Results 1 to 3 of 3

Thread: help tp link tl-wn722n ath chip error

Hybrid View

  1. #1
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Posts
    2

    Unhappy help tp link tl-wn722n ath chip error

    every time i use airodump-ng it gives me an error

    error :

    ioctl(SIOCSIWMODE) failed:
    Device or resource busy

    ARP linktype is set to 1 (Ethernet) - expected ARPHRD_IEEE80211,
    ARPHRD_IEEE80211_FULL
    or ARPHRD_IEEE80211_PRISM instead.
    Make
    sure RFMON is enabled: run 'airmon-ng start wlan0 <#>'
    Sysfs injection support was not found either.

    i know the card is supported and that it works

    when i type in ifconfig it says that encap is configure to ethernet


    sorry for bad english and iam new to backtrack

  2. #2
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Location
    banglore
    Posts
    5

    Post Re: help tp link tl-wn722n ath chip error

    root@lspci
    now u will see the what tye of chip is u r used wheather chip is supported for bt5/bt4

    try 2 patch the drivers and enable RFMON in monitor mode..

  3. #3
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    Aug 2011
    Location
    Portugal
    Posts
    1

    Default Re: help tp link tl-wn722n ath chip error

    Hi!
    I am newer to backtract&Linux as can be and happen to have the same brand of wireless usb card than you, that is, the TL-WN722N High Gain WIfi Card, Atheros Chipset. I bought it today. So the first time i plugged it to backtrack running on VmWare, i got exactly the same error message than you...

    I was all set to come here searching for answers when suddenly i just did the following proceedings in vmware (don't know if you have a HDD install, live CD ou USB, or just running on VmWare like me)....so what i did was simply disconnect the usb wifi card from the virtual machine and reconnected it again...(in the lower right corner where the devices show up) and guess what, after that the error message disappeared and i could proceed. So, just try it if you are using Vmware, it might just work...eheh...

    ...also read it somewhere in this forum that sometimes there are these kinds of issues and might be also related with the network manager of backtrack..so you could also give it a try to disconnect/disable it and see what is the outcome...

    airodump-ng, on wlan0/mon0 works fine and we get a screen with all the wifi nets available around...but i am stuck right now in my next move wich is airodumping in a particular essid and channel. when i issue the proper airodump-ng command, the nest screen starts pumping up the beacons as times elapses but i can't get , in the line bellow the corresponding values, like STATION, for instance, etc. I just get the headres but with no values..... i have the slightest idea why..so i will have to llok around for an answer or make a thread maybe...

    Goog luck!

Similar Threads

  1. Wireless Wifi Link error
    By elitedistroyer in forum Beginners Forum
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 01-22-2011, 02:27 PM
  2. Replies: 0
    Last Post: 11-20-2010, 04:19 PM
  3. I need help with installing tl-wn722n!
    By Polaroid in forum Beginners Forum
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 11-17-2010, 03:06 PM
  4. Problems with TP-WN722n wifi adapter
    By link988 in forum Beginners Forum
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 10-07-2010, 11:01 AM
  5. Replies: 3
    Last Post: 04-22-2010, 02:37 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •