Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 15

Thread: Cant boot live CD | it hangs

  1. #1
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Posts
    9

    Unhappy Cant boot live CD | it hangs

    Hello,

    I'm from germany so my englisch is very poor...

    I downloaded the ISO und burnt it on CD with nero.

    Then I booted the CD and syslinux started. I typed /boot/vmlinuz an pressed enter. the kernel loaded.
    After that a kernel panic appeared. "No Init found" "try passing init option to kernel". Then came the message "isa........ some program might be trying to access hardware directly.
    This message repeated continuesly and the caps- and the scroll lock lights were flashing...

    After that I burnt a CD with a new ISO ---> the same problem.
    I tried to test this Live-CD on three other computers, on the one at my work and on two Laptops---> the same problem....

    What happens? Is the ISO corrupted?
    Should I type something else to boot??

    Please help me, that is the first time I use Linux

  2. #2
    Moderator theprez98's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Maryland
    Posts
    2,533

    Default

    Verify the checksum of the ISO. Try burning at a slower rate (4x).
    "\x74\x68\x65\x70\x72\x65\x7a\x39\x38";

  3. #3
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Posts
    9

    Default

    How can I verify the checksum?

    Itried to burn at 8x, the same problem...
    I think the ISO is corrupted, I downloaded the ISO thre times

  4. #4
    Moderator theprez98's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Maryland
    Posts
    2,533

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Neflecrush View Post
    How can I verify the checksum?

    Itried to burn at 8x, the same problem...
    I think the ISO is corrupted, I downloaded the ISO thre times
    You need a utility to compute the MD5 of the iso, then compare it to the MD5 posted on the download page.
    "\x74\x68\x65\x70\x72\x65\x7a\x39\x38";

  5. #5
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Posts
    9

    Default

    where can I get this tool? for windows please

  6. #6
    Senior Member streaker69's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Virginville, BlueBall, Bird In Hand, Intercourse, Paradise, PA
    Posts
    3,535

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Neflecrush View Post
    where can I get this tool? for windows please
    Google is your friend.

    http://www.pc-tools.net/win32/md5sums/
    A third party security audit is the IT equivalent of a colonoscopy. It's long, intrusive, very uncomfortable, and when it's done, you'll have seen things you really didn't want to see, and you'll never forget that you've had one.

  7. #7
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Posts
    9

    Default

    now i burnt the fourth cd.....


    and again I tested this CD on all PCs and Laptops I have----> It does not work

    The MD5 sums are the same...

  8. #8
    Senior Member streaker69's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Virginville, BlueBall, Bird In Hand, Intercourse, Paradise, PA
    Posts
    3,535

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Neflecrush View Post
    now i burnt the fourth cd.....


    and again I tested this CD on all PCs and Laptops I have----> It does not work

    The MD5 sums are the same...
    Sounds like you have a bad CD Writer.
    A third party security audit is the IT equivalent of a colonoscopy. It's long, intrusive, very uncomfortable, and when it's done, you'll have seen things you really didn't want to see, and you'll never forget that you've had one.

  9. #9
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Posts
    9

    Default

    hmm

    but the kernel starts loading...

    and I tried the writer at work---> the same problem.

    I recognize: Burn the ISO, boot with cd, enter /boot/vmlinuz, thats right?
    should I try some options like /boot/vmlinuz -debug, or something else?
    should I try other BIOS settings?

    AMD 3700+
    Nforce 4 Asus board
    Nvidia 7900gs 256mb
    2GB Ram
    2 IDE hd
    1 SATA Hd
    one writer
    one DVD-ROm


    PS: Is there a command or key to pause kernel loading to read all the Text prompted?

  10. #10
    Senior Member streaker69's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Virginville, BlueBall, Bird In Hand, Intercourse, Paradise, PA
    Posts
    3,535

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Neflecrush View Post
    hmm

    but the kernel starts loading...

    and I tried the writer at work---> the same problem.

    I recognize: Burn the ISO, boot with cd, enter /boot/vmlinuz, thats right?
    should I try some options like /boot/vmlinuz -debug, or something else?
    should I try other BIOS settings?

    AMD 3700+
    Nforce 4 Asus board
    Nvidia 7900gs 256mb
    2GB Ram
    2 IDE hd
    1 SATA Hd
    one writer
    one DVD-ROm
    Did you turn of Virus Protection in BIOS, if it's available?
    A third party security audit is the IT equivalent of a colonoscopy. It's long, intrusive, very uncomfortable, and when it's done, you'll have seen things you really didn't want to see, and you'll never forget that you've had one.

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •