Thread: Truecrypt loophole?

Hybrid View

Default Truecrypt loophole?

Whats the use of implementing Truecrypt if it doesnt ask for password while copying or deleting the Truecrypt file container.

Its like trying to crack WPA-PSK passphrase. You grab the handshake file and try to crack it with brute force methods and if god forbid, the password is easy then....................

What do you think?
    Last edited by exus69; 06-02-2011 at 06:29 AM.
    Having knowledge is one thing and applying that knowledge to earn money (of course, legally) is a completely different thing...

Default Re: Truecrypt loophole?

Yes having possession of any piece of hardware or data is a vulnerability, hence the need for strong access control (both physical and logical).
    I'm a compulsive post editor, you might wanna wait until my post has been online for 5-10 mins before quoting it as it will likely change.

I know I seem harsh in some of my replies. SORRY! But if you're doing something illegal or posting something that seems to be obvious BS I'm going to call you on it.

Just burned his ISO

Quote Originally Posted by thorin View Post
    Yes having possession of any piece of hardware or data is a vulnerability, hence the need for strong access control (both physical and logical).
    Excellent points. However, as a recent case has shown, choosing a really good passphrase will defeat even determined efforts at cracking: