Results 1 to 5 of 5

Thread: Installing Vmware Tools in VMware Fusion 1.3.2 - Problems with networking afterwards

Hybrid View

  1. #1
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Location
    Belgium - Oppuurs
    Posts
    10

    Default Installing Vmware Tools in VMware Fusion 1.3.2 - Problems with networking afterwards

    Hello


    I have some problems with installing VMware Tools with backtrack 5.

    I am not really in the Linux command's but I found some things and got some help of one of my friends.

    The code I used:


    prepare-kernel-sources
    cd /usr/src/linux
    cp –rf include/generated/* include/linux/

    apt-get install linux-headers-‘uname –r’
    mount /dev/sr0 /media/cdrom
    cd /tmp
    tar zxpf /media/cdrom/VMwareTools-*.tar.gz
    cd vmware-tools-distrib
    ./vmware-install.pl

    Enter, Enter, Enter, ….



    When prompted:

    What is the location of the directory of C header files that match your running kernel?

    Type:

    /usr/src/linux-headers-2.6.38/include



    That works well

    Vmware tools is Installed, but now I can't start networking with my Alfa Awus 036H.

    It give's error 132 --> Don't know what that means but, it don't work.


    Any ideas?


    Thanx in Advance



    PS: The network card is an Alfa Awus 036H - Backtrack 5 KDE 32bit - VmWare fusion 3.1.2 - Macbook Pro 15" (medio 2010)

    Sorry for the English can't write it that good

  2. #2
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Posts
    22

    Default Re: Installing Vmware Tools in VMware Fusion 1.3.2 - Problems with networking afterwa

    on my thinkpad, need to switch on the wifi card.

    If hardware switched off:
    root@bt:~# ifconfig wlan0 up
    SIOCSIFFLAGS: Unknown error 132
    root@bt:~#

  3. #3
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Location
    Belgium - Oppuurs
    Posts
    10

    Default

    Don't need to worry about the error 132 than?

    The interface is up but still got the error message.

    I thing it has to do something with the VMware Tools installation.

    I made a snapshot before the installation, and there is no problem with the commands. (the commands that generate the error)
    Last edited by bolexxx; 05-18-2011 at 02:47 PM.

  4. #4
    Moderator
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Posts
    1,644

    Default Re: Installing Vmware Tools in VMware Fusion 1.3.2 - Problems with networking afterwa

    search the forum for the error, it has been discussed many times

  5. #5
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Posts
    2

    Default Re: Installing Vmware Tools in VMware Fusion 1.3.2 - Problems with networking afterwa

    You may need to check your configuration for your network adapter, specifically the Ipv4 configurations, as well as any additional components the VM has created inside the properties box. It can often cause problems with your connection later.

Similar Threads

  1. Vmware Fusion 3.1.2 patch for VMware Tools required for use with BT5 VM
    By socialcred in forum BackTrack 5 Beginners Section
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 06-16-2011, 12:47 PM
  2. Replies: 2
    Last Post: 07-19-2010, 11:54 AM
  3. installing vmware-tools in vmware-fusion running bt4-prefinal
    By littlegreendragon in forum OLD BackTrack 4 Howto
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 06-30-2009, 05:50 PM
  4. [Problem] VMware tools install Guest OS on Vmware Fusion
    By Tharp94895 in forum OLD Newbie Area
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 06-23-2009, 02:24 PM
  5. Replies: 4
    Last Post: 09-13-2007, 08:33 AM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •