Results 1 to 4 of 4

Thread: Kismet configuration

  1. #1
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Posts
    4

    Default Kismet configuration

    Ok i recently installed backtrack 5 on my hd, mainly just so i could have a look at it and test my own wifi networks security, This is the first time i have seen backtrack and even attempted to use any of it's tool. I have only been on linux for about 3 months i'm also using the install to learn a bit about using the shell too and to learn the terminal way of doing things.

    Anyway the problem i have is this

    The version of kismet on backtrack 5 needs the capture source configuring and i can't work out what the problem is. i have tried changing the config file but had no luck with several combinations, after adding the source from the on screen prompt i get this



    when i close the server down it looks like this



    the only part of the config file that contains anything about sources reads as follows

    # Kismet config file
    # Most of the "static" configs have been moved to here -- the command line
    # config was getting way too crowded and cryptic. We want functionality,
    # not continually reading --help!

    # Version of Kismet config
    version=2009-newcore

    # Name of server (Purely for organizational purposes)
    servername=Kismet_2009

    # Prefix of where we log (as used in the logtemplate later)
    # logprefix=/some/path/to/logs

    # Do we process the contents of data frames? If this is enabled, data
    # frames will be truncated to the headers only immediately after frame type
    # detection. This will disable IP detection, etc, however it is likely
    # safer (and definitely more polite) if monitoring networks you do not own.
    # hidedata=true

    # Do we allow plugins to be used? This will load plugins from the system
    # and user plugin directiories when set to true (See the README for the default
    # plugin locations).
    allowplugins=true

    # See the README for full information on the new source format
    # ncsource=interfaceptions
    # for example:
    # ncsource=wlan0
    # ncsource=wifi0:type=madwifi
    # ncsource=wlan0:name=intel,hop=false,channel=11

    # Comma-separated list of sources to enable. This is only needed if you defined
    # multiple sources and only want to enable some of them. By default, all defined
    # sources are enabled.
    # For example, if sources with name=prismsource and name=ciscosource are defined,
    # and you only want to enable those two:
    # enablesources=prismsource,ciscosource

    # Control which channels we like to spend more time on. By default, the list
    # of channels is pulled from the driver automatically. By setting preferred channels,
    # if they are present in the channel list, they'll be set with a timing delay so that
    # more time is spent on them. Since 1, 6, 11 are the common default channels, it makes
    # sense to spend more time monitoring them.
    # For finer control, see further down in the config for the channellist= directives.
    preferredchannels=1,6,11


    i have LM Technologies LM-001 usb wifi adapter using the zd1211 driver and its on wlan0, how should i edit the config file?
    I know that it works with kismet because i have an 11:04 install on the same pc and i had to install kismet on that earlier, and after changing the config file for the 11:04 version it worked fine
    on 11:04 it looks like this




    the config file for the version on 11:04 is different to the one on the backtrack 5 and the source part reads as follows


    # Kismet config file
    # Most of the "static" configs have been moved to here -- the command line
    # config was getting way too crowded and cryptic. We want functionality,
    # not continually reading --help!

    # Version of Kismet config
    version=2007.09.R1

    # Name of server (Purely for organizational purposes)
    servername=Kismet

    # User to setid to (should be your normal user)
    #suiduser=your_user_here

    # Do we try to put networkmanager to sleep? If you use NM, this is probably
    # what you want to do, so that it will leave the interfaces alone while
    # Kismet is using them. This requires DBus support!
    networkmanagersleep=true

    # Sources are defined as:
    # source=sourcetype,interface,name[,initialchannel]
    # Source types and required drivers are listed in the README under the
    # CAPTURE SOURCES section.
    # The initial channel is optional, if hopping is not enabled it can be used
    # to set the channel the interface listens on.
    # YOU MUST CHANGE THIS TO BE THE SOURCE YOU WANT TO USE
    source=zd1211,wlan0,lm-001

    # Comma-separated list of sources to enable. This is only needed if you defined
    # multiple sources and only want to enable some of them. By default, all defined
    # sources are enabled.
    # For example:
    # enablesources=prismsource,ciscosource


    # Automatically destroy VAPs on multi-vap interfaces (like madwifi-ng).
    # Madwifi-ng doesn't work in rfmon when non-rfmon VAPs are present, however
    # this is a fairly invasive change to the system so it CAN be disabled. Expect
    # things not to work in most cases if you do disable it, however.
    vapdestroy=true



    you can see where i added 'source=zd1211,wlan0,lm-001'

    why does this not work in my backtrack 5 install? everything is showing up on ifconfig iwconfig etc, the drivers are working because it picks up several other networks, so if anyone knows how to configure the backtrack version of kismet, your knowledge would be gratefully appreciated

    Thanks

  2. #2
    My life is this forum Barry's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Posts
    3,817

    Default Re: Kismet configuration

    I just use the gui's add source option, though I think you can just add your source line from the old version of kismet to the new one, right after all those ncsource lines. You can also change your gps to false so you don't get those gpsd server errors.

    You're Ubuntu install has the old version of Kismet, which is why the configs look different.
    Of course, if you really wanted to have some fun, go to Wal-Mart late at night and ask the greeter if they could help you find trashbags, roll of carpet, rope, quicklime, clorox and a shovel. See if they give you any strange looks. --Streaker69

  3. #3
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Posts
    4

    Default Re: Kismet configuration

    Thank you,

    i've added the source from the older version but it wouldn't have it until added the letters 'nc' on the front of 'source' to give 'ncsource'.

    I found that gpsd needed the server changing in the config file to 2501, am no longer getting the error message regarding gpsd

  4. #4
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Posts
    1

    Question Re: Kismet configuration

    Hey fractalman,

    I have just noticed that the kismet.conf file is different from bt5 bt3, therefore, I am having trouble configuring it myself. would you mind telling me step by step how you got the file configured yourself as i cannot find any documentation on the net.

    thanks

Similar Threads

  1. Kismet configuration on Asus EeePC 1005HA
    By whiterabbit7500 in forum OLD Newbie Area
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 01-07-2010, 09:07 PM
  2. Kismet with Cisco 350 on BT3: kismet.conf trouble
    By bypass in forum OLD Newbie Area
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 03-26-2008, 03:46 AM
  3. Kismet configuration in BackTrack 2
    By shawn77 in forum OLD BackTrack v2.0 Final
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 02-04-2008, 02:11 PM
  4. Configuration
    By Shakes in forum OLD Newbie Area
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 04-15-2007, 12:20 AM
  5. Kismet filter configuration. Help.
    By tristania in forum OLD Newbie Area
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 04-06-2007, 08:16 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •