Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: Wicd fails to get IP from wifi router - Unable to connect to Wifi

Hybrid View

Just burned his ISO

Default Wicd fails to get IP from wifi router - Unable to connect to Wifi

Hello,

I am new to backtrack and have been setting it up over the last couple days. I am running it on a HP dv6t laptop and everything is working except for my wifi. I have tried connecting to my home network (WEP encryption) using Wicd. It appears to be working but then Wicd says "Connection failed: Unable to get IP address".

I have read some other threads and at least one other person had this same problem, but no one knew a fix. Some said it was a problem with dhclient.

I have a Alfa AWUS036H adapter and neither the Alfa or my laptops internal wifi card would connect. The Ethernet (eth0) connection works perfectly with my router and obtains an IP just fine. I have never had a problem connecting to my router with wifi in Windows.

I hope there is a simple fix for this. Please clearly explain what I need to do or if I need to provide more info because I am relatively new to Linux.

Thanks.

Just burned his ISO

Default Re: Wicd fails to get IP from wifi router - Unable to connect to Wifi

listen when he say you cant connect this wifi have encryption or something like that you need to put the right password in password field, but there is something that writes wpa1/2 (passphrase) if you have a wep then you need to put there a WEP (passphrase). Sorry for my english and if this don't work then i can't help you

Just burned his ISO

Default Riferimento: Wicd fails to get IP from wifi router - Unable to connect to Wifi

I have this issue too.
    It happens both with WEP and OPEN APs. I'm using an rtl8187 wifi card and a zd1211rw and both have issues in getting an IP address.
    This is what I have observed:
    AP are quite far but signal reaches them without problems (I checked on the routers).