Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: BT4 dual boot install issue with WIN7

Hybrid View

  1. #1
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Posts
    3

    Default BT4 dual boot install issue with WIN7

    Hi all,

    I'm new to the site, but know the power of the BT. My laptop is preloaded WIN7 one. So i need to install the BT7 with WIN7 parallely. I have a clean unpartitioned space on my hard disk to install the BT. But when im going too install it's not giving the option "guided partion on selected part on hard drive". It just show me the Guided full hard disk, to install the BT. What can be the problem. Any hint will be highly appreciated. I will post my partion table details for your preference.


  2. #2
    Junior Member cr1p70's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Inside your network
    Posts
    32

    Default Re: BT4 dual boot install issue with WIN7

    Use the ubiquity installer make it full screen you will see the slider then.

    BT5 and win7 side by side install is what you want to do and just follow the instrutions and you should be fine.

    you can go here also http://www.backtrack-linux.org/tutorials/

  3. #3
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Posts
    3

    Default Re: BT4 dual boot install issue with WIN7

    Thx for your comment. I run the ubiquity in full screen mode. But still the option is not visible. See the image.
    Any advice regarding the issue is really appreciate.





    Thank you.

  4. #4
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Posts
    3

    Default Re: BT4 dual boot install issue with WIN7

    Still i'm strucked on this issue. Any advice will be highly appreciate.

  5. #5
    Administrator sickness's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Behind the screen.
    Posts
    2,921

    Default Re: BT4 dual boot install issue with WIN7

    Get the latest version of BT.
    Back|track giving machine guns to monkeys since 2007 !

    Do not read the Wiki, most your questions will not be answered there !
    Do not take a look at the: Forum Rules !

  6. #6
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Posts
    107

    Default Re: BT4 dual boot install issue with WIN7

    Well, there's a manual option. You can configure there what you want and where you want to be installed. i.e: sda2(partion 2) - mount on "/"....that means BT5 will be installed in sda2 using the filesystem specified(ext3/ext4, etc)


    Regards
    Great minds have purposes, others have wishes

  7. #7
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Posts
    10

    Default Re: BT4 dual boot install issue with WIN7

    from your 1st post, you already have 4 partition. Thats the maximum number of partition in a drive. Delete either one of them(i suggest local disk E) and then rerun BT iinstallation with manual partitioning.
    create a new ext4 partition on the unpartitioned space and mount / on the ext4 partition. It should work

    Well it would be better if you make a new secondary partition and make 2 new logical partition under it though( / and swap ).

Similar Threads

  1. Dual Boot BT5/Win7 x64 installation problem
    By freakyng in forum BackTrack 5 Beginners Section
    Replies: 12
    Last Post: 08-09-2011, 09:17 PM
  2. BT won't boot after dual boot with Win7
    By cyborggold in forum Beginners Forum
    Replies: 10
    Last Post: 01-28-2011, 05:15 AM
  3. Replies: 0
    Last Post: 12-21-2010, 09:07 AM
  4. CAnt detect win7 when install bt4 in dual bot
    By Byakuchi in forum Beginners Forum
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 03-21-2010, 05:33 PM
  5. Replies: 0
    Last Post: 02-11-2009, 08:22 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •