Results 1 to 8 of 8

Thread: Hide Grub2 Menu

  1. #1
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Posts
    34

    Default Hide Grub2 Menu

    Hi to all. I have a question: how to hide the Grub2 Menu? Tnx for replies.
    Last edited by syntesys; 05-20-2011 at 02:44 PM.

  2. #2
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    7

    Default Re: Hide Grub2 Menu

    Go into your grub menu file, and choose timeout 0 instead of timeout 10. This will load the default OS on the list for grub.

  3. #3
    Good friend of the forums comaX's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    Paris, France
    Posts
    338

    Default Re: Hide Grub2 Menu

    Running both KDE and GNOME BT5 flawlessly. Thank you !

  4. #4
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Posts
    34

    Default Riferimento: Hide Grub2 Menu

    tnx lukasoft, i've tried this solution but when i press shift, i dont' see the grub...
    tnx comaX, but i have tried most of the solutions i've foud in google...

  5. #5
    Good friend of the forums comaX's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    Paris, France
    Posts
    338

    Default Re: Riferimento: Hide Grub2 Menu

    Quote Originally Posted by syntesys View Post
    tnx lukasoft, i've tried this solution but when i press shift, i dont' see the grub...
    tnx comaX, but i have tried most of the solutions i've foud in google...
    That was not very kind of me, but you should say in your first post what you have tried or not (even if mentioning google seems obvious).

    So here's a real answer, or more like my two cents :
    Try and edit /boot/grub/grub.cfg, see if there is something like hiding the menu. Don't mess it too much though...

    Also, have you try reading grub2's manual ? Ubuntu forums ?
    Running both KDE and GNOME BT5 flawlessly. Thank you !

  6. #6
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Posts
    34

    Default Riferimento: Re: Riferimento: Hide Grub2 Menu

    @comaX:no problem!
    I've installed also grub-customizer...The voice "Show menù" isn't selected...but the menu is not hidden!
    Maybe the problem is in the file os_prober?
    This is my file /etc/default/grub:
    # If you change this file, run 'update-grub' afterwards to update
    # /boot/grub/grub.cfg.

    GRUB_DEFAULT="0"
    GRUB_HIDDEN_TIMEOUT="3"
    GRUB_HIDDEN_TIMEOUT_QUIET="true"
    GRUB_TIMEOUT="10"
    GRUB_DISTRIBUTOR="`echo Backtrack 5`"
    #GRUB_DISTRIBUTOR="`lsb_release -i -s 2> /dev/null || echo Debian`"
    GRUB_CMDLINE_LINUX_DEFAULT="quiet splash nomodeset vga=791"
    GRUB_CMDLINE_LINUX=""

    # Uncomment to disable graphical terminal (grub-pc only)
    #GRUB_TERMINAL="console"

    # The resolution used on graphical terminal
    # note that you can use only modes which your graphic card supports via VBE
    # you can see them in real GRUB with the command `vbeinfo'
    GRUB_GFXMODE="1024x768x24"

    # Uncomment if you don't want GRUB to pass "root=UUID=xxx" parameter to Linux
    #GRUB_DISABLE_LINUX_UUID="true"

    # Uncomment to disable generation of recovery mode menu entries
    #GRUB_DISABLE_LINUX_RECOVERY="true"

    # Uncomment to get a beep at grub start
    #GRUB_INIT_TUNE="480 440 1"

    #GRUB_DISABLE_OS_PROBER="false"
    GRUB_SAVEDEFAULT="false"

    export GRUB_MENU_PICTURE="/boot/grub/image.jpg"
    export GRUB_COLOR_NORMAL="light-gray/black"
    export GRUB_COLOR_HIGHLIGHT="red/black"

    EDIT: I've found this:
    Note to multiple-OS users: If GRUB 2's os-prober identifies additional operating systems while running the /etc/grub.d/30_os-prober script the hidden menu timeout feature is disabled by conditional statements. This also disables the ability to use the SHIFT key to display the menu during boot. Users with multiple operating systems wishing to hide the menu can find script edits on various forums which will allow them to add a hidden timeout feature to the boot sequence (for example: ubuntuforums).
    Last edited by syntesys; 05-26-2011 at 10:56 AM.

  7. #7
    Good friend of the forums comaX's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    Paris, France
    Posts
    338

    Default Re: Riferimento: Re: Riferimento: Hide Grub2 Menu

    Quote Originally Posted by syntesys View Post
    EDIT: I've found this:
    Note to multiple-OS users: If GRUB 2's os-prober identifies additional operating systems while running the /etc/grub.d/30_os-prober script the hidden menu timeout feature is disabled by conditional statements. This also disables the ability to use the SHIFT key to display the menu during boot. Users with multiple operating systems wishing to hide the menu can find script edits on various forums which will allow them to add a hidden timeout feature to the boot sequence (for example: ubuntuforums).
    Well then... I guess you just have to search for such a script Please report back once you're successful, in case other people are wondering
    Running both KDE and GNOME BT5 flawlessly. Thank you !

  8. #8
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Posts
    34

    Default Riferimento: Hide Grub2 Menu

    I've solved! I've commented the row 28 and the row 62 of the file /etc/grub.d/30_os_prober. This is my file:
    #! /bin/sh -e

    # grub-mkconfig helper script.
    # Copyright (C) 2006,2007,2008,2009 Free Software Foundation, Inc.
    #
    # GRUB is free software: you can redistribute it and/or modify
    # it under the terms of the GNU General Public License as published by
    # the Free Software Foundation, either version 3 of the License, or
    # (at your option) any later version.
    #
    # GRUB is distributed in the hope that it will be useful,
    # but WITHOUT ANY WARRANTY; without even the implied warranty of
    # MERCHANTABILITY or FITNESS FOR A PARTICULAR PURPOSE. See the
    # GNU General Public License for more details.
    #
    # You should have received a copy of the GNU General Public License
    # along with GRUB. If not, see <http://www.gnu.org/licenses/>.

    prefix=/usr
    exec_prefix=${prefix}
    libdir=${exec_prefix}/lib

    . ${libdir}/grub/grub-mkconfig_lib

    found_other_os=

    adjust_timeout () {
    # if [ "x${found_other_os}" = "x" ] ; then
    if [ "x${GRUB_HIDDEN_TIMEOUT}" != "x" ] ; then
    if [ "x${GRUB_HIDDEN_TIMEOUT_QUIET}" = "xtrue" ] ; then
    verbose=
    else
    verbose=" --verbose"
    fi

    if [ "x${GRUB_HIDDEN_TIMEOUT}" = "x0" ] ; then
    cat <<EOF
    if [ \${timeout} != -1 ]; then
    if keystatus; then
    if keystatus --shift; then
    set timeout=-1
    else
    set timeout=0
    fi
    else
    if sleep$verbose --interruptible 3 ; then
    set timeout=0
    fi
    fi
    fi
    EOF
    else
    cat << EOF
    if [ \${timeout} != -1 ]; then
    if sleep$verbose --interruptible ${GRUB_HIDDEN_TIMEOUT} ; then
    set timeout=0
    fi
    fi
    EOF
    fi
    fi
    #fi
    }

    if [ "x${GRUB_DISABLE_OS_PROBER}" = "xtrue" ]; then
    adjust_timeout
    exit 0
    fi

    if [ -z "`which os-prober 2> /dev/null`" -o -z "`which linux-boot-prober 2> /dev/null`" ] ; then
    # missing os-prober and/or linux-boot-prober
    adjust_timeout
    exit 0
    fi

    OSPROBED="`os-prober | tr ' ' '^' | paste -s -d ' '`"
    if [ -z "${OSPROBED}" ] ; then
    # empty os-prober output, nothing doing
    adjust_timeout
    exit 0
    fi

    osx_entry() {
    cat << EOF
    menuentry "${LONGNAME} (${2}-bit) (on ${DEVICE})" {
    EOF
    save_default_entry | sed -e "s/^/\t/"
    prepare_grub_to_access_device ${DEVICE} | sed -e "s/^/\t/"
    cat << EOF
    insmod ${GRUB_VIDEO_BACKEND}
    set do_resume=0
    if [ /var/vm/sleepimage -nt10 / ]; then
    if xnu_resume /var/vm/sleepimage; then
    set do_resume=1
    fi
    fi
    if [ \$do_resume == 0 ]; then
    xnu_uuid ${OSXUUID} uuid
    if [ -f /Extra/DSDT.aml ]; then
    acpi -e /Extra/DSDT.aml
    fi
    $1 /mach_kernel boot-uuid=\${uuid} rd=*uuid
    if [ /System/Library/Extensions.mkext -nt /System/Library/Extensions ]; then
    xnu_mkext /System/Library/Extensions.mkext
    else
    xnu_kextdir /System/Library/Extensions
    fi
    if [ -f /Extra/Extensions.mkext ]; then
    xnu_mkext /Extra/Extensions.mkext
    fi
    if [ -d /Extra/Extensions ]; then
    xnu_kextdir /Extra/Extensions
    fi
    if [ -f /Extra/devprop.bin ]; then
    xnu_devprop_load /Extra/devprop.bin
    fi
    if [ -f /Extra/splash.jpg ]; then
    insmod jpeg
    xnu_splash /Extra/splash.jpg
    fi
    if [ -f /Extra/splash.png ]; then
    insmod png
    xnu_splash /Extra/splash.png
    fi
    if [ -f /Extra/splash.tga ]; then
    insmod tga
    xnu_splash /Extra/splash.tga
    fi
    fi
    }
    EOF
    }

    for OS in ${OSPROBED} ; do
    DEVICE="`echo ${OS} | cut -d ':' -f 1`"
    LONGNAME="`echo ${OS} | cut -d ':' -f 2 | tr '^' ' '`"
    LABEL="`echo ${OS} | cut -d ':' -f 3 | tr '^' ' '`"
    BOOT="`echo ${OS} | cut -d ':' -f 4`"

    if [ -z "${LONGNAME}" ] ; then
    LONGNAME="${LABEL}"
    fi

    echo "Found ${LONGNAME} on ${DEVICE}" >&2
    found_other_os=1

    case ${BOOT} in
    chain)

    cat << EOF
    menuentry "${LONGNAME} (on ${DEVICE})" {
    EOF
    save_default_entry | sed -e "s/^/\t/"
    prepare_grub_to_access_device ${DEVICE} | sed -e "s/^/\t/"

    case ${LONGNAME} in
    Windows\ Vista*|Windows\ 7*)
    ;;
    *)
    cat << EOF
    drivemap -s (hd0) \${root}
    EOF
    ;;
    esac

    cat <<EOF
    chainloader +1
    }
    EOF
    ;;
    linux)
    LINUXPROBED="`linux-boot-prober ${DEVICE} 2> /dev/null | tr ' ' '^' | paste -s -d ' '`"
    prepare_boot_cache=

    for LINUX in ${LINUXPROBED} ; do
    LROOT="`echo ${LINUX} | cut -d ':' -f 1`"
    LBOOT="`echo ${LINUX} | cut -d ':' -f 2`"
    LLABEL="`echo ${LINUX} | cut -d ':' -f 3 | tr '^' ' '`"
    LKERNEL="`echo ${LINUX} | cut -d ':' -f 4`"
    LINITRD="`echo ${LINUX} | cut -d ':' -f 5`"
    LPARAMS="`echo ${LINUX} | cut -d ':' -f 6- | tr '^' ' '`"

    if [ -z "${LLABEL}" ] ; then
    LLABEL="${LONGNAME}"
    fi

    if [ "${LROOT}" != "${LBOOT}" ]; then
    LKERNEL="${LKERNEL#/boot}"
    LINITRD="${LINITRD#/boot}"
    fi

    cat << EOF
    menuentry "${LLABEL} (on ${DEVICE})" {
    EOF
    save_default_entry | sed -e "s/^/\t/"
    if [ -z "${prepare_boot_cache}" ]; then
    prepare_boot_cache="$(prepare_grub_to_access_devic e ${LBOOT} | sed -e "s/^/\t/")"
    fi
    printf '%s\n' "${prepare_boot_cache}"
    cat << EOF
    linux ${LKERNEL} ${LPARAMS}
    EOF
    if [ -n "${LINITRD}" ] ; then
    cat << EOF
    initrd ${LINITRD}
    EOF
    fi
    cat << EOF
    }
    EOF
    done
    ;;
    macosx)
    OSXUUID="`grub-probe --target=fs_uuid --device ${DEVICE} 2> /dev/null`"
    osx_entry xnu_kernel 32
    osx_entry xnu_kernel64 64
    ;;
    hurd)
    cat << EOF
    menuentry "${LONGNAME} (on ${DEVICE})" {
    EOF
    save_default_entry | sed -e "s/^/\t/"
    prepare_grub_to_access_device ${DEVICE} | sed -e "s/^/\t/"
    grub_device="`${grub_probe} --device ${DEVICE} --target=drive`"
    mach_device="`echo "${grub_device}" | tr -d '()' | tr , s`"
    grub_fs="`${grub_probe} --device ${DEVICE} --target=fs`"
    case "${grub_fs}" in
    *fs) hurd_fs="${grub_fs}" ;;
    *) hurd_fs="${grub_fs}fs" ;;
    esac
    cat << EOF
    multiboot /boot/gnumach.gz root=device:${mach_device}
    module /hurd/${hurd_fs}.static ${hurd_fs} --readonly \\
    --multiboot-command-line='\${kernel-command-line}' \\
    --host-priv-port='\${host-port}' \\
    --device-master-port='\${device-port}' \\
    --exec-server-task='\${exec-task}' -T typed '\${root}' \\
    '\$(task-create)' '\$(task-resume)'
    module /lib/ld.so.1 exec /hurd/exec '\$(exec-task=task-create)'
    }
    EOF
    ;;
    *)
    echo " ${LONGNAME} is not yet supported by grub-mkconfig." >&2
    ;;
    esac
    done

    adjust_timeout
    EDIT: Sorry for the bump!!!
    Last edited by syntesys; 05-31-2011 at 08:55 PM.

Similar Threads

  1. need help hide my ip address with backtrack 4 r2 ?
    By acilsusamacil in forum Beginners Forum
    Replies: 15
    Last Post: 01-31-2011, 04:25 PM
  2. Hide my ip.
    By sickness in forum Beginners Forum
    Replies: 18
    Last Post: 02-18-2010, 08:32 PM
  3. Hide/Minimize
    By techjohnny in forum OLD BackTrack 4 (pre) Final
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 01-23-2010, 02:59 AM
  4. How to hide MAC address when connecting to a network?
    By Cosaint in forum OLD Newbie Area
    Replies: 10
    Last Post: 12-03-2008, 06:57 AM
  5. How do you hide who you are online?
    By hidethereal in forum OLD Newbie Area
    Replies: 22
    Last Post: 09-21-2007, 06:50 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •