Page 3 of 4 FirstFirst 1234 LastLast
Results 21 to 30 of 31

Thread: Could not connect to wicd's D-Bus interface

  1. #21
    Member melissabubble's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2011
    Location
    c:\
    Posts
    85

    Default Re: Could not connect to wicd's D-Bus interface

    Hey Guys, I'm having the same problem after a fresh install of BT5-RC2 32bit gnome and I use a Atheros AR9285 driver. I can use aircrack tools like packet injection but a can't use it to connect to the internet with wicd? The above methods don't work for me. Has anyone figured out whats the problem?

  2. #22
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Posts
    16

    Default Re : Could not connect to wicd's D-Bus interface

    Is the problem still present when launching Wicd on command-line?

  3. #23
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Posts
    236

    Default Re: melissabubble

    melissabubble,

    Open shell and do:
    Code:
    wicd
    Then try to click the GUI and wicd will open just fine. You can also adjust yer .bashrc to load it prior for u, that way when u click the gui it's already loaded on the backend.
    V/r,
    Snafu
    Pffbt..[quote]I made a discovery today. I found a computer. Wait a second, this is cool. It does what I want it to. If it makes a mistake, it's because I screwed it up. Not because it doesn't like me... Or feels threatened by me.. Or thinks I'm a smart ass.. [/quote]

  4. #24
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Posts
    1

    Default Re: melissabubble

    I'm new to bt and I've just had the same problem. I reconfigure wicd, but I don't really think it changed anything. In my case it was the wrong combi of the WPA Supplicant Driver and ecryption method. Now everything works fine. Don't forget to check if your interface names in Preferences of wicd match.

  5. #25
    Member melissabubble's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2011
    Location
    c:\
    Posts
    85

    Default Re: Could not connect to wicd's D-Bus interface

    its still not working after starting wicd from the command line and adjusting .bashrc. Does anyone no if using ubuntu network manager instead of wicd would break any packages?

  6. #26
    Member muminrz's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Posts
    64

    Default Re: Could not connect to wicd's D-Bus interface

    Try reboot router

  7. #27
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Posts
    1

    Default Re: Could not connect to wicd's D-Bus interface

    Ok so I'd get the same message using wicd, and it would crash and freeze a lot on me, but once I'd get it working and try and connect I'd get the same error so here is what I usually do to get past it:

    a) Assign a static IP address, and if one is assigned I suggest that you change it, or if you manage to connect but get disconnected I suggest that you do a "Quick scan" of the whole subnet (if your connection lasts as long) to see if another user is using your IP)

    b) Check that the encryption type is what it should be, a lot of times wicd would set the encryption to WPA 1/2 passphrase when it was a WEP encrypted network

    c) Check your signal levels or do a re-scan of the networks to see if your card may have "missed" your station (you wouldn't believe how many times this happened)

    I hope this helps someone.

    As for the DBus error message, I'd notice I'd get that when I connect my external WiFi card post-boot, and since Wicd is set to use only that interface it would give me an error, a restart would usually fix that.

  8. #28
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Posts
    2

    Default Re: Could not connect to wicd's D-Bus interface

    This fixed worked (and stuck) the first time. Thanks!

  9. #29
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Posts
    1

    Default Re: Could not connect to wicd's D-Bus interface

    did mine the lazy way and added the wicd command to my startup apps list like what i had to do for the audio. got rid of the error message and now is auto connecting like it should.

  10. #30
    Just burned their ISO
    Join Date
    Nov 2012
    Posts
    2

    Default Re: Could not connect to wicd's D-Bus interface

    Had the same error message popup every time I tried to use wicd. Didn't affect my ability to connect, I'd just fireup wicd and connect normally... Applied the fix below, error doesn't popup anymore. Thanks

    Quote Originally Posted by sickness View Post
    That error should not influence your connectivity, however this is the fix to it:
    Code:
    root@evilbox:~# dpkg-reconfigure wicd
    root@evilbox:~# update-rc.d wicd defaults
     Adding system startup for /etc/init.d/wicd ...
       /etc/rc0.d/K20wicd -> ../init.d/wicd
       /etc/rc1.d/K20wicd -> ../init.d/wicd
       /etc/rc6.d/K20wicd -> ../init.d/wicd
       /etc/rc2.d/S20wicd -> ../init.d/wicd
       /etc/rc3.d/S20wicd -> ../init.d/wicd
       /etc/rc4.d/S20wicd -> ../init.d/wicd
       /etc/rc5.d/S20wicd -> ../init.d/wicd
    root@evilbox:~#

Page 3 of 4 FirstFirst 1234 LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. AWUS036H won't connect through Wicd
    By thebigbradwolf in forum HardWare Compatibility List
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 04-04-2011, 10:16 AM
  2. wicd says bad password, can't connect.
    By Taiiwo in forum Beginners Forum
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 04-02-2011, 12:52 PM
  3. Connect to Access Point with WICD
    By sevic33 in forum Beginners Forum
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 12-23-2010, 03:21 AM
  4. "Could not connect to wicd's D-Bus interface." error workaround
    By 5cardcharlie in forum BackTrack Fixes
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 09-26-2010, 05:50 PM
  5. can not connect to internet via wicd
    By mahabad1972 in forum OLD BackTrack 4 (pre) Final
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 08-16-2009, 12:13 AM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •