Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 11

Thread: airmon-ng = no interface after macchanger

Hybrid View

  1. #1
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Posts
    7

    Default airmon-ng = no interface after macchanger

    I have that hardware:
    http://www.backtrack-linux.org/forum...supported.html

    which worked perfect with Linux Mint (my main system) and BT. I tried to use BT for my Wifi and did changed the mac-address. I can't see the interface any more with airmon-ng. Can I somehow reset the adapter?

  2. #2
    Junior Member M00kaw's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Location
    127.0.0.1
    Posts
    47

    Default Re: airmon-ng = no interface after macchanger

    What commands are you using ? It's pretty hard to help you out, if we have to guess that ...

  3. #3
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Posts
    7

    Default AW: airmon-ng = no interface after macchanger

    I'm using
    Code:
    airmon-ng
    as written in the headline. I can remember to have seen an interface there the 1st time, but there is none now. It says only the head of the list: "Interface Chipset Driver" but nothing else. It's empty.

    Code:
    ifconfig
    gives me "eth0" which is the wire and "lo" loopback. I guess there should be wlan0 listed as well?

  4. #4
    Administrator sickness's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Behind the screen.
    Posts
    2,921

    Default Re: AW: airmon-ng = no interface after macchanger

    Are you running Backtrack inside VMware/VBox ?
    Back|track giving machine guns to monkeys since 2007 !

    Do not read the Wiki, most your questions will not be answered there !
    Do not take a look at the: Forum Rules !

  5. #5
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Posts
    7

    Default AW: airmon-ng = no interface after macchanger

    Yep, but the wifi-adapter worked before within Vbox as well. It doesn't work in Vbox (BT/XP) and on a real system (Mint).

  6. #6
    Administrator sickness's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Behind the screen.
    Posts
    2,921

    Default Re: AW: airmon-ng = no interface after macchanger

    Try plugging the adapter out than connect it back to the VM.
    Back|track giving machine guns to monkeys since 2007 !

    Do not read the Wiki, most your questions will not be answered there !
    Do not take a look at the: Forum Rules !

  7. #7
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Posts
    7

    Default AW: airmon-ng = no interface after macchanger

    Still same problem.
    How can I reset the hardware? Maybe the Firmware is looking for a certain MAC-address and can't initialize itself?
    On XP I can, at least, see the hardware but its got the problem which tells me that the adapter can't be activated.

    The adapter worked fine before with all systems.

  8. #8
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Posts
    7

    Default AW: airmon-ng = no interface after macchanger

    'lsusb' gives me:
    Bus 001 Device 003: ID 0cf3:9271 Atheros Communications, Inc.
    Bus 001 Device 002: ID 0cf3:9271 Atheros Communications, Inc.
    don't know why 2 devices(?) but it can see the Hardware itself and it is obviously somehow running but:

    root@bt:~# dmesg | grep ath
    [ 2.142508] device-mapper: multipath: version 1.2.0 loaded
    [ 2.143706] device-mapper: multipath round-robin: version 1.0.0 loaded
    [ 5.363155] usb 1-1: ath9k_htc: Transferred FW: ar9271.fw, size: 51312
    [ 6.360369] usb 1-1: ath9k_htc: Target is unresponsive
    [ 6.361043] ath9k_hif_usb: probe of 1-1:1.0 failed with error -22
    [ 6.803356] usb 1-2: ath9k_htc: Transferred FW: ar9271.fw, size: 51312
    [ 7.800192] usb 1-2: ath9k_htc: Target is unresponsive
    [ 7.811160] ath9k_hif_usb: probe of 1-2:1.0 failed with error -22
    [ 7.811273] usbcore: registered new interface driver ath9k_hif_usb

    I can't interpret the problem :-(

  9. #9
    Very good friend of the forum hhmatt's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Posts
    660

    Default Re: airmon-ng = no interface after macchanger

    Could you please post the exact commands you are using in sequential order. It may also be helpful if you told us what network card you are using.
    Last I knew macchanger needed to bring the interface down then it could change the hard coded mac address.
    You will need to do something like this:

    Code:
    ifconfig wlan0 down
    macchanger -r wlan0
    ifconfig wlan0 up
    airmon-ng start mon0
    All commands I just typed were off the top of my head and I may have made a mistake but you should get the idea.

  10. #10
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Posts
    7

    Default AW: airmon-ng = no interface after macchanger

    As defined in post #1 my network card is the WN722N.

    Again, I plug in my hardware, I can see the hardware with
    Code:
    lsusb
    but I DON'T have an interface wlan0 or wlanx. The interface-list is empty.

    Yesterday I posted a comment with
    Code:
    dmesg
    . I hope it will be online soon. It tells me I have to wait for the admin to check my comments and it usually takes 1 or 2 days.

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. Airmon-ng does not give me an interface
    By JohnDoe99958 in forum Beginners Forum
    Replies: 10
    Last Post: 08-28-2010, 08:14 AM
  2. No Monitor interface with airmon-ng
    By softlyspoken in forum Beginners Forum
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 08-03-2010, 10:29 PM
  3. No interface by using airmon-ng
    By Securityfreak in forum Beginners Forum
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 08-03-2010, 08:52 PM
  4. airmon-ng does not give me an interface
    By airmon in forum OLD Newbie Area
    Replies: 9
    Last Post: 03-01-2010, 02:09 AM
  5. Replies: 11
    Last Post: 11-20-2007, 12:30 AM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •