Results 1 to 3 of 3

Thread: Metasploit runtime error on BT5.RC1

  1. #1
    Member melissabubble's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2011
    Location
    c:\
    Posts
    85

    Default Metasploit runtime error on BT5.RC1

    Hi guys, i'm trying to run a port scan using my wifi connection (wlan0)in Metasploit 4.0 and i'm getting a runtime error eth0. No IPv4 address assigned. i dont know why when i'm connected to the internet. Is there a config file im suppose to change somewhere? Here's a copy of what i did. hopefully one of you guy's could point me in the right direction.






    IIIIII dTb.dTb _.---._
    II 4' v 'B .'"".'/|`.""'.
    II 6. .P : .' / | `. :
    II 'T;. .;P' '.' / | `.'
    II 'T; ;P' `. / | .'
    IIIIII 'YvP' `-.__|__.-'

    I love shells --egypt


    =[ metasploit v4.0.1-dev [core:4.0 api:1.0]
    + -- --=[ 728 exploits - 372 auxiliary - 80 post
    + -- --=[ 227 payloads - 27 encoders - 8 nops
    =[ svn r13646 updated today (2011.08.27)

    msf > search portscan

    Matching Modules
    ================

    Name Disclosure Date Rank Description
    ---- --------------- ---- -----------
    auxiliary/scanner/portscan/ack normal TCP ACK Firewall Scanner
    auxiliary/scanner/portscan/ftpbounce normal FTP Bounce Port Scanner
    auxiliary/scanner/portscan/syn normal TCP SYN Port Scanner
    auxiliary/scanner/portscan/tcp normal TCP Port Scanner
    auxiliary/scanner/portscan/xmas normal TCP "XMas" Port Scanner


    msf > use auxiliary/scanner/portscan/ack
    msf auxiliary(ack) > set rhosts 192.168.1.1-255
    rhosts => 192.168.1.1-255
    msf auxiliary(ack) > set threads 50
    threads => 50
    msf auxiliary(ack) > run

    [-] Auxiliary failed: RuntimeError eth0: no IPv4 address assigned
    [-] Call stack:
    [-] /opt/framework/msf3/lib/msf/core/exploit/capture.rb:108:in `setfilter'
    [-] /opt/framework/msf3/lib/msf/core/exploit/capture.rb:108:in `open_pcap'
    [-] (eval):48:in `run_batch'
    [-] /opt/framework/msf3/lib/msf/core/auxiliary/scanner.rb:162:in `block in run'
    [-] /opt/framework/msf3/lib/msf/core/thread_manager.rb:64:in `call'
    [-] /opt/framework/msf3/lib/msf/core/thread_manager.rb:64:in `block in spawn'[*] Auxiliary module execution completed
    msf auxiliary(ack) >

  2. #2
    Administrator sickness's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Behind the screen.
    Posts
    2,921

    Default Re: Metasploit runtime error on BT5.RC1

    Here's a suggestion, next time try to see what parameters each module requires.

    Code:
    msf > use auxiliary/scanner/portscan/ack 
    msf  auxiliary(ack) > show options
    
    Module options (auxiliary/scanner/portscan/ack):
    
       Name       Current Setting  Required  Description
       ----       ---------------  --------  -----------
       BATCHSIZE  256              yes       The number of hosts to scan per set
       INTERFACE                   no        The name of the interface
       PORTS      1-10000          yes       Ports to scan (e.g. 22-25,80,110-900)
       RHOSTS                      yes       The target address range or CIDR identifier
       SNAPLEN    65535            yes       The number of bytes to capture
       THREADS    1                yes       The number of concurrent threads
       TIMEOUT    500              yes       The reply read timeout in milliseconds
    
    msf  auxiliary(ack) > set INTERFACE wlan0
    INTERFACE => wlan0
    msf  auxiliary(ack) > show options
    
    Module options (auxiliary/scanner/portscan/ack):
    
       Name       Current Setting  Required  Description
       ----       ---------------  --------  -----------
       BATCHSIZE  256              yes       The number of hosts to scan per set
       INTERFACE  wlan0            no        The name of the interface
       PORTS      1-10000          yes       Ports to scan (e.g. 22-25,80,110-900)
       RHOSTS                      yes       The target address range or CIDR identifier
       SNAPLEN    65535            yes       The number of bytes to capture
       THREADS    1                yes       The number of concurrent threads
       TIMEOUT    500              yes       The reply read timeout in milliseconds
    
    msf  auxiliary(ack) >
    Back|track giving machine guns to monkeys since 2007 !

    Do not read the Wiki, most your questions will not be answered there !
    Do not take a look at the: Forum Rules !

  3. #3
    Member melissabubble's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2011
    Location
    c:\
    Posts
    85

    Default Re: Metasploit runtime error on BT5.RC1

    lol, i must have been looking at this screen to long. i figure it out lastnight. i don't know how i kept missing it when i first looked at it.

Similar Threads

  1. Cannot find Firefox runtime directory.?
    By ratboot in forum BackTrack 5 General Topics
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 09-30-2011, 07:52 PM
  2. Extract data from FileMaker Pro 11 Runtime db files
    By skor78 in forum Beginners Forum
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 12-09-2010, 02:28 PM
  3. metasploit error
    By lizdainis in forum Beginners Forum
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 09-19-2010, 03:10 PM
  4. Firefox missing plugin - java runtime environment
    By halfdone in forum Beginners Forum
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 02-01-2010, 05:40 PM
  5. metasploit -msfupdate error - svn : PROFIND request error
    By aisketui in forum OLD BT3beta Software related issues
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 02-11-2009, 03:23 AM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •