Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 15

Thread: No network connections

  1. #1
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Posts
    5

    Default No network connections

    Hi i have just installed BT5 on my dell D610 which uses a pro/wireless 2200bg but i just cant get a network connection at all. i have tried going into wicd manager but i cant see any network.

    Really hope someone can help.

  2. #2
    Senior Member hypervista's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Posts
    121

    Default Re: No network connections

    From GUI Try:
    Services -> Network -> Start Network
    then
    Internet -> Wicd Network Manager

  3. #3
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Posts
    5

    Default Re: No network connections

    Hi, yes i have tried that and it's no good. I can get a connection now through the ethernet but still no luck with the wireless.

    Is there some driver pack that i need to download or something? Im quite new to linux so any help would be great.

    Ta

  4. #4
    Senior Member cgelici's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    /root
    Posts
    121

    Default Re: No network connections

    Check if interfaces are present:

    Code:
    ifconfig
    Try "ifconfig wlan0 up" of "ifconfig eth0 up" if they don't show.

    Code:
    /etc/init.d/wicd start
    Then start Wicd Network Manager.

    If it still doesn't work, check that your hardware is compatible with Backtrack 5. (<<Actually, do this first )

  5. #5
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Posts
    5

    Default Re: No network connections

    when i type ifconfig i get eth0 showing and also lo shows up.

    Where do i check to see if my laptop is compatable?

    Ta

  6. #6
    Junior Member M00kaw's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Location
    127.0.0.1
    Posts
    47

    Default Re: No network connections

    When you type in: ifconfig wlan0 up - does it say anything about SIOCSIFFLAGS: Unknown error 132 ?
    I had that problem, and i fixed it by typing:

    $rfkill unblock all
    $ifconfig wlan0 up

    (you dont actually write the $ )

  7. #7
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Posts
    5

    Default Re: No network connections

    Yes i have tried this but with no luck.

    How can i check if my laptop is usable with BT5?

  8. #8
    Good friend of the forums gunrunr's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    shining my spoon
    Posts
    265

    Default Re: No network connections

    nah thats an older chipset he has. Its the ipw2200 chipset from intel. I have the same problem on my old IBM, it come up at boot as missing the firmware. Theres a fix for it in this old bt4 thread
    http://www.backtrack-linux.org/forum...upgrading.html

    come say hi to me if you are at Summercon in brooklyn June 10-12
    Last edited by gunrunr; 06-04-2011 at 05:30 AM.
    Wielder of the spoon of doom
    Summercon, Toorcon, Defcon, Bsides, Derbycon, Shmoocon oh my
    Come hang out with hackers on twitter @gunrunr556

  9. #9
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Posts
    5

    Default Re: No network connections

    Hi, thanks for your reply's, after reading up some more i think all i need is the latest firmware update but (and this is a joke) im unable to download it off any computer.

    This is the link http://ipw2200.sourceforge.net/firmware.php?fid=8

    there is a list of older firmware on there and none of them download.

    Lol i dont expect you guys can help, just putting it out there, grrrrr

  10. #10
    Good friend of the forums gunrunr's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    shining my spoon
    Posts
    265

    Default Re: No network connections

    well if you follow my link it leads to a list of firmware, i downloaded the latest and unzipped it and pasted it into the /lib/firmware folder and rebooted, and now my IBM T42's ipw2200 works like the awesome. Here's a more direct like to the answer, four spoon points to me.

    Intel&#174; PRO/Wireless 2200BG Driver Firmware (in my case the file was ipw2200-fw-3.1.gz)

    Then, it has to be uncompressed:

    tar xzvf ipw2200-fw-3.1.gz

    ipw2200-fw-3.1
    ipw2200-fw-3.1/ipw2200-bss.fw
    ipw2200-fw-3.1/ipw2200-sniffer.fw
    ipw2200-fw-3.1/LICENSE.ipw2200.fw
    ipw2200-fw-3.1/ipw2200-ibss.fw

    Last step is to copy all those files in directory ipw2200-fw-3.1 to /lib/firmware/

    You can test and check it doing

    rmmod ipw2200
    modprobe ipw2200
    iwconfig
    Wielder of the spoon of doom
    Summercon, Toorcon, Defcon, Bsides, Derbycon, Shmoocon oh my
    Come hang out with hackers on twitter @gunrunr556

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. bridgin my connections
    By scottjago in forum Beginners Forum
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 09-05-2010, 01:37 PM
  2. How to bridge connections?
    By xbroak in forum OLD Newbie Area
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 01-04-2010, 03:11 AM
  3. G Adapter in N connections
    By goldc0der in forum OLD Newbie Area
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 08-11-2009, 10:01 PM
  4. basic network connections
    By benzslr123 in forum OLD Newbie Area
    Replies: 9
    Last Post: 10-01-2008, 09:06 PM
  5. question about SSH connections
    By thefatmoop in forum OLD BT3beta
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 04-13-2008, 07:37 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •