Results 1 to 10 of 10

Thread: default boot up question

  1. #1
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Posts
    5

    Red face default boot up question

    hello everyone newbie to the forum
    (but ive used backtrack for a while)

    ive just installed backtrack 5 to hard drive and im wondering how i make it so when i turn on computer backtrack/ubuntu isnt my default boot up

    i want it so windows vista is my default boot ( i no many off you will say dont use vista its a virus machine but i use vista alot more for certain programs)

    so can anyone tell me how to make vista my default boot
    thankyou for your help

  2. #2
    My life is this forum thorin's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Posts
    2,629

    Default Re: default boot up question

    Which install process did you follow?
    I'm a compulsive post editor, you might wanna wait until my post has been online for 5-10 mins before quoting it as it will likely change.

    I know I seem harsh in some of my replies. SORRY! But if you're doing something illegal or posting something that seems to be obvious BS I'm going to call you on it.

  3. #3
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Posts
    5

    Default Re: default boot up question

    i already had vista installed
    i ran backtrack 5 on disk and used the install on the desktop to install backtrack to seperate partition

    but when i switch on laptop my default boot is backtrack/linux
    i have to press down to get vista but i want it so vista is at the top

  4. #4
    Good friend of the forums comaX's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    Paris, France
    Posts
    338

    Default Re: default boot up question

    I'm guessing you have grub, so you go to /boot/grub/grub.cfg and edit XX in #1 to the number corresponding to the desired device in the list (#2), starting at 0.

    #1
    ### BEGIN /etc/grub.d/00_header ###
    if [ -s $prefix/grubenv ]; then
    load_env
    fi
    set default="XX"
    if [ ${prev_saved_entry} ]; then
    set saved_entry=${prev_saved_entry}
    save_env saved_entry
    set prev_saved_entry=
    save_env prev_saved_entry
    set boot_once=true
    fi


    #2
    ### BEGIN /etc/grub.d/10_linux ###
    menuentry 'BackTrack 5, with Linux 2.6.38' --class ubuntu --class gnu-linux --class gnu --class os { ==> THIS IS 0
    recordfail
    insmod ext2
    set root='(hd1,3)'
    search --no-floppy --fs-uuid --set e9a445ef-cd89-46f8-920b-be883d0baf8d
    linux /boot/vmlinuz-2.6.38 root=UUID=e9a445ef-cd89-46f8-920b-be883d0baf8d ro text splash nomodeset vga=791
    initrd /boot/initrd.img-2.6.38
    }
    menuentry 'BackTrack 5, with Linux 2.6.38 (recovery mode)' --class ubuntu --class gnu-linux --class gnu --class os { ==> THIS IS 1
    recordfail
    insmod ext2
    set root='(hd1,3)'
    search --no-floppy --fs-uuid --set e9a445ef-cd89-46f8-920b-be883d0baf8d
    echo 'Loading Linux 2.6.38 ...'
    linux /boot/vmlinuz-2.6.38 root=UUID=e9a445ef-cd89-46f8-920b-be883d0baf8d ro single
    echo 'Loading initial ramdisk ...'
    initrd /boot/initrd.img-2.6.38
    }
    ### END /etc/grub.d/10_linux ###

    ### BEGIN /etc/grub.d/20_memtest86+ ###
    menuentry "Memory test (memtest86+)" { ==> THIS IS 2
    insmod ext2
    set root='(hd1,3)'
    search --no-floppy --fs-uuid --set e9a445ef-cd89-46f8-920b-be883d0baf8d
    linux16 /boot/memtest86+.bin
    }
    menuentry "Memory test (memtest86+, serial console 115200)" { ==> THIS IS 3
    insmod ext2
    set root='(hd1,3)'
    search --no-floppy --fs-uuid --set e9a445ef-cd89-46f8-920b-be883d0baf8d
    linux16 /boot/memtest86+.bin console=ttyS0,115200n8
    }
    ### END /etc/grub.d/20_memtest86+ ###

    ### BEGIN /etc/grub.d/30_os-prober ###
    menuentry "Windows 7 (loader) (on /dev/sda1) (recovery)" { ==> THIS IS 4
    insmod ntfs
    set root='(hd0,1)'
    search --no-floppy --fs-uuid --set 342444272443EA86
    chainloader +1
    }
    menuentry "Windows 7 (loader) (on /dev/sdb1) (OS)" { ==> THIS IS 5
    insmod ntfs
    set root='(hd1,1)'
    search --no-floppy --fs-uuid --set 3C545A8F545A4BB0
    chainloader +1
    }
    ### END /etc/grub.d/30_os-prober ###

    So, if you want to start your - let's say memtest86+ - as default, you change XX to 2.
    A little google wouldn't have done any harm though... But since I think other people will wonder that as well, I thought it was best to post the solution while I have the time !

    Obviously, don't fcuk this up. And if you do, you're on your own ! This is an extract from my own config file, yours may differ.
    Last edited by comaX; 05-18-2011 at 05:39 PM.
    Running both KDE and GNOME BT5 flawlessly. Thank you !

  5. #5
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Posts
    4

    Default Re: default boot up question

    Quote Originally Posted by shep100uk View Post
    hello everyone newbie to the forum
    (but ive used backtrack for a while)

    ive just installed backtrack 5 to hard drive and im wondering how i make it so when i turn on computer backtrack/ubuntu isnt my default boot up

    i want it so windows vista is my default boot ( i no many off you will say dont use vista its a virus machine but i use vista alot more for certain programs)

    so can anyone tell me how to make vista my default boot
    thankyou for your help
    you can use Super Grub Disk
    read this http://www.supergrubdisk.org/

  6. #6
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Posts
    5

    Default Re: default boot up question

    comax this is my grub
    what number do i set default to
    and thanks

    #
    # DO NOT EDIT THIS FILE
    #
    # It is automatically generated by /usr/sbin/grub-mkconfig using templates
    # from /etc/grub.d and settings from /etc/default/grub
    #

    ### BEGIN /etc/grub.d/00_header ###
    if [ -s $prefix/grubenv ]; then
    load_env
    fi
    set default="0"
    if [ ${prev_saved_entry} ]; then
    set saved_entry=${prev_saved_entry}
    save_env saved_entry
    set prev_saved_entry=
    save_env prev_saved_entry
    set boot_once=true
    fi

    function savedefault {
    if [ -z ${boot_once} ]; then
    saved_entry=${chosen}
    save_env saved_entry
    fi
    }

    function recordfail {
    set recordfail=1
    if [ -n ${have_grubenv} ]; then if [ -z ${boot_once} ]; then save_env recordfail; fi; fi
    }
    insmod ext2
    set root='(hd0,5)'
    search --no-floppy --fs-uuid --set 4c5e0f82-74de-4f10-92f6-462f71112fd4
    if loadfont /usr/share/grub/unicode.pf2 ; then
    set gfxmode=1024x768
    set gfxpayload=keep
    insmod gfxterm
    insmod vbe
    if terminal_output gfxterm ; then true ; else
    # For backward compatibility with versions of terminal.mod that don't
    # understand terminal_output
    terminal gfxterm
    fi
    fi
    insmod ext2
    set root='(hd0,5)'
    search --no-floppy --fs-uuid --set 4c5e0f82-74de-4f10-92f6-462f71112fd4
    set locale_dir=($root)/boot/grub/locale
    set lang=en
    insmod gettext
    if [ ${recordfail} = 1 ]; then
    set timeout=-1
    else
    set timeout=10
    fi
    ### END /etc/grub.d/00_header ###

    ### BEGIN /etc/grub.d/05_debian_theme ###
    set menu_color_normal=white/black
    set menu_color_highlight=black/light-gray
    ### END /etc/grub.d/05_debian_theme ###

    ### BEGIN /etc/grub.d/10_linux ###
    menuentry 'Ubuntu, with Linux 2.6.38' --class ubuntu --class gnu-linux --class gnu --class os {
    recordfail
    insmod ext2
    set root='(hd0,5)'
    search --no-floppy --fs-uuid --set 4c5e0f82-74de-4f10-92f6-462f71112fd4
    linux /boot/vmlinuz-2.6.38 root=UUID=4c5e0f82-74de-4f10-92f6-462f71112fd4 ro text splash nomodeset vga=791
    initrd /boot/initrd.img-2.6.38
    }
    menuentry 'Ubuntu, with Linux 2.6.38 (recovery mode)' --class ubuntu --class gnu-linux --class gnu --class os {
    recordfail
    insmod ext2
    set root='(hd0,5)'
    search --no-floppy --fs-uuid --set 4c5e0f82-74de-4f10-92f6-462f71112fd4
    echo 'Loading Linux 2.6.38 ...'
    linux /boot/vmlinuz-2.6.38 root=UUID=4c5e0f82-74de-4f10-92f6-462f71112fd4 ro single
    echo 'Loading initial ramdisk ...'
    initrd /boot/initrd.img-2.6.38
    }
    ### END /etc/grub.d/10_linux ###

    ### BEGIN /etc/grub.d/20_memtest86+ ###
    menuentry "Memory test (memtest86+)" {
    insmod ext2
    set root='(hd0,5)'
    search --no-floppy --fs-uuid --set 4c5e0f82-74de-4f10-92f6-462f71112fd4
    linux16 /boot/memtest86+.bin
    }
    menuentry "Memory test (memtest86+, serial console 115200)" {
    insmod ext2
    set root='(hd0,5)'
    search --no-floppy --fs-uuid --set 4c5e0f82-74de-4f10-92f6-462f71112fd4
    linux16 /boot/memtest86+.bin console=ttyS0,115200n8
    }
    ### END /etc/grub.d/20_memtest86+ ###

    ### BEGIN /etc/grub.d/30_os-prober ###
    menuentry "Windows Vista (loader) (on /dev/sda1)" {
    insmod ntfs
    set root='(hd0,1)'
    search --no-floppy --fs-uuid --set 18AEAFB9AEAF8DB6
    chainloader +1
    }
    ### END /etc/grub.d/30_os-prober ###

    ### BEGIN /etc/grub.d/40_custom ###
    # This file provides an easy way to add custom menu entries. Simply type the
    # menu entries you want to add after this comment. Be careful not to change
    # the 'exec tail' line above.
    ### END /etc/grub.d/40_custom ###

  7. #7
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Posts
    13

    Default Re: default boot up question

    apt-get install startupmanager

    After installation go System >> Administration >>StartUp-Manager and open it.

  8. #8
    Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Posts
    54

    Default Re: default boot up question

    you can order the grub menuentry following thist:

    Code:
    #
    # DO NOT EDIT THIS FILE
    #
    # It is automatically generated by /usr/sbin/grub-mkconfig using templates
    # from /etc/grub.d and settings from /etc/default/grub
    #
    
    ### BEGIN /etc/grub.d/00_header ###
    if [ -s $prefix/grubenv ]; then
      load_env
    fi
    set default="0"
    if [ ${prev_saved_entry} ]; then
      set saved_entry=${prev_saved_entry}
      save_env saved_entry
      set prev_saved_entry=
      save_env prev_saved_entry
      set boot_once=true
    fi
    
    function savedefault {
      if [ -z ${boot_once} ]; then
        saved_entry=${chosen}
        save_env saved_entry
      fi
    }
    
    function recordfail {
      set recordfail=1
      if [ -n ${have_grubenv} ]; then if [ -z ${boot_once} ]; then save_env recordfail; fi; fi
    }
    insmod ext2
    set root='(hd0,9)'
    search --no-floppy --fs-uuid --set b4fe224a-99ca-4397-814a-3b4ea7da7332
    if loadfont /usr/share/grub/unicode.pf2 ; then
      set gfxmode=1024x768
      set gfxpayload=keep
      insmod gfxterm
      insmod vbe
      if terminal_output gfxterm ; then true ; else
        # For backward compatibility with versions of terminal.mod that don't
        # understand terminal_output
        terminal gfxterm
      fi
    fi
    insmod ext2
    set root='(hd0,7)'
    search --no-floppy --fs-uuid --set e12d23bd-f377-47d4-bdd6-b75d6caa0ee1
    set locale_dir=($root)/grub/locale
    set lang=en
    insmod gettext
    if [ ${recordfail} = 1 ]; then
      set timeout=-1
    else
      set timeout=10
    fi
    ### END /etc/grub.d/00_header ###
    
    ### BEGIN /etc/grub.d/05_debian_theme ###
    set menu_color_normal=white/black
    set menu_color_highlight=black/light-gray
    ### END /etc/grub.d/05_debian_theme ###
    menuentry "Windows 7 (loader) (on /dev/sda2)" {
    	insmod ntfs
    	set root='(hd0,2)'
    	search --no-floppy --fs-uuid --set E0121A131219EF72
    	chainloader +1
    }
    
    ### BEGIN /etc/grub.d/10_linux ###
    menuentry 'BackTrack 5, with Linux 2.6.38' --class ubuntu --class gnu-linux --class gnu --class os {
    	recordfail
    	insmod ext2
    	set root='(hd0,7)'
    	search --no-floppy --fs-uuid --set e12d23bd-f377-47d4-bdd6-b75d6caa0ee1
    	linux	/vmlinuz-2.6.38 root=UUID=b4fe224a-99ca-4397-814a-3b4ea7da7332 ro   text splash nomodeset to i915.modeset=1
    	initrd	/initrd.img-2.6.38
    }
    
    menuentry "Windows Vista (loader) (on /dev/sda1)" {
    	insmod fat
    	set root='(hd0,1)'
    	search --no-floppy --fs-uuid --set 4ce5-3acb
    	chainloader +1
    }
    
    menuentry 'BackTrack 5, with Linux 2.6.38 (recovery mode)' --class ubuntu --class gnu-linux --class gnu --class os {
    	recordfail
    	insmod ext2
    	set root='(hd0,7)'
    	search --no-floppy --fs-uuid --set e12d23bd-f377-47d4-bdd6-b75d6caa0ee1
    	echo	'Loading Linux 2.6.38 ...'
    	linux	/vmlinuz-2.6.38 root=UUID=b4fe224a-99ca-4397-814a-3b4ea7da7332 ro single 
    	echo	'Loading initial ramdisk ...'
    	initrd	/initrd.img-2.6.38
    }
    ### END /etc/grub.d/10_linux ###
    
    ### BEGIN /etc/grub.d/20_memtest86+ ###
    menuentry "Memory test (memtest86+)" {
    	insmod ext2
    	set root='(hd0,7)'
    	search --no-floppy --fs-uuid --set e12d23bd-f377-47d4-bdd6-b75d6caa0ee1
    	linux16	/memtest86+.bin
    }
    menuentry "Memory test (memtest86+, serial console 115200)" {
    	insmod ext2
    	set root='(hd0,7)'
    	search --no-floppy --fs-uuid --set e12d23bd-f377-47d4-bdd6-b75d6caa0ee1
    	linux16	/memtest86+.bin console=ttyS0,115200n8
    }
    ### END /etc/grub.d/20_memtest86+ ###
    
    ### BEGIN /etc/grub.d/30_os-prober ###
    ### END /etc/grub.d/30_os-prober ###
    
    ### BEGIN /etc/grub.d/40_custom ###
    # This file provides an easy way to add custom menu entries.  Simply type the
    # menu entries you want to add after this comment.  Be careful not to change
    # the 'exec tail' line above.
    ### END /etc/grub.d/40_custom ###

  9. #9
    Senior Member cgelici's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    /root
    Posts
    121

    Default Re: default boot up question

    Like the file says. You should not edit grub.cfg because it is generated by other files. You have to go to /etc/grub.d/. You will find seveal files in there. To keep it short, 00 is header which should stay like so. 10-linux is the default linux partition (Backtrack 5), **-os-prober is the Windows partition.

    Now, the files are read from 0 going up so all you need to do is rename the os-prober file to a number below 10 (which is the linux partition)
    e.g. 05-os-prober

    When done, run "update-grub"
    And reboot

    EDIT: Hmm I didnt read ComaX' post through, he is correct too, his way is probably easier.
    Last edited by cgelici; 05-19-2011 at 11:21 AM.

  10. #10
    Good friend of the forums comaX's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    Paris, France
    Posts
    338

    Default Re: default boot up question

    Eheh =D
    Works like a charm in deed !
    Running both KDE and GNOME BT5 flawlessly. Thank you !

Similar Threads

  1. How to change default linux boot to windows
    By VIJOVAME in forum Beginners Forum
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 03-06-2010, 09:44 AM
  2. Make Windows boot as default with lilo
    By phreak0ut in forum OLD Newbie Area
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 07-06-2008, 12:51 PM
  3. Tripple boot question
    By RageLtMan in forum OLD BT3beta General
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 02-20-2008, 02:46 PM
  4. Weird Boot up of BT3 question
    By NycUnxer in forum OLD Newbie Area
    Replies: 9
    Last Post: 01-11-2008, 12:08 AM
  5. Replies: 18
    Last Post: 06-25-2007, 08:12 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •