Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 13

Thread: Pcaprub module problem

Hybrid View

  1. #1
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Posts
    3

    Default Pcaprub module problem

    Hi, have a little problem with the pcaprub module of the metasploid framework. When a try to run any of the auxiliary programs that use pcaprub module fail and get the following error message.





    msf auxiliary(ipidseq) > run
    [*] The Pcaprub module is not available: no such file to load -- pcaprub
    [-] Auxiliary failed: RuntimeError Pcaprub not available
    [-] Call stack:
    [-] /opt/framework3/msf3/lib/msf/core/exploit/capture.rb:378:in `check_pcaprub_loaded'
    [-] /opt/framework3/msf3/lib/msf/core/exploit/capture.rb:75:in `open_pcap'
    [-] (eval):68:in `run_host'
    [-] /opt/framework3/msf3/lib/msf/core/auxiliary/scanner.rb:92:in `block in run'
    [-] /opt/framework3/msf3/lib/msf/core/thread_manager.rb:64:in `call'
    [-] /opt/framework3/msf3/lib/msf/core/thread_manager.rb:64:in `block in spawn'[*] Auxiliary module execution completed



    i hope somebody can help me. Thanks

  2. #2
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Posts
    6

    Default Re: Pcaprub module problem

    i was having probleme updating MSF
    found this on a blog
    cd /pentest/exploits/framework3/external/pcaprub/
    then ruby extconf.rb
    make && make install

    this solve my proble hope this help you

    edit : i found it in this blog : linux-backtrack.com/2011/05/metasploit-pcaprub-fix-in-bt5/
    Last edited by YaKhOo; 05-15-2011 at 01:11 PM.

  3. #3
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Posts
    7

    Default Re: Pcaprub module problem


  4. #4
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Posts
    3

    Default Respuesta: Pcaprub module problem

    Hi everybody,

    I actually try that a million times with no result... so anybody with another idea, i try bt4 with and old version of metasploid in which it works perfectly... Thanks for your help

  5. #5
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Posts
    3

    Default Re: Pcaprub module problem

    Hi, Thanks for your answer but i al ready have try that solution with no results, i already test the module pcaprub with the test_pcaprub.rb file successfully but again when i try to run the auxiliary i get the same error, Any ideas? maybe something with the system permission or with the sockets...

  6. #6
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Posts
    7

    Default Re: Pcaprub module problem

    Yes, i vave the same issue. I tired the auxiliary(synflood) and here is the result:

    msf auxiliary(synflood) > run[*] The Pcaprub module is not available: no such file to load -- pcaprub
    [-] Auxiliary failed: RuntimeError Pcaprub not available
    [-] Call stack:
    [-] /opt/framework3/msf3/lib/msf/core/exploit/capture.rb:378:in `check_pcaprub_loaded'
    [-] /opt/framework3/msf3/lib/msf/core/exploit/capture.rb:75:in `open_pcap'
    [-] (eval):52:in `run'[*] Auxiliary module execution completed

    I tried the above fix but it doens't seem to work.

  7. #7
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Posts
    2

    Unhappy Re: Pcaprub module problem

    Same here, tried the "fix" but it didn't work. I went back to my BT4 r2 image thinking the problem was BT5. It worked for a little bit until I updated MSF. Then the same problem... could it be a bug introduced in MSF?

  8. #8
    Good friend of the forums scottm99's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    underwater
    Posts
    371

    Default

    I think so, might want to report this on the MSF framework mailing list. At least one of the BackTrack guys (purehate, I think) watches the MSF mailing list.

    To muddy the waters on this a little further I just tested and am able to use pcaprub-required modules (e.g. auxiliary/scanner/discovery/arp_sweep) outside of the gui (i.e. when booting BT5 & getting to a command prompt before running startx). So, the pcaprub fix mentioned by AstroByte, and me here does seem to work. This feels like a bug (maybe path problem) in either BT5 or in MSF; I can't tell yet.
    Last edited by bolexxx; 05-21-2011 at 08:36 PM.

  9. #9
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Posts
    11

    Default Re: Pcaprub module problem

    Same problem here with running psnuffles. Cannot find any resolution for this problem. Those solutions mentioned earlier does not work.

    Edit:

    I have seen that somebody tried to post it as a bug on Metasploit issue tracker, however that post has "rejected" status and the following explation:
    "You must run msfconsole with the same ruby you used to rub the test_pcaprub. Its likely you are using the bundled Ruby which will not see the installed pcaprub module."
    Anybody can explain what to do next?
    Last edited by sickness; 05-26-2011 at 10:17 AM. Reason: Merged posts.

  10. #10
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Posts
    1

    Default AW: Pcaprub module problem

    Starting msfconsole like this solved it for me:

    Code:
    # ruby /pentest/exploits/framework3/msfconsole
                                      _       _
                 _                   | |     (_)_
     ____   ____| |_  ____  ___ ____ | | ___  _| |_
    |    \ / _  )  _)/ _  |/___)  _ \| |/ _ \| |  _)
    | | | ( (/ /| |_( ( | |___ | | | | | |_| | | |__
    |_|_|_|\____)\___)_||_(___/| ||_/|_|\___/|_|\___)
                               |_|
    
    
           =[ metasploit v3.8.0-dev [core:3.8 api:1.0]
    + -- --=[ 691 exploits - 358 auxiliary - 39 post
    + -- --=[ 222 payloads - 27 encoders - 8 nops
           =[ svn r12729 updated today (2011.05.26)
    
    msf > use scanner/ip/ipidseq
    msf auxiliary(ipidseq) > set RHOSTS 127.0.0.1
    RHOSTS => 127.0.0.1
    msf auxiliary(ipidseq) > run
    [*] 127.0.0.1's IPID sequence class: Incremental!
    [*] Scanned 1 of 1 hosts (100% complete)
    [*] Auxiliary module execution completed
    msf auxiliary(ipidseq) >

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. Metasploit pcaprub fix in BT5
    By scottm99 in forum BackTrack 5 Beginners Section
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 07-18-2011, 05:29 PM
  2. Problem with tg3 module
    By ilhan in forum Beginners Forum
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 01-28-2011, 10:00 AM
  3. Replies: 1
    Last Post: 04-18-2010, 06:37 PM
  4. Problem Inserting module
    By n00b_h4xx0r in forum OLD BT3beta General
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 03-04-2008, 02:05 AM
  5. Perl Module problem
    By amuehlem in forum OLD Newbie Area
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 01-05-2008, 11:45 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •