Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 15

Thread: freeradius-wpe broken

Hybrid View

  1. #1
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Posts
    7

    Default freeradius-wpe broken

    Looks like the freeradius-wpe install is broken (tested on the Vmware image).

    Running either via gnome menu or command line gives the following error:


    rlm_eap: No such sub-type for default EAP type peap
    /usr/local/etc/raddb/eap.conf[1]: Instantiation failed for module "eap"
    /usr/local/etc/raddb/sites-enabled/inner-tunnel[223]: Failed to find module "eap".
    /usr/local/etc/raddb/sites-enabled/inner-tunnel[176]: Errors parsing authenticate section.

  2. #2
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Posts
    14

    Default Re: freeradius-wpe broken

    I have the same problem. Are there any updates/fixes?

  3. #3
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Posts
    4

    Default Re: freeradius-wpe broken

    Hi,

    Download, configure, make, make install openssl OR locate the include & lib folder of openssl in bt5
    Download, patch, configure with the openssl include & lib folder, make, make install freeradius 2.0.2/2.1.7

    The problem is freeradius cant locate the openssl include & lib, so it is not installed with openssl.

    Edit:
    Fix for freeradius is already released
    http://redmine.backtrack-linux.org:8080/issues/115
    Last edited by wizme; 06-23-2011 at 02:14 PM. Reason: Merged posts.

  4. #4
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Posts
    14

    Default Re: freeradius-wpe broken

    Thanks! Can you give a little bit more in-depth explanation how to do this? From what i remember, one had to download freeradius then patch it with WPE. However, i remember a freeradius-wpe tarball somewhere in one of the BT directories. maybe somewhere in /pentest? Is that what i should use?

  5. #5
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Posts
    4

    Default Re: freeradius-wpe broken

    The code below are not tested

    Installing OpenSSL
    Code:
    wget http://www.openssl.org/source/openssl-1.0.0d.tar.gz
    tar -xvf openssl-1.0.0d.tar.gz
    cd openssl-1.0.0d
    ./configure --prefix=/usr/local/openssl
    make
    make install
    Installing freeradius with WPE patch
    Code:
    wget ftp://ftp.freeradius.org/pub/freeradius/old/freeradius-server-2.1.7.tar.gz
    tar -xvf freeradius-server-2.1.7.tar.gz
    wget http://www.willhackforsushi.com/code/freeradius-wpe/freeradius-wpe-2.1.7.patch
    cd freeradius-server-2.1.7
    patch -p1 < ../freeradius-wpe-2.1.7.patch
    ./configure --with-openssl-includes=/usr/local/openssl/include --with-openssl-libraries=/usr/local/openssl/lib
    make
    make install
    Generate certificates
    Code:
    cd freeradius-server-2.1.7/raddb/certs
    ./bootstrap
    sudo cp -r * /usr/local/etc/raddb/certs

  6. #6
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Posts
    14

    Default Re: freeradius-wpe broken

    Thanks for posting the link to the fix! Works great!

  7. #7
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Posts
    14

    Default Re: freeradius-wpe broken

    Just installed BT5 R1, and now freeradius-wpe returns "Segmentation Fault" when run. This is after applying the fix (install libssl-dev, run ./configure && make && install)

  8. #8
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Posts
    14

    Default Re: freeradius-wpe broken

    Could the updated kernel have anything to do with this? Is there anyway around it?

  9. #9
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Posts
    1

    Default Re: freeradius-wpe broken

    I am having the same Segfault issue as BlackOp after installing the fix on BT5r1. If anyone has any ideas on how to rectify this it would be appreciated.

  10. #10
    Just burned his ISO Fidzk's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Posts
    3

    Default Re : Re: freeradius-wpe broken

    I can confirm! On backtrack 5 R1 (gnome 32 bits vm version and on a kde 32 bits installation) . Segmentation fault occur in a fresh and up todate install of freeradius-wpe...
    If anyone knows the solution I'm interested ...
    Thankyou!

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. pyrit broken?
    By hausoo in forum Beginners Forum
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 03-30-2011, 04:27 PM
  2. my apt-get is broken
    By bofh28 in forum Beginners Forum
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 02-05-2010, 05:25 PM
  3. FreeRadius-WPE /Asleap problem
    By Stewtn in forum OLD Pentesting
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 07-08-2009, 03:19 AM
  4. FreeRadius on BT3
    By Stewtn in forum OLD BT3beta General
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 04-10-2008, 05:00 AM
  5. HowTo: FreeRADIUS EAP/TLS Authentication Server
    By imported_wyze in forum OLD Tutorials and Guides
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 02-06-2008, 04:00 AM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •