Results 1 to 10 of 10

Thread: StartX issue!! No screen found

  1. #1
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Posts
    6

    Default StartX issue!! No screen found

    Hey BT users!! I am facing an issue with backtrack5 32 bit , i have no issues using the LiveCd as the startx command works perfectly.

    But when installing the copy in dual boot with win7, evethg goes smoothly but i cannot launch startx

    It returns errors saying screens found but no useable configuration

    I will include a copy of the xorg.conf.new and Xorg.0.log.

    I have the nvidia card 6150

    Thanks for the help guys

    xorg.conf.new --->

    Section "ServerLayout"
    Identifier "X.org Configured"
    Screen 0 "Screen0" 0 0
    InputDevice "Mouse0" "CorePointer"
    InputDevice "Keyboard0" "CoreKeyboard"
    EndSection

    Section "Files"
    ModulePath "/usr/lib/xorg/modules"
    FontPath "/usr/share/fonts/X11/misc"
    FontPath "/usr/share/fonts/X11/cyrillic"
    FontPath "/usr/share/fonts/X11/100dpi/:unscaled"
    FontPath "/usr/share/fonts/X11/75dpi/:unscaled"
    FontPath "/usr/share/fonts/X11/Type1"
    FontPath "/usr/share/fonts/X11/100dpi"
    FontPath "/usr/share/fonts/X11/75dpi"
    FontPath "/var/lib/defoma/x-ttcidfont-conf.d/dirs/TrueType"
    FontPath "built-ins"
    EndSection

    Section "Module"
    Load "dri2"
    Load "extmod"
    Load "dri"
    Load "record"
    Load "glx"
    Load "dbe"
    EndSection

    Section "InputDevice"
    Identifier "Keyboard0"
    Driver "kbd"
    EndSection

    Section "InputDevice"
    Identifier "Mouse0"
    Driver "mouse"
    Option "Protocol" "auto"
    Option "Device" "/dev/input/mice"
    Option "ZAxisMapping" "4 5 6 7"
    EndSection

    Section "Monitor"
    Identifier "Monitor0"
    VendorName "Monitor Vendor"
    ModelName "Monitor Model"
    EndSection

    Section "Device"
    ### Available Driver options are:-
    ### Values: <i>: integer, <f>: float, <bool>: "True"/"False",
    ### <string>: "String", <freq>: "<f> Hz/kHz/MHz"
    ### [arg]: arg optional
    #Option "SWcursor" # [<bool>]
    #Option "HWcursor" # [<bool>]
    #Option "NoAccel" # [<bool>]
    #Option "ShadowFB" # [<bool>]
    #Option "VideoKey" # <i>
    #Option "EXAPixmaps" # [<bool>]
    Identifier "Card0"
    Driver "nouveau"
    VendorName "nVidia Corporation"
    BoardName "C61 [GeForce 6150SE nForce 430]"
    BusID "PCI:0:13:0"
    EndSection

    Section "Screen"
    Identifier "Screen0"
    Device "Card0"
    Monitor "Monitor0"
    SubSection "Display"
    Viewport 0 0
    Depth 1
    EndSubSection
    SubSection "Display"
    Viewport 0 0
    Depth 4
    EndSubSection
    SubSection "Display"
    Viewport 0 0
    Depth 8
    EndSubSection
    SubSection "Display"
    Viewport 0 0
    Depth 15
    EndSubSection
    SubSection "Display"
    Viewport 0 0
    Depth 16
    EndSubSection
    SubSection "Display"
    Viewport 0 0
    Depth 24
    EndSubSection
    EndSection

  2. #2
    r083rt
    Guest

    Default Re: StartX issue!! No screen found

    Code:
    rm /root/.kde/cache-root/icon-cache.kcache
    rm /root/.kde/cache-root/plasma_theme_Volatile.kcache
    rm /root/.kde/cache-bt/icon-cache.kcache
    rm /root/.kde/cache-bt/plasma_theme_Volatile.kcache
    if you can get login do the following
    Code:
    apt-get update && apt-get dist-upgrade
    prepare-kernel-sources
    cd /usr/src/linux
    cp -rf include/generated/* include/linux/
    download the driver
    http://us.download.nvidia.com/XFree8...-270.41.06.run nvidia 6150

    Code:
    chmod +x NVIDIA-Linux-x86-270.41.06.run
    log out

    now install the driver
    Code:
    sh NVIDIA-Linux-x86-270.41.06.run

    r083rt

  3. #3
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Posts
    6

    Default Re: StartX issue!! No screen found

    @r083rt

    Thank you for the fast reply!

    my concern for this part

    apt-get update && apt-get dist-upgrade
    prepare-kernel-sources
    cd /usr/src/linux
    cp -rf include/generated/* include/linux/

    i cannot get networking to start
    my card is detected i see eth0 and wlan0
    so i did try to manually configure the wireless with iwconfig

    start networking
    iwconfig wlan0 mode managed
    iwconfig wlan0 essid VALUE key "key"

    cannot get that to go giving me an error with encoding

    but i did have the nvidia driver loaded on windows and i am able to retrieve when mounting the partition

    The problem with that is it asks me for a kernel compiler and it cannot find one so the application exits....

    Dunno what to try @ this point

  4. #4
    r083rt
    Guest

    Default Re: StartX issue!! No screen found

    so you have a dual boot ??? right
    so forget about windows then and the driver bt5 is installed separately its just using a partion
    when you boot up bt5 the network should be up and running if not do
    Code:
    /etc/init.d/wicd start
    next use wicd to try and connect using your lan (eth0)

    ping a server to see if you got connection

    Code:
    ping -c 5 www.google.com
    if you have connection do as I posted in the last post update and prepare the kernel before you install the nvidia driver

    report back

    r083rt
    Last edited by r083rt; 05-13-2011 at 09:14 PM.

  5. #5
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Posts
    6

    Default Re: StartX issue!! No screen found

    @r083rt

    Thank you very much , i am now in BT5, no issues with GUI.

    Cheers!

  6. #6
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Posts
    6

    Default Re: StartX issue!! Nzo screen found

    @r083rt

    Lool yeah i'll give you that for sure !! Mind tipping me off as to what exactly meant that piece of code?

    apt-get update && apt-get dist-upgrade
    prepare-kernel-sources
    cd /usr/src/linux
    cp -rf include/generated/* include/linux/

    im new to linux and im looking to learn the OS

    Thanks!

  7. #7
    r083rt
    Guest

    Default Re: StartX issue!! No screen found

    *apt-get update && apt-get dist-upgrade*
    updates files from the repository example *windows updates* what ever is in the repositories example there's an update for windows you click update and your directed on to microsoftserver where you get the update they have loaded on the server

    *prepare-kernel-source*
    basically prepares the kernel for source tree update

    *cd /usr/src/linux*
    changes directory form where you are in to the directory you have pointed towards example 'cd Desktop' you are now in the desktop directory if you do an 'ls' this will give you a list of files in the current desktop directory

    *cp -rf include/generated/* include/linux/*
    cp (copy) -rf (remove force will override any requests to keep files and install kernel source files from tree in directory's listed


    there just commands all rolled into one its not as script technical its not really code

    I have a huge collection of training tutorials on bash,python,perl,java and all other aspects of penetration testing I will upload them for every one that wants to learn
    these videos are from professional training tutors there not you tube videos
    Last edited by r083rt; 05-14-2011 at 01:39 AM.

  8. #8
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Posts
    36

    Default Re: StartX issue!! No screen found

    Wouldn't mind some of those videos .. the programing text stuff just never sinks in / doesn't keep my attention long enough.

  9. #9
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Posts
    6

    Default Re: StartX issue!! No screen found

    Thank you for the explanations!

    I am very interested in these tutorials as i just started the CEH certification and i was told i needed to master linux in order to be successful.

    I already tried some bash and python, but i still dont see the utility of these powerful tools.

    LEt me know how we can set this up for the tutorials

    Thanks again!

  10. #10
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Posts
    1

    Default Re: StartX issue!! No screen found

    Hello,

    Thkss r083rt for your help, I'm using gnome 32, so i need to type :

    rm /root/.gnome/cache-root/icon-cache.kcache
    rm /root/.gnome/cache-root/plasma_theme_Volatile.kcache
    rm /root/.gnome/cache-bt/icon-cache.kcache
    rm /root/.gnome/cache-bt/plasma_theme_Volatile.kcache

    ???


    I tried both and got "No such file or directory".

    A litle help will be enjoyable.

    Thkss

Similar Threads

  1. HP DV7 - ATI HD 5650 startx issue (Black screen)
    By mbooma in forum BackTrack 5 Bugs
    Replies: 18
    Last Post: 12-22-2011, 10:32 AM
  2. startx no screens found
    By creepinshadow in forum OLD Newbie Area
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 11-13-2009, 12:30 AM
  3. Replies: 2
    Last Post: 07-14-2009, 06:54 AM
  4. startx GLIBC_2.4 not found
    By imported_neophyte in forum OLD Newbie Area
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 07-12-2007, 06:14 AM
  5. Startx Command Not Found!?
    By Blast_WA in forum OLD Newbie Area
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 04-08-2007, 06:48 AM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •