Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: RTL8187L cant capture WPA Handshake without DEAUTH! ?

  1. #1
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Posts
    1

    Default RTL8187L cant capture WPA Handshake without DEAUTH! ?

    Hi guys,

    3 days ago i bought ALFA AWUS036H. and i have backtrack 5 installed on my laptop. So, today i begin to some test about alfa injection and capturing handshake. But alfa / RTL8187L only can capture handshake when you do deauth. I also have broadcom b43 in my laptop. I tested broadcom b43 that is works perfect! b43 can capture wpa handshake anytime (i mean when victim restarts his pc or re-login wireless ).

    So it doesnt make sense at all . why alfa / RTL8187L cant capture WPA Handshake directly ? So we always need deauth. right ?

    BTW; please do not tell me driver updates or patches which is i already done .

    Im waiting any solution, in this forum everybody saying that RTL8187 is working %100 properly with aircrack, but in my test system it doesnt....

    Thank you have a nice day guys

  2. #2
    Member
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Location
    Israel
    Posts
    74

    Default Re: RTL8187L cant capture WPA Handshake without DEAUTH! ?

    Quote Originally Posted by hdtshare View Post
    Hi guys,

    3 days ago i bought ALFA AWUS036H. and i have backtrack 5 installed on my laptop. So, today i begin to some test about alfa injection and capturing handshake. But alfa / RTL8187L only can capture handshake when you do deauth. I also have broadcom b43 in my laptop. I tested broadcom b43 that is works perfect! b43 can capture wpa handshake anytime (i mean when victim restarts his pc or re-login wireless ).

    So it doesnt make sense at all . why alfa / RTL8187L cant capture WPA Handshake directly ? So we always need deauth. right ?

    BTW; please do not tell me driver updates or patches which is i already done .

    Im waiting any solution, in this forum everybody saying that RTL8187 is working %100 properly with aircrack, but in my test system it doesnt....

    Thank you have a nice day guys
    Maybe is it firmware issue?
    In many wireless cards firmware is doing the most critical part of radio interface operation
    like spawning and controlling rx and tx processes handling control frames (beacon) sending hardware interrupt managing internal buffers ..etc
    Without kernel mode debugging your question will not be answered.

  3. #3
    Senior Member DaKahuna's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Posts
    103

    Default Re: RTL8187L cant capture WPA Handshake without DEAUTH! ?

    Which version of BT5 are you running? I was using my alfa on my BT5 KDE 64-bit install just today to capture multiple handshakes using just a default install. It might help to provide the output of airmon-ng.
    ----------------------------------------------------------
    Will hack for bandwidth!

  4. #4
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Posts
    5

    Default Re: RTL8187L cant capture WPA Handshake without DEAUTH! ?

    Quick question, can you capture your own injected packets?

  5. #5
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Posts
    198

    Default Re: RTL8187L cant capture WPA Handshake without DEAUTH! ?

    I have had some issues with this as well. even when Im in the same room. but not too close. and sometimes when I do capture the handshake its incomplete. takes 3-4 attempts to get a complete handshake.

    in fact i only got the complete handshake was when connecting to the AP with the same card {RTL8187} I was sniffing on. It wouldnt see it if I connected to the AP from another card {ath9k}
    using bt5 of course

    Quote Originally Posted by hdtshare View Post
    Hi guys,

    3 days ago i bought ALFA AWUS036H. and i have backtrack 5 installed on my laptop. So, today i begin to some test about alfa injection and capturing handshake. But alfa / RTL8187L only can capture handshake when you do deauth. I also have broadcom b43 in my laptop. I tested broadcom b43 that is works perfect! b43 can capture wpa handshake anytime (i mean when victim restarts his pc or re-login wireless ).

    So it doesnt make sense at all . why alfa / RTL8187L cant capture WPA Handshake directly ? So we always need deauth. right ?

    BTW; please do not tell me driver updates or patches which is i already done .

    Im waiting any solution, in this forum everybody saying that RTL8187 is working %100 properly with aircrack, but in my test system it doesnt....

    Thank you have a nice day guys
    Last edited by Scamentology; 05-21-2011 at 02:40 AM.
    "Never do anything against conscience -- even if the state demands it."
    -- Albert Einstein

  6. #6
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    Oct 2011
    Location
    La+
    Posts
    5

    Default Re: RTL8187L cant capture WPA Handshake without DEAUTH! ?

    using BT5-R1 on VMware Workstation 8. I capture a WPA-PSK from a TG585v7 Thomson gateway using DEAUTH, then I try on Aircrack-ng and the crack procedure runs normally and by normally I mean the process not if the password is cracked or not. However when I use coWPAtty 4.6 I always receive incomplete hand-shake, I tried it like 4-5 times. So who's right and who's wrong? Airodump-ng or CoWPAtty 4.6????

  7. #7
    Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Posts
    63

    Default Re: RTL8187L cant capture WPA Handshake without DEAUTH! ?

    Quote Originally Posted by DaKahuna View Post
    Which version of BT5 are you running? I was using my alfa on my BT5 KDE 64-bit install just today to capture multiple handshakes using just a default install. It might help to provide the output of airmon-ng.
    I also just tested this on a fresh install of BT5-R1 Gnome 64-bit and my ALFA captured a regular (not deauthenicated) WPA handshake just fine.

    I didn't test it in cowpatty so I can't give any input towards that.

Similar Threads

  1. Problems getting a handshake from a Deauth
    By spychicken in forum Beginners Forum
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 04-12-2011, 02:54 PM
  2. Cannot capture handshake from deauth of windows 7 machine
    By LMNOParis in forum Beginners Forum
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 04-02-2010, 10:38 PM
  3. I Cannot Capture the Four-way Handshake !
    By l4m3r in forum OLD Newbie Area
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 03-14-2008, 12:21 PM
  4. Cant Deauth WPA STA for Handshake
    By additude in forum OLD BT3beta General
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 12-22-2007, 02:35 AM
  5. capture WPA Handshake
    By gudmund in forum OLD Newbie Area
    Replies: 31
    Last Post: 08-14-2007, 09:07 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •