Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 18

Thread: Does anybody had tested this card ?

  1. #1
    Senior Member shamanvirtuel's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Location
    Somewhere in the "Ex" human right country
    Posts
    2,988

    Default Does anybody had tested this card ?

    im looking for replace the brcm43xx(don't ask why....lol) mini pci express module that is inside one of my laptops...

    so i looked in google and do some little searches on atheros lists and found

    http://www.gigabyte.fr/Products/Comm...Name=GN-WI01GT

    look nice with an AR5005GS chipset...

    Before i buy it....does anybody had issues with this model ??

    norm no pb with atheros but want to be sure....

    or if anyone have a minipci express to advise....my ears are open....

    thx a lot
    .
    Watch your back, your packetz will belong to me soon... xD

    BackTrack :
    Giving Machine Guns to Monkeys since 2006

  2. #2
    Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Posts
    130

    Default

    Is it a HP laptop?? They don't play well with wifi cards other than the one it came with.

  3. #3
    Senior Member shamanvirtuel's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Location
    Somewhere in the "Ex" human right country
    Posts
    2,988

    Default

    yes it's for my 6146 hp....it has got 4311 inside
    why did u say that ? i don' t understand why ?
    Watch your back, your packetz will belong to me soon... xD

    BackTrack :
    Giving Machine Guns to Monkeys since 2006

  4. #4
    Moderator theprez98's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Maryland
    Posts
    2,533

    Default

    When I bought my HP dv5215, I made sure it had a PCMCIA slot, because I knew the internal Broadcom 43xx would suck. While it theoretically has injection support, I have yet to see anyone show that it indeed works. Also, with an external slot, you have the ability to use cards with external antenna jacks. Of course, these considerations don't help much when you already have a laptop.

    That being said, I don't have any specific info on the mini pci card you're talking about.
    "\x74\x68\x65\x70\x72\x65\x7a\x39\x38";

  5. #5
    Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Posts
    130

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by shamanvirtuel View Post
    yes it's for my 6146 hp....it has got 4311 inside
    why did u say that ? i don' t understand why ?
    The odds, 95% chance, it won't work.

    HP has an extremely tiny white list of minipci cards that will work. i'm using a zv6170 btw.

    Do a google search and you will see. I even tried asking HP what cards do they authorize ad they said it wasn't up to them to test cards. Here A little old, but same info still.

    There are ways to re-write hardware numbers on the EPROMM but then windows won't work with it. Here

  6. #6
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Posts
    60

    Default

    Sharman,

    My wife's comp had the internal miniPCI card that you are speaking of (AR5005G) and I could not get it to work with BT for the life of me. So, I purchased the Ubiquiti XR2 (600mW!!!). GREAT miniPCI card. Retails for 109.95: h_t_t_p://www.wlanparts.com/product/XR2

    We recently purchased a new comp and the internal PCI card works fine with BT now, so we dont need the XR2 anymore. Bought it 5/25/07 and used it like once. We would return it but the restocking fee is rediculous. If you want to buy it for a lower price let me know.

    Mike

  7. #7
    Senior Member shamanvirtuel's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Location
    Somewhere in the "Ex" human right country
    Posts
    2,988

    Default

    yes thx for infos, i got my hp long time ago....so next one will be with pcmcia sure......

    HP SUXXXXXX....grrr....so i will try maybe the express card to pcmcia adapter i saw.....because i do have some pcmcia cards.....mayeb will work....


    thx again for infos
    Watch your back, your packetz will belong to me soon... xD

    BackTrack :
    Giving Machine Guns to Monkeys since 2006

  8. #8
    Senior Member shamanvirtuel's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Location
    Somewhere in the "Ex" human right country
    Posts
    2,988

    Default

    BTW boud4 yes im intersted by your 600mw

    but it's minipci ? right ?
    i need mini pci express.......
    Watch your back, your packetz will belong to me soon... xD

    BackTrack :
    Giving Machine Guns to Monkeys since 2006

  9. #9
    Moderator theprez98's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Maryland
    Posts
    2,533

    Default

    600mw? No boys in your future.
    "\x74\x68\x65\x70\x72\x65\x7a\x39\x38";

  10. #10
    Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Posts
    130

    Default

    If you're only running Linux, use the hack i linked to, to change the EPROM chip id code.

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •