Results 1 to 9 of 9

Thread: SET Configuration Bug

  1. #1
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Posts
    1

    Default SET Configuration Bug

    Since SET is one of my most commonly used tools for pentesting, it's the first tool I used as soon as I booted the live version.

    On picking the no. 8 option (Wireless Attacks), it gave me two errors.
    1. airbase-ng was not found ergo it was using one in SET
    2. dnsspoof was also not found


    It was easy enough to rectify. Open up a Terminal.
    Change directory to set configuration folder
    Code:
    cd /pentest/exploits/set/config
    Use Gedit to open set_config
    Code:
    gedit set_config
    Scroll down to the end where it says dnsspoof (or search for it)

    You should see an entry given below
    /usr/sbin/dnsspoof
    Change this to
    /usr/sbin/local/dnsspoof
    And if you just wanna make sure that you are using the airbase-ng in the system,
    Find airbase-ng (second last entry)
    Then change whatever location is written there(/pentest/wireless/aircrack-ng/src/airbase-ng) to
    /usr/local/sbin/airbase-ng
    Some times you may have to kill an existing DHCP process to make it work correctly

  2. #2
    Senior Member DaKahuna's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Posts
    103

    Default Re: SET Configuration Bug

    Did you also run into the error with dhcpd3 not being found?
    ----------------------------------------------------------
    Will hack for bandwidth!

  3. #3
    Senior Member fnord0's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Posts
    144

    Default Re: SET Configuration Bug

    Inkognito good doc for manually fixing the issue... I wanted to make you aware that a simple 'svn up' will resolve the issue immediately.

    a quick recap for simplicity ::
    Code:
    cd /pentest/exploits/set
    svn up

    -tally ho'
    'see the fnords!'

  4. #4
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Posts
    1

    Default Re: SET Configuration Bug

    Quote Originally Posted by fnord0 View Post
    Inkognito good doc for manually fixing the issue... I wanted to make you aware that a simple 'svn up' will resolve the issue immediately.

    a quick recap for simplicity ::
    Code:
    cd /pentest/exploits/set
    svn up

    -tally ho'
    svn up does not change the config file.

  5. #5
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Posts
    5

    Default Re: SET Configuration Bug

    I have the same issue as DaKahuna, when I select the WAP option (8), dhcpd3 is not found. 'locate dhcpd3' gives nothing for me. Any suggestions?

  6. #6
    Member melissabubble's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2011
    Location
    c:\
    Posts
    85

    Default Re: SET Configuration Bug

    Has anyone ever figured out what to do about the error on the wireless attack vector? dhcpd3 is not found. I have the same problem as raycewest and DaKahuna.

  7. #7
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Location
    Philippines
    Posts
    6

    Default Re: SET Configuration Bug

    I am using backtrack 5 64bit and I have a different path of both tools; For DNSSPOOF I have /usr/sbin/dnsspoof and for AIRBASE_NG_PATH I have /usr/sbin/airbase-ng. I changed the path on the config file. I think the best approach is to look for the path by using the locate command.

  8. #8
    Member melissabubble's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2011
    Location
    c:\
    Posts
    85

    Default Re: SET Configuration Bug

    Well the way i got it to work for me, i reinstalled dhcp3-server and it just seem to work. Hope that helps guys!

  9. #9
    Just burned their ISO
    Join Date
    Jan 2013
    Location
    tehran
    Posts
    2

    Default Re: SET Configuration Bug

    Quote Originally Posted by fnord0 View Post
    Inkognito good doc for manually fixing the issue... I wanted to make you aware that a simple 'svn up' will resolve the issue immediately.

    a quick recap for simplicity ::
    Code:
    cd /pentest/exploits/set
    svn up

    -tally ho'
    hi,thank you very much.sorry,i know a little English.
    i did your tutorial and now it is true.

Similar Threads

  1. Need help with configuration
    By yamaha147 in forum Beginners Forum
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 01-26-2011, 07:52 PM
  2. Configuration help appreciated :3
    By automagically in forum Beginners Forum
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 08-09-2010, 05:32 PM
  3. configuration and syslinux.cfg??
    By DarkSyd in forum OLD Newbie Area
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 05-18-2009, 10:30 AM
  4. Save Configuration to USB
    By -=~Aquired~=- in forum OLD BT3beta General
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 01-26-2008, 05:07 AM
  5. Configuration
    By Shakes in forum OLD Newbie Area
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 04-15-2007, 12:20 AM

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •