Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12
Results 11 to 20 of 20

Thread: Default password for root user is not "toor"

  1. #11
    Member DigiP's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    NJ
    Posts
    57

    Default Re: Default password for root user is not "toor"

    After you boot off the live disc you should already be logged in as root and see a shell prompt, type passwd and set a new password before starting X. If you close the lid on your laptop and the screen locks before you do this, you will have to reboot.

  2. #12
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Posts
    6

    Default Re: Default password for root user is not "toor"

    Quote Originally Posted by DigiP View Post
    After you boot off the live disc you should already be logged in as root and see a shell prompt, type passwd and set a new password before starting X. If you close the lid on your laptop and the screen locks before you do this, you will have to reboot.
    It worked! You've just pinned down the whole issue.
    Many thanks!

  3. #13
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Posts
    3

    Default Re: Default password for root user is not "toor"

    If you close the lid on your laptop and the screen locks before you do this, you will have to reboot.
    If you get locked out on resume you can log into a virtual terminal (ctrl+alt+F1) and use passwd to set a root password. Then hit ctrl+alt+F7 and you'll be able to log back in. This might keep someone from losing their work. The best solution, of course, is the one mentioned above. BT4 had the same "issue".

  4. #14
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Posts
    15

    Default Re: Default password for root user is not "toor"

    BT5 32bit KDE4

    *in chroot customise

    root@nwsecnb1:/# passwd
    Enter new UNIX password:
    Retype new UNIX password:
    passwd: Authentication token manipulation error
    passwd: password unchanged

  5. #15
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    175

    Default Re: Default password for root user is not "toor"

    I have tried 10 times to burn BT5 DVD with KDE and GNOME 32 bit all at 2 times. They wont boot. BT4 works OK.
    The only way I have got BT5 to do any thing is to use Unetbooting on a Ubuntu machine, wont work on XP.
    Now I am tring to make SDHC but cant. Grub-installs every time - not enough space.
    BT5 looks great but cant save anything yet untill I get a good install on SDHC
    any ideas please

  6. #16
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Posts
    5

    Default Re: Default password for root user is not "toor"

    when you cloose lid then reopen just hit enter there isnt a password set this way

  7. #17
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Posts
    1

    Default Re: Default password for root user is not "toor"

    This will work for you as it did for me

    hit ctrl+alt+F6 (or any F key other than 7) set your password with passwd
    then change back to the locked screen and type it

    when you run the live dvd there's no password and you cannot just press enter.

  8. #18
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Posts
    1

    Default Re: Default password for root user is not "toor"

    Quote Originally Posted by DigiP View Post
    After you boot off the live disc you should already be logged in as root and see a shell prompt, type passwd and set a new password before starting X. If you close the lid on your laptop and the screen locks before you do this, you will have to reboot.
    If I ever meet you in person, im going to buy you a beer for that. That saved me about an hours work.

    I'm going to suggest that the recommendation to change the passwd upon logging in be added to the MOTD in future releases.

    I locked the laptop to use the bathroom(as I do always), came back and to my dismay toor wasnt working. I found this thread via my phone, and I was really annoyed at people suggesting that the only way to solve it was to reboot.

    This should be stickied at the very least.

  9. #19
    Just burned their ISO
    Join Date
    Dec 2012
    Posts
    1

    Thumbs up Re: Default password for root user is not "toor"

    Quote Originally Posted by DigiP View Post
    After you boot off the live disc you should already be logged in as root and see a shell prompt, type passwd and set a new password before starting X. If you close the lid on your laptop and the screen locks before you do this, you will have to reboot.
    Many Thanks Digip: It solves the headache.

  10. #20
    Just burned their ISO
    Join Date
    Jan 2013
    Posts
    3

    Default Re: Default password for root user is not "toor"

    I dont know if anyone has said it but before you type startx...type passwd (enter new password) then it will ask you to enter the pass again. After that hit start x and it should have your new pass. I was having the same issue and this worked for me.

Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12

Similar Threads

  1. "Couldn't start Xtightvnc; trying default font path"
    By TAGG73 in forum Beginners Forum
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 09-29-2010, 04:32 AM
  2. Backtrack4 password "toor" doesn't work!
    By roockie in forum Beginners Forum
    Replies: 13
    Last Post: 03-07-2010, 07:00 PM
  3. BT 4 Final "User name or Password are not valid"
    By spottY in forum OLD BackTrack 4 Bugs and Fixes
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 01-18-2010, 04:21 PM
  4. Can't login with "root/toor"
    By :[Axl]: in forum OLD BT3final Bugs and Fixes
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 07-07-2008, 10:18 PM
  5. Forum Search Suggestion ! ("Show Results: Relevancy" as default.)
    By imported_Deathray in forum OLD General IT Discussion
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 03-27-2008, 03:59 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •