostname like this:
    send host-name "linuxbox"

    After that:
    ifdown <my_wireless_iface>

    Launch wicd and everything works as it should.

    I hope this would work for others, and yes... English is not my mother language.

    best regards to the community!!!

  3. #23
    Just burned their ISO
    Join Date
    Feb 2013
    Posts
    2

    Default Re: Wicd fails to get IP from wifi router - Unable to connect to Wifi

    Quote Originally Posted by oALKALINEo View Post
    I had this problem as well. I fixed it by changing my router encryption from WEP to WPA 2 and it worked. I did this on my windows machine. Hope this helped
    Hi:

    Check if your WEP key is in HEX ([0-9, A-F])
    <example hex_wep_key=c88e6264b/> <= HEXadecimal WEP key.

    If this is the case, you must specify so in your wicd connection property, by default wicd consider that wep keys are entered in ASCII, select the correct option here. This is a common source of problems.

    If your using a configuration file for wpa_supplicant do not use quotes to enclose the wep key. You can find a good template file for configuring wpa_supplicant using WEP in /usr/share/doc/wpa_supplicant/examples/wep.conf

  4. #24
    Just burned their ISO
    Join Date
    Feb 2013
    Posts
    1

    Default Re: Wicd fails to get IP from wifi router - Unable to connect to Wifi

    this worked for me.....
    I opened wicd and used static ip.

    Then used these commands:
    iwconfig wlanx mode managed
    iwconfig wlanx essid xxxxxx
    iwconfig wlanx channel x
    iwconfig wlanx key xxxxxxxxx or use key -s xxxxxx (if ascii key)
    ifconfig wlanx up

    Then dhclient wlanx
    went back to wicd and hit connect. It connected.
    The only problem is i have no idea why it worked. It just worked all of a sudden and backtracked to see what i did last.
    tried this a few times with the same results.

  5. #25
    Just burned their ISO
    Join Date
    Mar 2013
    Posts
    1

    Smile Re: Wicd fails to get IP from wifi router - Unable to connect to Wifi

    Quote Originally Posted by Fattman View Post
    my lecturer sorted this issue out for me today.

    open yr root

    then ifconfig wlan0 up

    logged straight onto the wifi network
    Thanks! That worked for me. What exactly does that command do (aside from fixing my problem)?

  6. #26
    Very good friend of the forum maverik35's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Location
    Debian land
    Posts
    734

    Default Re: Wicd fails to get IP from wifi router - Unable to connect to Wifi

    Quote Originally Posted by isicsk8 View Post
    this worked for me.....
    I opened wicd and used static ip.

    Then used these commands:
    iwconfig wlanx mode managed
    iwconfig wlanx essid xxxxxx
    iwconfig wlanx channel x
    iwconfig wlanx key xxxxxxxxx or use key -s xxxxxx (if ascii key)
    ifconfig wlanx up

    Then dhclient wlanx
    went back to wicd and hit connect. It connected.
    The only problem is i have no idea why it worked. It just worked all of a sudden and backtracked to see what i did last.
    tried this a few times with the same results.
    Every succsessfull conection is saved by network-manager under a file, so the next time you try to connect to the same AP, it knows all about the conection. That is why...Check here and see:
    /etc/NetworkManager/system-connections and edit your connection.

    If you want to know more, post it, I'll be glad to help you.

    BY THE WAY, do not forget to start networking services once you login BT5..Open up a terminal and type:
    /etc/init.d/wicd start

    Luck.
    Last edited by maverik35; 03-26-2013 at 02:07 PM.

Page 3 of 3 FirstFirst 123

Similar Threads

  1. Wicd ,dhclient fails to get IP from wifi router.
    By rooski in forum BackTrack 5 General Topics
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 07-10-2011, 10:11 AM
  2. Replies: 11
    Last Post: 01-17-2011, 03:39 AM
  3. wicd wouldnt connect to wifi
    By ownergolan in forum Beginners Forum
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 06-24-2010, 02:19 PM
  4. AWUS036H - Unable to connect when wifi is below -65dbm
    By Dishwasher in forum Beginners Forum
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 03-26-2010, 11:38 AM
  5. Unable to connect in wifi
    By fredconcours in forum OLD Newbie Area
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 09-26-2009, 07:42 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •