Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 20

Thread: Default password for root user is not "toor"

  1. #1
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Posts
    6

    Default Default password for root user is not "toor"

    The title speaks for itself. When I opened laptop lid I saw a password request for root user. What do you know? After typing the default password it says "unlocking failed"
    Can this be considered a bug or I'm doing something horribly wrong?

  2. #2
    Developer muts's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Posts
    272

    Default Re: Default password for root user is not "toor"

    You're doing something horribly wrong.
    Remember that during a live session (ie, before you run an install), there is NO root password set.
    Last edited by muts; 05-12-2011 at 11:29 PM.

  3. #3
    Junior Member Deadboy's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Location
    Louisiana
    Posts
    39

    Default Re: Default password for root user is not "toor"

    It might help by letting people know the following:

    1) Which version of Backtrack are you trying to run? KDE vs. Gnome? 32 or 64 bit?

    2) Are you booting from the default or other option?

    3) Are you trying to be a l33t hackrz by installing a distro you know little/nothing about?
    "Why is it drug addicts and computer afficionados are both called users? "

  4. #4
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Posts
    198

    Default Re: Default password for root user is not "toor"

    It does this to me too. I just dont close my laptop lid anymore. even does it after I change the power management options.

    This happens when it comes out of standby. No password will work.
    "Never do anything against conscience -- even if the state demands it."
    -- Albert Einstein

  5. #5
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Posts
    6

    Default Re: Default password for root user is not "toor"

    Quote Originally Posted by Deadboy View Post
    It might help by letting people know the following:

    1) Which version of Backtrack are you trying to run? KDE vs. Gnome? 32 or 64 bit?

    2) Are you booting from the default or other option?

    3) Are you trying to be a l33t hackrz by installing a distro you know little/nothing about?
    1) BackTrack 5 KDE 32 bit

    2) Default

    3) What?

  6. #6
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Posts
    6

    Default Re: Default password for root user is not "toor"

    im going to bet my house that you burnt the iso with Max Speed....

    ReBurn the iso but use speed x2 and do a slow speed, this can be an issue when discs are burnt fast, also verify the image before you burn the disc.

  7. #7
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Posts
    6

    Default Re: Default password for root user is not "toor"

    Quote Originally Posted by grievsa93 View Post
    im going to bet my house that you burnt the iso with Max Speed....

    ReBurn the iso but use speed x2 and do a slow speed, this can be an issue when discs are burnt fast, also verify the image before you burn the disc.
    Your house is mine! I'm using flash drive and the image is totally fine according to checksums.

  8. #8
    Junior Member Deadboy's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Location
    Louisiana
    Posts
    39

    Default Re: Default password for root user is not "toor"

    Quote Originally Posted by stayfr0sty View Post
    I'm using flash drive and the image is totally fine according to checksums.
    Try burning the iso to a disc and see what happens. By the way, what program did you use to make the iso bootable on a flash drive? I did the same with UNetbootin and it worked fine.
    "Why is it drug addicts and computer afficionados are both called users? "

  9. #9
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Posts
    6

    Default Re: Default password for root user is not "toor"

    Quote Originally Posted by Deadboy View Post
    ... I did the same with UNetbootin ...
    Same here.
    Anyways I'll burn DVD and see what happens.

  10. #10
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Posts
    6

    Default Re: Default password for root user is not "toor"

    Quote Originally Posted by vendetta View Post
    Please coud you tell me why when i write aimon-ng my wlan card doesn't appear
    i see only '' interface chipset driver''
    Please Start your own thread however, this is because your chipset wont be supported by some programs.

    Also, yes, your checksome may work out correctly. but trust me, use a DVD and burn it at x2 speed, BT4 was really bad for this, i went through 10's of discs before realising it was my burn speed that stopped me being logged in correctly.

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. "Couldn't start Xtightvnc; trying default font path"
    By TAGG73 in forum Beginners Forum
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 09-29-2010, 04:32 AM
  2. Backtrack4 password "toor" doesn't work!
    By roockie in forum Beginners Forum
    Replies: 13
    Last Post: 03-07-2010, 07:00 PM
  3. BT 4 Final "User name or Password are not valid"
    By spottY in forum OLD BackTrack 4 Bugs and Fixes
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 01-18-2010, 04:21 PM
  4. Can't login with "root/toor"
    By :[Axl]: in forum OLD BT3final Bugs and Fixes
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 07-07-2008, 10:18 PM
  5. Forum Search Suggestion ! ("Show Results: Relevancy" as default.)
    By imported_Deathray in forum OLD General IT Discussion
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 03-27-2008, 03:59 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •