Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12
Results 11 to 16 of 16

Thread: Please specify a dictionary (option -w).

  1. #11
    Just burned his ISO redevilinux's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Location
    In ur PC
    Posts
    6

    Default Re: Please specify a dictionary (option -w).

    Ya i noticed it, but i don't know why i'm not getting handshake? i can't even crack my own network....SAD!

    Here is all the step i'm using:

    airmon-ng
    airmon-ng start wlan0
    airmon-ng
    ifconfig mon0 down
    macchanger -m 00:11:22:33:44:55 mon0
    ifconfig mon0 up
    airodump-ng mon0
    airodump-ng -c 11 -w redevilinux --bssid 00:XX:XX:XX:XX:XX --ivs mon0
    aireplay-ng -0 1 -e M11X R2 mon0
    aircrack-ng -w /root/Desktop/darkc0de.lst redevilinux-02.ivs

    If i'm doing something wrong please let me know thx!

  2. #12
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    Aussie
    Posts
    25

    Default Re: Please specify a dictionary (option -w).

    You have two differnt file types from the two posts you have made, the 14th of june has a .cap file and the latest has a .ivs file.

    using --ivs will only write initialisation vectors and connot be used for WPA handshake cracking! You will not capture a handshake with this option.

    so run airodump-ng, in monitor mode, on the correct channel, with a .cap save file, when a WPA client connects to the network.

    simply connect a wireless client to your access point while the above is running and you will get a handshake to use with aircrack.

    if you need to you can DeAuth a connected client with Aireplay-ng to get it to re-connect and capture the handshake then.

    you must use the .cap file which captures the handshake and the passphrase must be in the dictionary you use or it wont work.

  3. #13
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Posts
    2

    Default Re: Please specify a dictionary (option -w).

    is there a way for cracking password without a dictionary file?

  4. #14
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    Aussie
    Posts
    25

    Default Re: Please specify a dictionary (option -w).

    Yes if it's WEP, No if it's WPA!

    You can use previously hashed passwords that speed-up the checking process but that will still require the passphrase to be in your list to check against the handshake.

    This is where social enginerring comes in, people can't remember passphrases and so use what is easily rememberd for them like thier dogs name or birth date etc. If you have a dictionary of thousands of words inc many commonly used passphrases then anyone who doesn't use a well made passphrase will be vunerable so this is a lesson where you can use a strong passphrase on your own system and then add it to your dictionary to test the function of passphrase cracking.

  5. #15
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Posts
    2

    Default Re: Please specify a dictionary (option -w).

    hi,may i know where to find dictionary files?

  6. #16
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Posts
    1

    Default Re : Please specify a dictionary (option -w).

    Hello,

    I have another problem with a dictionary ... I have Backtrack5rf installed on a live usb drive of 16 GB but when I choose the dictionnary with the wpa keys, it says that he does not find the file?

    But the file (32Gb) is located on my hard disk (Asus) ? So what to do ? Is it possible to use the dictionary ?

    Also when I want to copy the dictionary file, is is not possible becausqe not enough space. Not becausqe it is a 32GB file but because I have only more or less 3 or 4 GB space even if I have a 16 GB Key and nothing else installed on the Usb key ? Why ?

    It seems that I can not use the remaining free space left on my 16 GB usb key ? Why ?

    Thanks a lot for your help!

    Edit:

    Quote Originally Posted by nenad84 View Post
    is there a way for cracking password without a dictionary file?
    Hello,

    Here is for example a link : http://www.renderlab.net/projects/WPA-tables/

    But after a Google search, you can find plenty of them ...
    The problem is not how to find them but how to get them work in Backtrack5r ?
    Last edited by sickness; 07-06-2011 at 09:03 AM. Reason: Merged.

Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12

Similar Threads

  1. Please specify a dictionary (option -w).
    By masoudh in forum BackTrack 5 Beginners Section
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 06-08-2011, 11:09 PM
  2. SET invalid option
    By Joffy in forum Beginners Forum
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 08-31-2010, 09:37 AM
  3. ERROR: Please specify a dictionary (option-w)
    By Andy Tool in forum OLD BT3final Support
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 01-21-2009, 07:30 AM
  4. looking on a new laptop...best option for BT3??
    By Messiah in forum OLD Newbie Area
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 09-20-2008, 07:31 AM
  5. --z invalid option?
    By tazzik in forum OLD Newbie Area
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 06-02-2008, 09:28 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •