Results 1 to 2 of 2

Thread: Installing BT5 ARM on Samsung Galaxy S (Captivate)

  1. #1
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Posts
    6

    Lightbulb Installing BT5 ARM on Samsung Galaxy S (Captivate)

    Hi everyone.

    First of all, congratulations to BT team, amzing distro.

    This How-to is for install BT5 ARM in your Samsung Galaxy S(SGS - Captivate), but could be work in many other devices.

    Prerequisites for your SGS

    1. A new microSD, 8 GB or more. We need to format it.
    2. Root, I recommend z4root only for samsung galaxy s
    3. Busybox, (if you install titanium backup you get busybox)
    4. Terminal Emulator for your Android(I recommend ConnectBot)
    5. VNC client


    Installing

    1. First we need to get device file used to mount the microSD.
    Insert your microSD in your SGS, and using ConnectBot, connect to your SGS.
    The Android system automatically mount the microSD
    Now we need to check what file device is used.
    Code:
    su 
    mount
    Search what device file is used to mount the microSD card, this could be variable from your ROM. I am using Cognition 3.03

    With my SGS I got:
    Code:
    /dev/block/vold/179:9

    Using your PC
    Now use a PC with Linux
    2. Insert your microSD into PC with Linux
    I am using a usb-microSD adapter so my microSD device is /dev/sdb1

    3. Format microSD with ext2 filesystem
    Format your microSD with ext2 filesystem

    Code:
    mkfs.ext2 /dev/sdb1

    4. Mount microSD
    Code:
    mkdir /mnt/sdb1
    mount -t ext2 /dev/sdb1 /mnt/sdb1
    5. Create BT5 directory and uncompres 7z

    Code:
    mkdir /mnt/sdb1/BT5
    cp bt5-arm.7z /mnt/sdb1/BT5
    cd /mnt/sdb1/BT5
    7z e bt5-arm.7z
    6. Uncompress IMG
    Code:
    gunzip bt5.img.gz
    7. Modify bootbt
    Now we need to modify bootbt file
    Modify line 6 to: export kit=/data/local/sdcard/BT5

    If you get a message about some loop device you need to modified line 18: busybox mount -o loop,noatime -t ext2 $kit/bt5.img $mnt


    Code:
    perm=$(id|cut -b 5)
    
    if [ "$perm" != "0" ];then echo "This Script Needs Root! Type : su";exit;fi
    
    mount -o remount,rw /dev/block/mmcblk0p5 /system
    export kit=/data/local/sdcard/BT5
    export bin=/system/bin
    export mnt=/data/local/mnt
    mkdir -p $mnt
    export PATH=$bin:/usr/bin:/usr/local/bin:/usr/sbin:/bin:/usr/local/sbin:/usr/games:$PATH
    export TERM=linux
    export HOME=/root
    if [ -b /dev/loop2 ]; then
            echo "Loop device exists"
    else
            busybox mknod /dev/loop2 b 7 0
    fi
    #busybox mount -o loop,noatime -t ext2 $kit/bt5.img $mnt
    mount -o loop,noatime -t ext2 $kit/bt5.img $mnt
    mount -t devpts devpts $mnt/dev/pts
    mount -t proc proc $mnt/proc
    mount -t sysfs sysfs $mnt/sys
    busybox sysctl -w net.ipv4.ip_forward=1
    echo "nameserver 8.8.8.8" > $mnt/etc/resolv.conf
    echo "127.0.0.1 localhost bt5" > $mnt/etc/hosts
    busybox chroot $mnt /bin/bash
    
    echo "Shutting down BackTrack ARM For Xoom"
    umount $mnt/dev/pts
    umount $mnt/proc
    umount $mnt/sys
    umount $mnt

    Using your Samsung Galaxy S (Captivate)

    8. Insert your microSD into SGS
    Because the microSD is with ext2, SGS does not detect correctly the microSD


    9. Mount your microSD in /data/local/sdcard (mkdir the directory)
    Now we need to mount our microSD using the step 1

    Code:
    mkdir /data/local/sdcard
    mount -t ext2 /dev/block/vold/179:9 /data/local/sdcard


    10. Change to the microSD directory

    Code:
    cd /data/local/sdcard/BT5

    11. Boot BackTrack

    Code:
    sh bootbt
    If you get something like:
    Code:
    root@localhost / #
    you have your BackTrack working. Congratulations

    Now the GUI
    12. Modify startvnc geometry to 800x480, because this is the resolution of SGS
    Once you modify /usr/bin/startvnc , tha content is the next
    Code:
    #!/bin/bash
    rm -rf /tmp/.X1*
    vncserver -geometry 800x480
    13. Get enviroment variables
    Now you can execute startvnc, but I got some errors, I recommend:
    Code:
    su -
    14. Execute startvnc

    Code:
    export USER=root
    vncpasswd
    
    startvnc
    If you could not do step 12, do next:
    Code:
    tightvncserver -geometry 800x480
    15. Use androidvnc to connect to localhost
    Now use androidVNC to connect to our SGS

    Code:
    Nickname: BT5 ARM
    Password: ******* (whatever you chose)
    Address: localhost
    Port: 5901
    Colof-Format: 24-bit (Recommended)
    16. Remove trayicons from top panel: messaging and shutdown
    When I try to use the keyboard with into VNC connection, I could not use some letters, like minus s o minus m. Use your mouse pointer to remove applets from to panel.


    17. Enjoy your BT5


    Any comment is welcome

    aldorm

  2. #2
    Developer muts's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Posts
    272

    Default Re: Installing BT5 ARM on Samsung Galaxy S (Captivate)

    Excellent writeup! Thanks for getting BT5 on more and more devices!

    Just a quick reminder...once you are in chroot, the commands:

    startvnc

    and

    stopvnc

    will get vnc running automatically (you might want to change the resolution on startvnc).

    Also, PocketCloud VNC client (free) is faster and clearer than androidvnc.

Similar Threads

  1. Samsung NC10
    By chuchi2k2 in forum OLD BT4beta Working Hardware
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 03-22-2009, 02:43 AM
  2. Ban me now, captivate!!!
    By bustyNeutttut in forum OLD BT3beta General
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 04-20-2008, 09:49 AM
  3. Samsung Q1
    By ironclaw in forum OLD Newbie Area
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 02-26-2008, 07:32 PM
  4. Samsung X20 XVM 1600
    By dopefish1337 in forum OLD BT3beta WORKING HARDWARE
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 12-25-2007, 08:26 PM

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •