Results 1 to 8 of 8

Thread: How to Change The Monitor type then Change Resolution Size for BT5 on Virtual Box VM

  1. #1
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Location
    Miami
    Posts
    1

    Angry How to Change The Monitor type then Change Resolution Size for BT5 on Virtual Box VM

    Hello this is my first post on this forum.

    I just installed BT5 on a VirtualBox VM. Now I am not new with Linux neither with Debian/Ubuntu. But I am having a hard time to figure this one out so I need your help.

    By default when you install Linux, almost any flavor on Virtual Box the resolution is always set to 800; and when you press ctlr+f to enter full view mode. The same only displays the window with the resolution after mentioned.

    In any favor of Linux you can change the monitor type to reflect a LCD display than then this allows you to change the resolution size for your monitor. You can't change the resolution to a higher density without having a monitor that supports it.

    Can anyone help me on this, how can I on BT5 change the monitor type to other than the default so I can change the resolution size to a bigger viewing size.

    I am struggling with this and I need your help.

    Regards,

  2. #2
    Developer muts's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Posts
    272

    Default Re: How to Change The Monitor type then Change Resolution Size for BT5 on Virtual Box

    in a console, type:

    xrandr -s 1024x768


    replace 1024x768 with the resolution you need.

  3. #3
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Posts
    1

    Default Re: How to Change The Monitor type then Change Resolution Size for BT5 on Virtual Box

    Quote Originally Posted by muts View Post
    in a console, type:

    xrandr -s 1024x768


    replace 1024x768 with the resolution you need.
    it didnt work
    it said size 1024x768 not found in the available modes
    and same error for all resolution
    please help

  4. #4
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Posts
    3

    Default Re: How to Change The Monitor type then Change Resolution Size for BT5 on Virtual Box

    I am having the same issue

  5. #5
    Administrator sickness's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Behind the screen.
    Posts
    2,921

    Default Re: How to Change The Monitor type then Change Resolution Size for BT5 on Virtual Box

    Did you guys install Guest Additions / VMware Tools ? If not I suggest you read the Wiki.
    Back|track giving machine guns to monkeys since 2007 !

    Do not read the Wiki, most your questions will not be answered there !
    Do not take a look at the: Forum Rules !

  6. #6
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Posts
    10

    Default Re: How to Change The Monitor type then Change Resolution Size for BT5 on Virtual Box

    Will the same apply to a hard drive install of BT5?

    My monitor wont' let me go higher than 1024x768 and it makes my eyeballs bleed.


    ...psylence...

  7. #7
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Posts
    2

    Default Re: How to Change The Monitor type then Change Resolution Size for BT5 on Virtual Box

    Quote Originally Posted by psylence View Post
    Will the same apply to a hard drive install of BT5?

    My monitor wont' let me go higher than 1024x768 and it makes my eyeballs bleed.


    ...psylence...
    Yes should work?

  8. #8
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Posts
    2

    Default Re: How to Change The Monitor type then Change Resolution Size for BT5 on Virtual Box

    If you already installed Guest Additions and cannot change the screen resolution from 1024x768 or one that fits your current display, you will find the next instruction very handy.

    1) Terminate Xorg session by logging out.

    2) Since Ubuntu 10.10 does not use xorg.conf file by default, you need to generate one. So, from the CLI type "X -configure". This will create a xorg.conf.new file with your current hardware specifications. See documentation if you need further details.

    3) Copy the recent generated xorg.conf file to /etc/X11/ directory.
    cp xorg.conf.new /etc/X11/xorg.conf

    4) Edit the xorg.conf file with your preferred text editor.
    - Move to Section "Screen" > SubSection "Display"
    - Before the line EndSubSection, add the following line: Modes "1366x768"
    - Repeat this for all the SubSection "Display"

    Example:
    SubSection "Display"
    Viewport 0 0
    Depth 1
    Modes "1366x768"
    EndSubSection
    SubSection "Display"
    Viewport 0 0
    Depth 4
    Modes "1366x768"
    EndSubSection

    Note: The perfect resolution for my pc is 1366x768. So, modify these numbers at your convenience.

Similar Threads

  1. Can't change gnome-terminal size default
    By itsme in forum BackTrack 5 Beginners Section
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 09-14-2011, 08:18 AM
  2. How can i change resolution in Backtrack 5 running in Virtual Box?
    By garmada in forum BackTrack 5 Beginners Section
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 05-14-2011, 05:22 PM
  3. How change the font size !!
    By gooody in forum OLD BackTrack 4 General Support
    Replies: 23
    Last Post: 09-11-2009, 11:51 PM
  4. How to change Ramdisk size?
    By Maniaxx in forum OLD BT3beta General
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 05-17-2008, 06:09 PM
  5. Change console window font size permanently
    By Glasskannon in forum OLD Newbie Area
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 01-29-2008, 06:41 AM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •