Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: Alfa awus036h

Hybrid View

  1. #1
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Posts
    2

    Default Alfa awus036h

    I have BT5 installed on my computer with a duel boot on a hdd seperate from my windows install. I am using the Alfa AWUS036H and have it configured. I was able to run airmon-ng, ifconfig, airodump etc... i was able to collect the packets on my network and get my wep key, however when i went to connect with Wicd i get nothing. iwconfig shows:
    Code:
     wlan1 IEEE 802.11bg ESSID:off/any 
    mode:managed Access Point: Not-Associated Tx-Power=0 dBm 
    Retry long limit:7 RTS thr:off Fragment thr:off
    Encryption key: off
    Power Management:off
    (sorry I am posting on my laptop in windows since i cant connect with my desktop on BT)
    airmon-ng shows
    Code:
    wlan1 Realtek RTL8187L (chipset) rtl8187 - [phy17] (driver)
    The Wicd preferences are set with wlan1 for the wireless interface DHCP client automatic Route Table Flushing Automatic WPA supplicant driver: wext Backend: external
    I have been surfing the BT forum, ubuntu forum and the BT wiki, trying different things, none of which have worked. I know my card is working cause I can pick up all the nearby networks on airodump

  2. #2
    Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Posts
    62

    Default Riferimento: Alfa awus036h

    I'm able to connect with my ap with wpa encryption but then I have some problem.
    After I set the bit rate all work fine.
    Try with
    Code:
    /etc/init.d/wicd start
    iwconfig wlan1 rate 1M
    now use wicd-gtk to connect to your network.

    P.S.
    I have this pci card
    Code:
    02:00.0 Network controller: Ralink corp. RT3090 Wireless 802.11n 1T/1R PCIe
    I install all compat-wireless driver and it works fine (no monitor mode or injection), but when I try to use the alfa backtrack freeze.
    Installing the only driver i need from compat with driver selection script for pci card, the alfa isn't seen.

    Backtrack 64 bit installed on hd.
    Last edited by Freee; 05-29-2011 at 12:15 AM.

  3. #3
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Posts
    2

    Default Re: Alfa awus036h

    You sir are a god among men. I spent hours combing the bt forum and google trying to get this thing working, not once did I read anywhere about setting the bit rate. I just booted wicd, set the rate and everything is working now.
    I am fairly new to linux so I apologize if this is going to be common knowledge, but setting the bit rate like that is a permanent setting or one I will have to do every boot?

  4. #4
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Posts
    198

    Default Re: Riferimento: Alfa awus036h

    I have an issue with my ath9k device when my Alfa is plugged in ( wont connect to any network ). The ath9k works properly when I unplug the Alfa.

    Just thought I would share

    Quote Originally Posted by Freee View Post
    I'm able to connect with my ap with wpa encryption but then
    Code:
    /etc/init.d/wicd start
    iwconfig wlan1 rate 1M
    now use wicd-gtk to connect to your network.

    P.S.
    I have this pci card
    Code:
    02:00.0 Network controller: Ralink corp. RT3090 Wireless 802.11n 1T/1R PCIe
    I install all compat-wireless driver and it works fine (no monitor mode or injection), but when I try to use the alfa backtrack freeze.
    Installing the only driver i need from compat with driver selection script for pci card, the alfa isn't seen.

    Backtrack 64 bit installed on hd.
    "Never do anything against conscience -- even if the state demands it."
    -- Albert Einstein

  5. #5
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Posts
    1

    Default Re: Riferimento: Alfa awus036h

    Hi can anyone please help me.. help help!
    im a total newby to linux.
    im using bt5 on vmware on the latest 2011 macbook pro

    i just got awuso36EH wifi usb dongle from alfa.
    can anyone guide me from scratch how to make it recognisable in bt5 and to make it work

    harry

    Quote Originally Posted by Freee View Post
    I'm able to connect with my ap with wpa encryption but then I have some problem.
    After I set the bit rate all work fine.
    Try with
    Code:
    /etc/init.d/wicd start
    iwconfig wlan1 rate 1M
    now use wicd-gtk to connect to your network.

    P.S.
    I have this pci card
    Code:
    02:00.0 Network controller: Ralink corp. RT3090 Wireless 802.11n 1T/1R PCIe
    I install all compat-wireless driver and it works fine (no monitor mode or injection), but when I try to use the alfa backtrack freeze.
    Installing the only driver i need from compat with driver selection script for pci card, the alfa isn't seen.

    Backtrack 64 bit installed on hd.

  6. #6
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Posts
    198

    Default Re: Riferimento: Alfa awus036h

    Plug it in
    edit: in VMWare you have to connect the device. Its in bottom right corner.

    Quote Originally Posted by ninjamikyo1 View Post
    Hi can anyone please help me.. help help!
    im a total newby to linux.
    im using bt5 on vmware on the latest 2011 macbook pro

    i just got awuso36EH wifi usb dongle from alfa.
    can anyone guide me from scratch how to make it recognisable in bt5 and to make it work

    harry
    Last edited by Scamentology; 06-28-2011 at 04:18 AM.
    "Never do anything against conscience -- even if the state demands it."
    -- Albert Einstein

Similar Threads

  1. BT4 with Alfa AWUS036H
    By omarara in forum OLD Newbie Area
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 10-07-2009, 07:58 AM
  2. ALFA (AWUS036H) help
    By fossilk1 in forum OLD Newbie Area
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 02-28-2009, 07:35 PM
  3. Possible Bug Alfa AWUS036H
    By fload in forum OLD BT4beta Bugs and Fixes
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 02-22-2009, 04:48 AM
  4. Why buy the Alfa AWUS036H?
    By StriderZ in forum OLD Newbie Area
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 09-17-2007, 08:40 PM
  5. Alfa AWUS036H
    By DeL3e7 in forum OLD Wireless
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 05-01-2007, 12:50 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •