Results 1 to 9 of 9

Thread: Chromium Browser Workaround

Hybrid View

  1. #1
    Junior Member leg3nd's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Posts
    32

    Thumbs up Chromium Browser Workaround

    I read a few posts about people trying to get chrome working on BackTrack 5, I solved this a couple days after the release and figured I would share.

    I was not able to get it working with the --user-data-dir, even with separate users and correct permissions as suggested by the chrome developers. If someone did figure this out, it may be a more secure solution and your welcome to post it here.

    Problem: Chrome will not run with root permissions.
    Solution: Use a version of chrome before the UID check was implemented.

    I have thrown together some of the older debs, collected from the ubuntu repo's, as well as a basic bash script to get it going.

    Download 32bit: http://info-s3curity.com/public/chro...hrome32.tar.gz
    Download 64bit: http://info-s3curity.com/public/chro...hrome64.tar.gz

    Enjoy.

    EDIT: Appears another member has posted an alternate workaround as well. Was not aware when I posted this, I'm sure either method will accomplish the job.
    http://www.backtrack-linux.org/forum...rome-root.html
    Last edited by leg3nd; 05-23-2011 at 02:31 AM.

  2. #2
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Posts
    1

    Default Re: Chromium Browser Workaround

    Thank you.
    Do you work this version without any problems, when running, you run the request by Root,
    Do you work on this version Akrak 4 or why,

    Worked on the chrome version download from the official website for him, and after download, it fails, ask me to run by Ruth, worked to give him this authority, but do not benefit from the piece, the version 4 of the Rev. I do not Do you have the benefit of the solution.?

  3. #3
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Posts
    15

    Default Re: Chromium Browser Workaround

    easiy way to run Chrome as root:

    simply append the shortcut in your menu with:

    --user-data-dir

    full entry:

    /opt/google/chrome/google-chrome %U --user-data-dir



    no need to hex/edit/replace binaries

  4. #4
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Location
    Europe
    Posts
    6

    Default Re : Chromium Browser Workaround

    Hi,

    i've trying another way, because having sandboxes is more secure :

    1- adduser bob (or useradd bob)

    2- sudo -u bob -i chromium

    But there is a problem, about $DISPLAY :

    Code:
    No protocol specified
    
    (chromium-browser:2728): Gtk-WARNING **: cannot open display: :0.0
    Missing something? Is X launched as root the problem? Is needed tweaking $DISPLAY?

    And it will be interesting launching some apps as "simple" user, not root...

  5. #5

    Default Re: Chromium Browser Workaround

    For those of you who like Chromium you should try SRWare Iron, its a browser based on Chromium.
    For more info: Iron Website

    Or download the deb files:
    http://www.srware.net/downloads/iron.deb (32-Bit)
    http://www.srware.net/downloads/iron64.deb (64-Bit)

    You can run as root without having to do any changes.

    Hope it helps you guys

  6. #6
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Location
    over the under
    Posts
    197

    Default Re: Chromium Browser Workaround

    just download the latest version of chrome from google, it works right out of the box for me, and I'm running as root.

    EDIT: disregard my post also as maxfx stated below, the new version has the same problem with root
    Last edited by 2901119; 08-28-2011 at 02:56 AM.

  7. #7

    Default Re: Chromium Browser Workaround

    Quote Originally Posted by maxfx View Post
    For those of you who like Chromium you should try SRWare Iron, its a browser based on Chromium.
    For more info: Iron Website

    Or download the deb files:
    http://www.srware.net/downloads/iron.deb (32-Bit)
    http://www.srware.net/downloads/iron64.deb (64-Bit)

    You can run as root without having to do any changes.

    Hope it helps you guys
    Forget this post, the new version has the same problem with root.

  8. #8
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    Aug 2011
    Posts
    24

    Default Re: Chromium Browser Workaround

    I found a solution to run Chrome to run as root, the difference it's the folder location but it's just editing the chrome or chromiun file into the hex editor, in ascii decimal find and change modify "geteuid "to getppid.

    location /usr/lib/chromium-browser and the file to edit its chromium-browser (around 50mb)

    location opt/google/chrome/ and the filename its chrome also around 50mb big.
    Personally I use GHex and it saves the location, so if you upgrade your browser, the program remembers the location which makes things easy.

  9. #9
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Location
    Philippines
    Posts
    6

    Default Re: Chromium Browser Workaround

    I am using Backtrack 5 Gnome as my main OS and I have successfully used the latest version of Chrome using the steps defined here : http://www.icpep.org/chrome-on-backtrack-5/
    I have also added chrome on my software sources. So far there were 2 updates I have encountered with chrome and I just did the same thing and still working.

Similar Threads

  1. BT5 workaround problems
    By ghostdog67 in forum BackTrack 5 Beginners Section
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 05-16-2011, 06:52 AM
  2. Workaround: Blank screen after boot Backtrack 4 R2.
    By sickness in forum BackTrack Fixes
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 04-21-2011, 07:53 AM
  3. AWUS036H no ARPs/ACKs workaround
    By thecrazyman in forum Beginners Forum
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 11-16-2010, 10:14 AM
  4. BlindElephant und Backtrack4 - Workaround um Python 2.5.2
    By andurin in forum Tutorials und Howtos
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 08-10-2010, 10:51 PM
  5. BT3 with issues with integrated video + workaround
    By Darkpaw in forum OLD BT3beta Bugs and Fixes
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 01-09-2008, 04:24 PM

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •