Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 20

Thread: Default password for root user is not "toor"

Hybrid View

  1. #1
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Posts
    6

    Default Default password for root user is not "toor"

    The title speaks for itself. When I opened laptop lid I saw a password request for root user. What do you know? After typing the default password it says "unlocking failed"
    Can this be considered a bug or I'm doing something horribly wrong?

  2. #2
    Developer muts's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Posts
    272

    Default Re: Default password for root user is not "toor"

    You're doing something horribly wrong.
    Remember that during a live session (ie, before you run an install), there is NO root password set.
    Last edited by muts; 05-12-2011 at 11:29 PM.

  3. #3
    Junior Member Deadboy's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Location
    Louisiana
    Posts
    39

    Default Re: Default password for root user is not "toor"

    It might help by letting people know the following:

    1) Which version of Backtrack are you trying to run? KDE vs. Gnome? 32 or 64 bit?

    2) Are you booting from the default or other option?

    3) Are you trying to be a l33t hackrz by installing a distro you know little/nothing about?
    "Why is it drug addicts and computer afficionados are both called users? "

  4. #4
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Posts
    198

    Default Re: Default password for root user is not "toor"

    It does this to me too. I just dont close my laptop lid anymore. even does it after I change the power management options.

    This happens when it comes out of standby. No password will work.
    "Never do anything against conscience -- even if the state demands it."
    -- Albert Einstein

  5. #5
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Posts
    6

    Default Re: Default password for root user is not "toor"

    Quote Originally Posted by Deadboy View Post
    It might help by letting people know the following:

    1) Which version of Backtrack are you trying to run? KDE vs. Gnome? 32 or 64 bit?

    2) Are you booting from the default or other option?

    3) Are you trying to be a l33t hackrz by installing a distro you know little/nothing about?
    1) BackTrack 5 KDE 32 bit

    2) Default

    3) What?

  6. #6
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Posts
    6

    Default Re: Default password for root user is not "toor"

    im going to bet my house that you burnt the iso with Max Speed....

    ReBurn the iso but use speed x2 and do a slow speed, this can be an issue when discs are burnt fast, also verify the image before you burn the disc.

  7. #7
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Posts
    6

    Default Re: Default password for root user is not "toor"

    Quote Originally Posted by grievsa93 View Post
    im going to bet my house that you burnt the iso with Max Speed....

    ReBurn the iso but use speed x2 and do a slow speed, this can be an issue when discs are burnt fast, also verify the image before you burn the disc.
    Your house is mine! I'm using flash drive and the image is totally fine according to checksums.

  8. #8
    Member DigiP's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    NJ
    Posts
    57

    Default Re: Default password for root user is not "toor"

    After you boot off the live disc you should already be logged in as root and see a shell prompt, type passwd and set a new password before starting X. If you close the lid on your laptop and the screen locks before you do this, you will have to reboot.

  9. #9
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Posts
    6

    Default Re: Default password for root user is not "toor"

    Quote Originally Posted by DigiP View Post
    After you boot off the live disc you should already be logged in as root and see a shell prompt, type passwd and set a new password before starting X. If you close the lid on your laptop and the screen locks before you do this, you will have to reboot.
    It worked! You've just pinned down the whole issue.
    Many thanks!

  10. #10
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Posts
    3

    Default Re: Default password for root user is not "toor"

    If you close the lid on your laptop and the screen locks before you do this, you will have to reboot.
    If you get locked out on resume you can log into a virtual terminal (ctrl+alt+F1) and use passwd to set a root password. Then hit ctrl+alt+F7 and you'll be able to log back in. This might keep someone from losing their work. The best solution, of course, is the one mentioned above. BT4 had the same "issue".

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. "Couldn't start Xtightvnc; trying default font path"
    By TAGG73 in forum Beginners Forum
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 09-29-2010, 04:32 AM
  2. Backtrack4 password "toor" doesn't work!
    By roockie in forum Beginners Forum
    Replies: 13
    Last Post: 03-07-2010, 07:00 PM
  3. BT 4 Final "User name or Password are not valid"
    By spottY in forum OLD BackTrack 4 Bugs and Fixes
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 01-18-2010, 04:21 PM
  4. Can't login with "root/toor"
    By :[Axl]: in forum OLD BT3final Bugs and Fixes
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 07-07-2008, 10:18 PM
  5. Forum Search Suggestion ! ("Show Results: Relevancy" as default.)
    By imported_Deathray in forum OLD General IT Discussion
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 03-27-2008, 03:59 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •